We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caves Gourmandes

Caves Gourmandes
32, rue de l'Eau, Luxembourg City L-1449, Luxembourg
46.11.24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 510 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I went with friends to celebrate a b-day, the place is very special.The staff were very nice and helpful with the organization, they reserved a room just for us, printed the menu in English and allowed us to bring a cake, which they brought to the table with a lighted candle after the dessert. We chose the 38Euro menu, Michelin recommended, which included plenty of options, all of which were delicious and nicely presented. We truly had an amazing time and highly recommend the place. You reserve, by phone or on line, at least a week before.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    52
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Délicieux!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

With all the Michelin rated restaurants in Luxembourg it's hard not to sample at least one. The food was fantastic and I went with the wine pairing which really complemented each course. This did add to the bill but it was well worth the splurge. The atmosphere was unique and could definitely be suited for couples or families alike. The servers were very pleasant and happily tolerated my mediocre French. I highly recommend a trip to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a delicious and romantic meal here in early January. We ordered off the three course menu for 38 euros a person. The good was outstanding. My husband took advantage of their game meat, eating a game meat terrine and wild boar. I ate the smoked haddock and salmon. All the appetizers and entrees were exquisite and unique.

The location in some caves (part of a the old fish market) was beautiful and romantic with candlelight and chandeliers lighting the space.

We made reservations online several days in advance for a Wednesday night and they easily accommodated us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quality food at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This restaurant specialises in a limited set of set-menu lunch and dinner offerings. The food and presentation are nevertheless of high (almost) gastronomic quality. Prices charged are between 25 and 50 euro for a 3 course meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Do try this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had our last dinner of a two-week trip at this restaurant on 30 Nov. 2013. This is a restaurant my husband returns to on every business trip. Small and intimate but elegant with excellent, attentive service. The food here is truly great and from a notice published on the steps it would seem that the chef was recently voted the best in Luxembourg. If interpreted correctly, quite a feat with over 300 restaurants in the city and surrounds. One enters via the kitchen - not often that one gets a glimpse at how great food is prepared. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caves Gourmandes also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Caves Gourmandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caves Gourmandes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.