We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal to your Saves list
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 blvd d'Avranches, Luxembourg City L-1160 , Luxembourg   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Bonheiden, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've stayed several times in this hotel and I particulary love the great view you have from here over the Petrus valley and the old city of Luxembourg. Staff have Always been friendly and wellcoming. Food at the 'L'Etoile du top floor' restaurant is good but expensive, make sure to ask a table at the window to enjoy the view. Rooms are modern but make sure you don't have a problem with a shower that is placed in the middle of the room ... :) And don't forget to have a drink after dinner at the hotel's bar !! again a must do. A stay in this hotel makes my visits in Luxemburg Always most enjoyable !

Room Tip: Book a room with view on the Petus Valley it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Patrick-belgium,

I would like to thank you for sharing you experience which you had at our hotel.

It is always with great pleasure that we welcome you at the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are delighted to hear that afer visiting us for several times you still enjoy the hotel and its features

Our entire staff is already looking forward to your next visit and we hope it will be as enjoyable as the previous ones.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    221
    57
    13
    11
See reviews for
85
456
68
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very nice hotel. Great staff. Due to construction on the street in front of the hotel I had trouble getting to the front door. With great kindness the bellmen rescued us and took care of the car. I knew about the shower in the middle of the room thanks to the reviews I had read. My husband assured me that he could not see in while I showered. In any case better that than no shower. We and my sister with whom we were traveling stayed 2 nights and felt very comfortable. Four stars be cause the rooms were a bit small. A great value because of the location.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Lovesweims,

I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties in getting to our hotel. Please rest assured that the construction we have going on in front of the hotel is only temporarily. Please do not hesitate to use our convenient valet service if you plan to visit us again.

It is good to hear that you felt comfortable with the other person in the room even though the shower is half exposed.

I am looking forward to welcome you again

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient location, you can walk to the old town and in only 15 min you'll be right in the centre of the city. For airport transfers I would suggest using the hotel service, which would be the same as taking a normal taxi, but far better and mire convenient.
The room we had was very nice, especially enjoyed the Hermes toiletries and the rain shower, which can be a very pleasant experience at night with only the red and blue lights on - quite relaxing. The bed and pillows were ok, although the bed was a bit too soft, making the sensation really nice at first, nut lacking back support for a good night sleep.
Staff are very nice and helpful. Worth visiting the bar on the 8th floor in the evening.
I would, with no doubt, recommend this hotel for a short stay in Luxembourg

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Koush_Ann,

Thank you very much for complimenting and recommending our hotel. It is with great pleasure to hear that you were very satisfied with our limo service for the airport transfer.

Furthermore, I noticed that you enjoyed our modern room layout and the fantastic rain shower with its amenities.

Even though you were not very satisfied with the bed I hope that we can welcome you again at our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The sofitel suffers in that it seems to have been squeezed into an old office building. There are very charming touches to distract you from this conclusion like aromatherapy in the coridors and delightful art in the lobby but I couldn't escape the conclusion. The rooms are constructed with the shower in the middle which is different but does leave you feeling like your sleeping in the bathroom. The beds are of the sinky memoryfoam type that make you sweat by insulation and make moving in the night hardwork. The biggest disapointment was the minibar which had only a narrow selection of soft drinks. To me the word bar infers some kind of booze. A minikiosk would perhaps have been a less disappointing name for the fridge with Coke and orange juice in. It was very pretty, clean and the service was charming.

Room Tip: request an upperfloor if you have a valley view. 2nd floor rooms had a view of tree tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear HeadBrewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

I am sorry to hear that you disliked the hotel layout and the amenities we offer. Our minibar is complimentary and therefore only has a selection of soft drinks. If you would like to enjoy a drink during your next visit we have a stunning bar on the top floor with a scenic view over the city of Luxembourg.

Even if you did not like the hotel and its design I am glad to see that you were very satisfied with the service you received during your recent visit.

Nevertheless I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely set out and the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The room I stayed in had a great view over the valley across to the City. However, there were some things which let this place down a little. The air con was very noisy and kept rattling. The glass shower cubicle was unusually right beside the bed which was fine for me alone, but if I was travelling with friends might have been awkward (although the rain shower was amazing).

It missed some small touches like not replenishing the shampoo / shower gel after the first night, not having any shampoo at all, not having enough coffee.

All in all a pleasant stay, but would probably try somewhere else in the city if I came again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear GlobeTrotter6680,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent hotel experience.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that some things were missing during your stay or malfunctioning. Please rest assured that I take these issues very serious and that I will do the proper follow up to avoid this happening again.

All our rooms have a very modern and unique design, with an open shower or bathtub in some cases. It is unfortunate that if you travel with friends that this could become awkward.

Nevertheless, I would be happy if you would give us the opportunity to serve you better during a future visit. If you like you can contact us at the following e-mail address if you desire a more personalized service: h5555-gr@sofitel.com

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked 4 nights in this hotel and it's been fantastic. The rooms are nice and big, I LOVE the shower, amazing bathroom and the sleepers and robe makes the stay extra comfy and enjoyable. It was great to have several English channels and the roof top bar us pricy but bee enjoyable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Nena1003,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to tell us about your previous stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback as yours.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the unique design of our room and especially the open rain shower.

I am looking forward to welcome you again at the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Address: 40 blvd d'Avranches, Luxembourg City L-1160 , Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.