We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have been to so far” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Victor Hugo 3-5, Luxembourg City L-1750, Luxembourg   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have been to so far”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The staff is extremely unfriendly. The young blonde woman at the reception was extremely rude and impolite. The food was decent, so were the rooms. However, would not recommend anyone to stay there, as the personnel made the whole trip awful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
9
27
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East of England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Hotel is not exactly central but everything is within a short taxi ride, and the area has a few restaurants. The Junior Suites are a good alternative, in the same price band, to standard rooms in hotels with higher star ratings. Rooms are spacious with a separate living room, ideal to get work done with the free wireless. Small fitness room with combo weight machine. Good check-in and check-out, although some wait to get a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Clean, central. Friendly enough reception. Quite expensive for what is essentially a studio apartment concept without coffee/tea making or microwave facilities. Small TV, good shower, comfortable bed. Quite a bit of room noise due to a combination of tile floors and neighbours high heels, plus thin walls allowed neighbours ablutions to be clearly heard. Good free internet was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis. IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We arrived on Friday and what a wonderful city. We spent that evening walking around this very friendly city enjoying the sites. The hotel is very well managed the staff went out of their way answering question and recommending restaurants. The lady at the front desk would not even let my wife carry her luggage back down the steps to cross the street to our room the evening we check in. The BWP has an annex building across which was quite lovely. The room was very large with a large Bathroom. I was totally surprise that phone calls back to the states were free, along with great wifi connections. The bed was so comfortable that I even took the brand name to look for the same back in the states If we make another trip back we will most definitely be staying at BWP Hugo.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for the annex building it was still part of the BWP but less foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseppe D, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

had a room in the main building, on the 5th floor. Was OK, nothing too fancy, but decent and clean. Mattress was very hard. Remote did not work. The temperature adjustment of the shower did not work either. Free internet however worked well. Breakfast is wuite expensive for what it offers: no fresh juices, fruit salad seemed coming from a can (or it was just old), full self service (tables not even set up with napkins or silverware. Location is ok, some 10 - 15 minuted from the center. There is a large open parking 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

- The Reception service is terrible. I was in for one night after a long travel and hoped to find in Western Hotel a 4 start service. It was a "pay-now or leave we don't care" service.

- The owner was also rude and purely business oriented. Money money money. The problem is that who brings the money are the Clients. As a Client I felt just that, like a number. There was no "welcome" feeling. Well, there was no feeling at all. Nevertheless, what do I know? I am a number.

- For this price I recommend DOMUS HOTEL (37 Avenue Monterey
Luxembourg +352 46 78 78) it`s a simple Hotel but just as near to the city center and the owner is just wonderfully...human!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseppe D, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We thank you for your comment.
We feel sorry that you didnt feel comfortable at our hotel.
The reception staff is usally very kind and tries always to satisfy the wishes of our clients, but for sure we will check the problem.
Unfortunatly, we remeber that you were looking for a hotelroom just for couple of hours and you were asking to get a reduction of 50 percent of the room and we dont usually offer this service, thats why we were asking for the money immediatly. It was just for security reasons.

BEST regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

the good : is clean
the bad:
-elevator not working (6th floor)
-no parking
-separate building , needed to cross the street to access to services
-low security in the building
-not an "hotel" service, more apparthotel concept
-tiny room
-expensive for the level of service

overall to avoid, much better other othel for the same class of price

Room Tip: don't take room in the separate building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo

Address: Avenue Victor Hugo 3-5, Luxembourg City L-1750, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.