We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous country pub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatch Inn

The Hatch Inn
Forest Row, Coleman's Hatch TN7 4EJ, England
01342 822363
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous country pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Hatch is a lovely pub with an extremely friendly and relaxed atmosphere, it has charm and character and is ideal for a quiet spot of lunch in the beer garden on a sunny day, whilst enjoying the great views of Ashdown. An all around winner if you're looking for a rustic country pub with great food and drink!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I guess we have been spoilt by our favourite very pretty pubs in Hampshire and Sussex (Horseguards Inn, Tillington/ Purefoy Arms/ Wellington Arms, Baughurst amongst others) but this pub could be so much better with a little TLC and imagination. After a fairly long drive and an unexpected traffic jam in East Grinstead, arriving through the lovely forest, we arrived hungry with high expectations.
The pub itself is an attractive low-level building, formed from old cottages, however the historic ambiance is slightly marred by the tarmac ‘car park’ in front which doubles as an eating area with utliltarian picnic tables. The gardens on either side were also not very appealing, with views of discarded containers and other bits and pieces. A clean up with more pots and planting, flowerbeds and attractive quirky seating would definitely make the outside spaces more inviting.
Having decided to sit inside, we come to the menu. As a ploughman’s connoisseur (and there not being very much veggie choice) I took the plunge. It was quite bland compared to what I am used to, with no homemade pickle- just Branston. Cheeses unimaginative, cold and supermarket sourced. For nearly £11 I would have expected local cheeses and home- made bread rather than a ready-sliced roll. A fair departure from the bountiful benchmark ploughman’s served by The Stag at Ball’s Cross (10/10). My boyfriend had the steak, which although wasn’t inedible, was not worth £19. The prices are not unusual compared to the places we normally visit, but the quality is definitely lacking. The pub should either raise it’s food quality to match the prices, or lower the prices to match the food they are offering. By setting high prices, expectations are raised accordingly …… and we left disappointed.
Will definitely return to the forest but not to this pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Half empty but too busy to feed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Dropped in to this pleasant spot after a dog walk and picked up menus from the bar whilst waiting to be served a drink. Ordered beers with menus in hand and were then told that they were too busy in the kitchen and we "really needed to book", this despite there being plenty of empty tables and no one as yet sitting at the reserved ones. I politely pointed out that we might not have ordered a drink if we had known this but was met with what can only be called indifference from the barman/manager/owner which frankly left me fuming. It is one thing to be confident that you are doing well but quite another to be arrogant about it....... We were not even offered a bag of nuts as a goodwill gesture and left having consumed our pints with the place still not busy and are unlikely to return. Can I suggest that menus should be removed from the bar food is not on offer?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely setting with good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Took our daughter's French pen friend, husband and three children for lunch. It was all well-cooked and served with great cheerfulness. We sat indoors, as the weather was changeable, but the garden is extremely pretty, with lots of tables to chooose from.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely pub; food a bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The Hatch Inn has a lot going for it – good location near the Ashdown Forest, traditional without being dated, friendly and efficient staff. The pub is clearly popular too. Unfortunately, our visit was let down (to a degree) by fairly average meals sold at above average prices.

Rib-eye steak and chips came in at just under £20 – not cheap by pub standards. Unfortunately, it was slightly overcooked and chewy. Yes I could have sent it back, but that would have meant waiting for another one to be cooked and the meat itself didn’t seem to be particularly good. The 'hand-cut' chips were remarkably symmetrical as well. The steak was by no means inedible, just quite disappointing considering the price. My better half had the cheese ploughman’s, which again was quite average and felt overpriced for what was on offer. It doesn't compare to the cheaper version of that meal sold at The Stag at Balls Cross (Petworth), for example.

Anyone who looks at my reviews will see that I rarely feel compelled to give less than four stars, but in this instance the food pricing created an expectation of something better than we actually got. The pub itself was lovely and we had a perfectly relaxing afternoon there. It's just unfortunate that the food was probably the least enjoyable aspect of our visit when the prices hinted that it should have been the highlight.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicksand, Owner at The Hatch Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for your review in which you express your disappointment. I am obviously sorry that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion but I am sure you will appreciate, that, as a serial Tripadvisor reviewer, your comments are against the 'flow' of reviews on this location.
It is a shame that you neither asked us to replace your steak or voiced your dissatisfaction when paying for your meal, this negating us the opportunity to offer you any service recovery. All of our meat is sourced through a high class premium & local butcher but nevertheless your comments are noted.
Regarding the so called symmetrical hand cut chips, these are sold day in & day out here, however, what may have happened is that the kitchen staff may well have sold out of hand cut chips & replaced them with frozen. You obviously should have been informed of this but if you weren't, I apologise.
Finally, may I reiterate, if you encounter a problem with your food, wherever you may be dining, please do bring it to the attention of staff at the time which may negate the need to seek reaction post the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hatch Inn also viewed

West Hoathly, West Sussex
Hartfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Hatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.