We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“piping hot and plenty of it, but what was it??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palais de Chine

Palais de Chine
18-20 rue de l'Eau, Luxembourg City L-1449, Luxembourg
46 02 83
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 510 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“piping hot and plenty of it, but what was it??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

wandered round luxemboutg and found a couple of chinese returants but liked the look of this one. we were the 4th people in but withing 30 mins they had over 40 people seated. Extensive menu, Geeter/waiter spoke excellent English and we were shown to our table within seconds of arriving. However then arrived some " favoured customers" so he spent the next 15 mins chatting to them at their table, with his back to the door and all the waitresses ignored patrons waited to be seated. I had crab and sweetcorn soup. which was lovely then had beef in picant sauce. ( was it beef?? it was pale didnt taste like beef and somewhat slimy) hubbie has spring rolls then had pork in chili sauce. ( again was it pork?? it certainly didnt taste like it).
Food was piping hot. sevice was good. Would i go again? possibly not, I like food to taste like what I am supposed to be eating

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    23
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice interior and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went there for dinner with 9 other people. The food was good and the atmosphere was nice. The interior is nicer than most of the "traditional" Chinese restaurants

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great Beijin Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After couple of heavy Luxemburgish food we decided to test a chinese restaurant closed to the Place d'armes. We then decided to test the Palais de Chine. Nice Welcome, traditional tables, chinese waiters. The owner isarround and supervise the service. We had many starters and a peking Duck which was excellent. Good wine (Chateau Schengen pinot gris). The design of the restaurant is old china style with traditional scenes of the day to day life. I will come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Very average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Food: there is plenty of it, in large portions, but very mediocre quality. I tried a few and here is my personal judgement:
Beef curry - not tasty
Chicken ananas - good
Chicken orange - ok
Spring rolls: those vegetable ones - very mediocre and fatty, Vietnamese ones with pork - a bit better.

Service not good, it's like at a train station. Waiters argued strongly when they misunderstood something. Instead of just asking again, they preferred to argue.

Wine list is quite average.
Almost exclusively French wines, and the selection is not impressive at all.

Resume: if you are very hungry come here, just don't expect good quality of food or service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had dinner at the Palais de Chine with friends last weekend, and we left the restaurant with the feeling that it could not have been worse. We started with a soup that had a viscosity similar to honey and a taste similar to... actually nothing because it was tasteless. The salad had a cocktail sauce dressing which we found very inappropriate. Then we had imperial chicken, which consisted of small cubes of tasteless chicken, peppers and onions. The waiters seemed very stressed out and were unfriendly. The only thing I liked about this restaurant was the decor. I will certainly not go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais de Chine also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Palais de Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais de Chine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.