We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy with friendly Hanni” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landhaus am Giessen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Landhaus am Giessen to your Saves list
Landhaus am Giessen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zollstrasse 16, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vaduz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy with friendly Hanni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here with a friend on 19th May for 1 night. We are 30yr old females and travelled to Vaduz to see if there was anything there.... there was not much, if anything. There was a castle but we didn't make it up the hill...

Language here is Swiss German but they're officially called Liechtensteiners. Restaurant & service staff speak English.

We went to Vaduz from Sargans train station - very easy and cost 5.80CHF - also payable in Euro.
Catch the #12 Buchs bus from Sargans train station. We didn't go to a designated stop as such.... we just saw the #12 bus, waved at it and the driver stopped for us.
I recommend getting off at Spital stop - the bus announces each stop before stopping so u can't miss it.
Head south down Heilingkrauz to the roundabount and turn right onto Zoltstrasse. It took about 30-40mins all up from Sargans. Not a stressful walk at all. The place is so quiet and small, it's hard to get lost.

We were greeted by Hanni, whose English was near perfect.
There is a 2 person lift for patrons with big luggage.
The rooms are of decent size but the beds are singles.
There's a small balcony with turf-like carpet & 2 plastic chairs (unfortunately broken)
We had a room with North view - the castle and the church being restored with the Swiss Alps off in the distance.
A 2-seater breakfast table and a TV cabinet. (Never sat on it or watched TV)
The bathroom is functional. It feels like it has underfloor heating (amazing with barefeet on a midnight toilet run) but apparently it's just warmth from the piping.
No notable problems with water temp or pressure.
There is a wall mounted hair dryer for the ladies.
There is a heated pool on the ground floor that closes when Hanni goes home ~8pm
Breakfast is very European - breads, pastries, ham & salami, hard & soft cheeses, jams, packet pate & Nutella, coffee, tea.


About 15-20min walk to the town centre there are heaps of restaurants and shops.
The castle overlooks the town. I think I read somewhere that the King lives there so it's not a museum and you can only look through the gates.
I also read somewhere else that there's more to do in Schaan even though Vaduz is the capital.

I found this place quite cute and warm unlike how some hotels who try to be too uber modern and contemporary. It was very B&B-like.

I would definitely stay here again.

Safe travels.

Room Tip: North view is good so you get a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
21
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful location. Not far from city center. You just walk along a lovely little stream for about 10 minutes. Had a nice little balcony to sit on and look at the Alps.
Very clean and Breakfast was great. A lovely indoor poor that was so relaxing.
Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a nice little room with balcony (too cold to use, unfortunately) with a view of the castle on the hill. The room was decorated in a rustic alpine knotty-pine fashion, the bed was two singles pushed together, and the bathroom was a bit dated.
The staff had varying degrees of English, but they were lovely and tried very hard to assist us in any way possible.
There was an indoor pool which we unfortunately didn't have a chance to use, but it seemed to be used by the locals as there were constantly people coming and going from the carpark.
Breakfast was adequate, but not extensive: a buffet of cheese, bread, meat, fruits, yoghurt and cereal. However there were a couple of fruit flies which crawled all over the exposed food, which was offputting, and as the staff did not check on the buffet they did not notice them.
There is a small charge for parking and it is a short walk into town.
For the standard of the hotel, the room should cost about half of what they charge, but it's expensive because it's in Liechtenstein: you pay (heavily) for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September 2012. Firstly, a note of caution on getting there. We had lost our pre-printed maps of directions to our hotels and so arrived at Schaan-Vaduz station with just an address and the vague knowledge that if you follow Landstrasse and eventually turn right into Zollstrasse we'd be there. Not knowing which bus stop we'd need to get off (there are several called "Vaduz, something") we decided to walk with our 20kg bags so as not to go past the hotel. This is around a 5km walk and really not comfortable (although we did see a lot of the country) so to anybody thinking of arriving by this route or from either Buchs SG train station in Switzerland or Feldkirch in Austria I strongly recommend taking one of the Liechtenstein Buses to Spital, Vaduz bus stop and then its 2 minutes walk from there.
So anyway on to the hotel itself. The staff were very welcoming, being able to provide maps and directions to restaurants.
The breakfast was OK, nothing spectacular with a decent variety of options available but I've seen a lot better as well as a lot worse.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable and a good size. Ours had a balcony looking out over Vaduz including the castle and the cathedral which is a truly great view.
The price is hefty. We paid 165CHF for one night and anywhere else I would consider that extortionate but in Liechtenstein? That really doesn't seem to bad at all.
The location is great really, it's 5 minutes walk to the centre of Vaduz which we really liked, Liechtenstein is a quiet, pleasant country and is worth a visit. I'd stay here again if I were to return to Liechtenstein.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my son for one night and we were impressed by the warm and personal welcome that we received. The rooms were comfotable, but the bare walls and lack of furniture made it look very uninspiring. Having said that, the balcony and the view to the church and castle helped to make up for the inside of the room.

It was good to have a free car park and also free Wifi which actually worked well. Breakfast was of limited variety, but the bread, cheese and cereals were all tasty.

One note of caution - the wall sockets in this hotel are a shape that I have never seen before and do note fit UK, EU or US adaptors, which meant that I could not charge up any electrical items when I was there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We enjoyed our two nights there. They even programmed our GPS! Very beautiful country...eat at New Castle a short walk from the hotel? During the day take a hike to the castle and visit the vineyards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Enjoyed our two-night stay here very much. The room and bath were extremely clean. The bed was comfortable and the duvet and pillows fluffy. We had a small balcony from which we could see the Prince's estate and the city cathedral. These places were lit at night for a nice view as well. The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but had several types of bread, meat, and cheese, as well as cereals. Enough to make a satisfying meal. The owner was very nice and helpful, even looking up bus times for us. Everything was within walking distance for Vaduz and the bus stop is fairly close as well. Definitely would stay here again should I visit Vaduz again.

Room Tip: Get one facing the church and palace/estate, if possible. The other side overlooks fields with moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landhaus am Giessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus am Giessen

Address: Zollstrasse 16, Vaduz 9490, Liechtenstein
Location: Liechtenstein > Vaduz
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vaduz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus am Giessen 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landhaus am Giessen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landhaus am Giessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.