We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, warm welcome, great comfort and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Sonnenhof

Save Saved
You added Parkhotel Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mareestrasse 29, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Vaduz
far away
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, warm welcome, great comfort and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

THis was a return visit, we were so pleased with our trip last year that we came back. Everyone, from the owners (yes, they come and introduce themselves) to the chef, to the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the wait staff (restaurant Maree will be reviewed separately) were genuinely happy to see us and did their best to make us feel at home. It has the best facilities and location (up the mountain, level with the castle) in Vaduz, probably in Liechtenstein. Lovely rooms, nice pool and sauna, massage and other spa amenities available. We will surely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the -2 floor open straight out onto the lawn overlookign the town and the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, General Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your trip last year and that we could convince you on your second visit. We look forward to welcome you again and send you warm regards from the whole team of the Park Hotel Sonnenhof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
106
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the only five star hotel in/near Vaduz so is a sensible choice if you are in town for business.

The hotel is very cosy and the junior suite in which I stayed was quiet and very comfortable (great bed). The views from the small balcony/terrace were spectacular making it a very romantic setting.

The staff are very efficient, friendly and smiley. I only ate breakfast at the hotel (and in my room) but was very pleased with the quality of the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, General Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review about Park Hotel Sonnenhof. It is always good to know for us, that our guests have a relaxing and good sleep in our beds. We wish you all the best and hopefully having the pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

During our 2-night stay at the Parkhotel Sonnenhof, we appreciated very much the kindness, the friendliness and the professionalism of everyone we had the pleasure to be in contact with. At the restaurant, we enjoyed the fish-week menus and were absolutely delighted with the selection and the quality of dishes created by the chef. We can only recommend this unique venue to anybody who likes to feel really welcome, from the first to the last (and beyond) minute of one's stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, General Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
What a great comment, thank you so much for your kind words. It was great pleasure for us, to accommodate and spoil you! Warm regards from Vaduz,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sonnenhof as part of our honeymoon to Europe. The stuff made us feel like the most important people in Liechtenstein. Small touches for the honeymooners and attentive customer service made this hotel a great base to explore Liechtenstein, Austria and Switzerland. The room was comfortable and spacious with complimentary mini bar. The breakfast buffet was good. The restaurant for dinner was very nice but the food was a bit overdone with a chef's fascination for foam and gimmicky food fads that detract from the quality of a meal and were both overdone for a hotel of this size and style and a bit out of date from other fine dining restaurants in Europe. Overall though I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, General Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. It is nice to here, that you liked our small hotel and that we could make you feel like the most importend Liechtensteiner :-). I am shure that we can satisfy you next time even more. With many greetings from the Sonnenhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Relais & Chateau always a sure value: nice and clean rooms, very kind service. You have to be a real difficult person for not liking this hotel.What most impressed me was that just for my departure in the morning all the windows of my car were cleaned which is a luxury during winter. What a great service! I liked also a lot the restaurant not only because of the friendly service, the warm welcome from the owners but everything what was served was up to standards with the michelin star. Will certainly come back for a private stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, General Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic comment. We are glad to hear, that we could make you happy and that you intend to come back to Park Hotel Sonnenhof. All the best from Vaduz with many greetings from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
293 hotel reviews
Reviews in 241 cities Reviews in 241 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I didn't have high hopes for my stay in Liechtenstein, expecting the usual Swiss blandness of 60s/70s design. mediocre food and stiff service. But what a surprise. The Parkhotel Sonnenhof merits a trip in itself. Sophisticated design with a tasteful mix of contemporary luxury and a hint of Asian influences. Beautiful park with landscaped gardens, patios, lanterns and outside lounge music. Great views on the mountains and the Rhine Valley from rooms and restaurant. Fantastic food !!! A beautifully cozy cigar room / library with fireplace. Friendly service. Warm personal attention from the owner couple. Free Wifi and one PC terminal. I also liked the inside pool. Only a fitness center is missing. Parkhotel Sonnenhof: high on my hideaway recommendation list.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, General Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment! Nice to here, that we could surprise you a little. Hopefully, we have the pleasure to welcome you again! Best regards from Vaduz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We travelled from Geneva - 4 hours by car. We picked a good time and so missed most of the rush hour traffic around Zurich but had we judged this wrongly this could have added 1 - 2 hours to our journey - so beware Zurich rush hour if travelling by car.

Train travel to Vaduz is not recommended as the nearest main line station is Buchs in Switzerland or Feldkirch in Austria. You can take a bus from Buchs and Feldkirch to Vaduz but the hotel is a good 10 minutes walk from central Vaduz, up a fairly steep hill which could be a problem with luggage. I am sure the hotel would meet you in Vaduz or arrange a taxi but a car is for sure the best way to get there, thus giving you freedom of the region for your stay.

We really enjoyed our stay there visiting Vaduz (a small capital city the size of a small town in most countries but specatularly dominated by the Royal Castle), Altstätten in Switzerland with its Advents Market and the Christmas Market in Lindau (Germany) about 60kms away.

We enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna at the hotel and also afforded ourselves a massage in the health spa which the hotel kindly arranged for us.

The cuisine was excellent - every night we ate a fish dish but meat dishes were available from the excellent 1 Michelin starred chef - the hotel is family owned including the kitchen.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which was very spacious with wonderful views to the Toggenburg montains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus R, General Manager at Parkhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
What a great comment, thank you so much. It was also a great pleasure for us, to accommodate you! Warm regards from snowy Vaduz,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkhotel Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Sonnenhof

Address: Mareestrasse 29, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein
Phone Number:
Location: Liechtenstein > Vaduz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Vaduz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel Sonnenhof 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in a charming mountain setting overlooking town & Rhine valley, 10 km from Buchs train station (Switzerland). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parkhotel Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Sonnenhof Vaduz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.