We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Sonnenhof

Save Saved
You added Parkhotel Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mareestrasse 29, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Vaduz
Glenside, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A truly excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in late October for one night while travelling through Switzerland enjoying the discounted offseason rates in 4 and 5 star hotels. The hotel itself was wonderful, the view from the room, the location... but what I remember the most was the restaurant. The dinner was fantastic. I had a pesto, spinach, and veal ravioli that rivals most of the food I have eaten in Italy. The soup was phenomenal. For desert, the sorbet sampler was heaven. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful. I have never been to a breakfast buffet that had champagne chilling around the room for mimosas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for this excellent comment! We are delighted to hear that you like our make-over and enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant “marée”. We would be pleased, to welcome and spoil you soon again. Best regards from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
111
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Park-Hotel Sonnenhof for two nights in September, 2013. Our room (Double room Deluxe) was very clean and comfortable, and walked out to a very spacious patio, with incredible views of the mountains, the castle, and the town of Vaduz below. The room had a large king bed, a desk, and a small eating/relaxing area. The patio had several chairs and a table, and a large lounge chair - perfect for reading and enjoying the view. The bathroom was spacious, modern and very clean. The service was very attentive, from the front desk to the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was extremely generous and varied, and the cooked-to-order eggs were tasty. We had dinner in the hotel one night, which, while pricey, was extremely tasty and the service was impeccable. The owner of the hotel came to our table and greeted us by name, and spoke to us for awhile, which was very much appreciated. The location is quite good, a short walk down to Vaduz, and we walked across the pedestrian bridge into Switzerland as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for this excellent comment. We are very happy to hear that you like our make-over and enjoyed your stay here. We would be pleased, to welcome and spoil you soon again. Best regards from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel. It is located on a hill overlooking Vaduz. Off to one side is the famous castle. The service & accommodations were first class.

The rooms are not air conditioned. Whether or not that is important depends upon the time of year and your personal tastes. Our only complaint was that in our room the wireless internet was rather weak. They offered to move us to another room on account of this.

The restaurant connected to the hotel is absolutely outstanding and should not be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comment on trip advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again. Best regards from the whole team of the Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to arrive to a beautiful beautique hotel. The staff were great, perfect English, very friendly and helpful with all our questions. It is a little way from downtown, you do need a car. The room was large and great, with a great view. The pool and sauna were just right. The restaurant was fabulous, great food, although the service was a little slow. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment about our hotel!Hopefully, we have the pleasure to welcome you again! In the meantime, we send you best regards from Sonnehof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we spend weekend in this wonderful hotel,everything was perfect, our room was named Norwegian Cottage and as we find out later its was the best( we saw others while lady clean.) this one was most cozy and romantic.everything was so clean and nice, so perfectly decorated. location was perfect also , breakfast was super tasty and feed us so good. we had some room service food also which was very tasty. all the hotel territory was so beautiful and clean. i wish to stay more days in this paradise corner,it is perfect place for honeymoon as well. i had massage there its was ok, ( had better) spa area great also but i wish water was a bit warmer..so we enjoyed very much,this hotel and i would like back one day:)advice everyone if go there to chouse this hotel if u can afford it:)also i would like bathroom to be more spacy:Pbut was ok. thank u very much for our great stay:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
What a great comment, thank you so much. It was also a great pleasure for us, to accommodate you. Hopefully it won’t be long until your next visit. See you soon and best wishes from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I joined friends for dinner at the Michelin-starred Sonnenhof recently. Having stayed there some eight years ago I knew this was going to be another memorable experience. My scallops were among the best I've ever tasted... and the accompanying melon cubes marinated in white balsamic vinegar really hit the spot. Rowan opted for the more adventurous marinated tuna which he said was sublime... And Shirley had the very large ravioli in consommé. My main course of medallions of venison was, again, among the best I've ever tasted. We tried the Liechtenstein Chardonnay for accompaniment which was excellent. And my cheese board, lovingly described by a lovely waitress, completed this fabulous meal. The Sonnenhof is not cheap but it is among the very best. My friends' suite cost around £500 a night and the meal about £100 a head but with THAT view of the Swiss Alps, who could fault it? Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Facing the Swiss Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment. We are delighted to hear that you like our house and enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant “marée”. Hopefully it won’t be long until your next visit. See you soon and best wishes from the whole team of Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although not much to see here in Vaduz (a lot in the sorrounding area), the Sonnenhof is definitely a place to come visit and enjoy. The hotel is just as close to perfection as you can possibly imagine. And make sure you don't miss breakfast at the amazing Eagle's Nest terrace

Room Tip: Try to have the suites in the garden level with direct access from it and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and also for your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards from the whole team of the Park Hotel Sonnenhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Sonnenhof

Address: Mareestrasse 29, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein
Phone Number:
Location: Liechtenstein > Vaduz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Vaduz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel Sonnenhof 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in a charming mountain setting overlooking town & Rhine valley, 10 km from Buchs train station (Switzerland). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Parkhotel Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Sonnenhof Vaduz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.