We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket convenient hotel with reasonable room prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal to your Saves list
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 blvd d'Avranches, Luxembourg City L-1160 , Luxembourg   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Upmarket convenient hotel with reasonable room prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had the basic classic room which was perfectly nice. Very clean room, nice finishes like Bose stereo. Huge shower! Though quite exposed as within the bedroom (not in a separate room), so some may not like! Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful at all times.
I did not use the restaurant or room service, though this was partly due to price, sure food is great, but very expensive.
Hotel bar has great views over the city. Good selection of drinks. Though cocktail prices were bordering on extortionate, nearly 20Euros. Hard to justify that at any hotel (this is more than cocktails at the Savoy Hotel, London).
Free soft drinks in the mini bar was a nice touch, and good free coffee machine in room.
Overall great hotel, and would definitely use again, just go easy on food and drink at the hotel unless you have a big wallet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear alexbaker30,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your experience at the hotel.

Your compliments about the design of the room are highly appreciated as well as your compliments about the large selection and the quality of our cocktails.

We thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon to offer you a perfect stay as the previous one.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    219
    56
    13
    11
See reviews for
84
455
67
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I loved this hotel because the service could not have been better but our air conditioning didn't really work.
To start with, we had a lot of trouble finding the hotel because there is construction going on directly in front of the hotel but once we did find it, the service was terrific. They parked the car, brought the luggage and check in was a breeze. The rooms are fairly large and have everything. We had a lovely view of Luxembourg City and walked to everything. The staff also helped with directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations.
Unfortunately, the windows in this hotel do not open and the air conditioning simply did not cool at all. We were hot all night. Also the drains need to be cleared and the water backed up in the shower.
Also go upstairs to the restaurant or the bar for the view. It is amazing. We would have eaten in the restaurant but there was a private party there that night and the bar is a smoking bar so that was totally out of the question.
If the hotel fixes there little issues, it would be a perfect hote.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review on our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay even if you met some inconveniences.

We would like to apologize for all these little issues. Please, rest assured that they remain very occasional and will not happen once again.

The road works, made by the town, cause some signage inconveniences but they will disappear in the near future.

Concerning the smoke at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar, it is allowed by the legislation but a draft bill will be passed on January 2014 to prohibit tobacco in public areas.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is our hope to offer you a memorable experience without any issue.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My stay at the Sofitel was quite last minute; I had arrived in Luxembourg for a business meeting that morning and was only supposed to spend only the day there but I ended up staying the night. .. Consequently I didn’t have much with me in the way of toiletries but the staff were very accommodating at gathering me a toothbrush and shaver and the rooms were already laden with ample towels, bathrobe, slippers, shampoo & body wash (Hermes)!

The room was spacious with a complimentary mini bar and the bed was unbelievably comfortable… There was also a tv, desk and chair/ footstool. The shower was also really great, but not very private if you were staying with anyone other than your partner!!

The hotel also had a bar on the top floor which was quite busy until late with people sitting at tables having a quiet drink overlooking the city. The cocktails and liqueur coffees were good here, but you wouldn’t want to have too many as they do rack up!

There looked to be a hotel restaurant, although I don’t think it was open that night…. Having been to Luxembourg a few times I managed to walk to town with ease (aided by the umbrella from the concierge) and have dinner there- the walk is about 15minutes and very easy to navigate. The train station and a few shops/ food places are also nearby.

Breakfast was a good spread of toast and pastries although I didn’t think it was worth what they charged to add it on. Eggs were also served upon request, but I found my poached eggs a bit too vinegary for my palate.

All in all a lovely hotel and completed to a nice standard, but I felt like it was lacking a bit of soul. Would consider staying here again- I didn’t’ really have any real complaints to make me want to avoid it, but I have enjoyed a better experience at other hotels for slightly cheaper…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review on Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive remaks like yours.

Indeed, we always strive to provide the best experience service; therefore your feedback is essential for us.

We would like to have the opportunity to show you the soul of our hotel for instance on Saturday night with the musical animation created by a D.J at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar, where you can drink original cocktails, overlooking the Petrusse Valley. You can also discover the surprising cuisine of our Restaurant L'Etoile du top floor based on French Touch with a local approach and luxurious products.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and it is our hope to offer you a memorable experience at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal!

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you are visiting Luxembourg, choose this hotel, it is by some margin the best in the city.

Colleagues were constrained in choice and some unfortunately picked the IBIS STYLES (the reviews of this dive are fully substantiated: avoid it, and anywhere within a ca. 0.75km radius of the station, like the plague). Even though the Sofitel is only around a 1km walk from the revolting fleapit of human decay that is the Luxembourg Gare quartier, it could not be more separate. The Sofitel's prominent location overlooking the river gorge affords oustanding panaramic views from the 8th floor restaurant - a special mention to Judith, for complementing my breakfast visits with her joie de vivre and enthusiastic insight into Luxembourg history, and excellent attentive service. Breakfast was included in the room rate and everything was utterly faultless; presentation, choice (including soya and skimmed milk), freshness, cleanliness - all perfect. Room service is often a good barometer of quality: three dinners served in the room, all were superb - all arrived within 20 minutes, the monkfish was fresh, the asparagus snapped perfectly, and the steak was cooked exactly as requested. The mini-bar is all free (no alcohol, however). The free Wi-Fi worked immediately with no registration (landing page login) needed - and the TV was tuned to BBC1 on button 1, BBC2 on button 2, (I know... but it really doesn't get any better). I'm a light sleeper and having requested a quiet room at check-in, received exactly that - no noise at all from outside, none from other quests, and only a very faint occasional whirr from the lift motors, which was sufficiently infrequent (and faint) not to disturb (my room was virtually next to the lifts). At least one reviewer mentioned building work directly next to the hotel, but this (work on a railway bridge) caused no inconvenience or noise during my visit.

For review context, I typically reserve max. scores only for the exceptional. Overall, I count this as one of the best business hotels in which I have stayed, primarly for its quality, location, attention to detail, service and staff - final special mention to Isabella at reception. Thank you Sofitel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tell the staff your requirements and they will accommodate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Nick,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

We are very pleased to read a wonderful comment like yours! At Sofitel we strive to provide the best service experience; therefore your feedback is essential for us.

Your compliments about the quality of the breakfast are highly appreciated as much as your compliments about the atmosphere and the professionalism of our staff.

We will definitely share your delicious comments with all our staff especially with Judith and Isabella.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The good; service, location, view from the bar, free wi-fi, quality of the breakfast. The bad; smoking is still permitted in the bar ( supposedly being banned from next year ), and the beds are far too soft.

Value depends on the time of year - in the summer I think it's pretty good value, but starts getting a bit pricey in the high season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear xslee,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are delighted to read your wonderful comment!

Your compliments about the quality of the service are highly appreciated as much as your compliments about our breakfast. We will definitely share all these remarks among our team.

Concerning the smoke at the Coco Mango Lounge Bar, a draft bill will be passed in the near future to prohibit tobacco in public areas.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and it is our hope to offer you a perfect stay and a memorable experience.

With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived I felt very welcomed by the staff!! The room was very spacious, free wifi, free minibar and deciding to have a coffee then discovered there was no kettle but a wonderful Nespresso machine! The bar is on the 8th floor with stunning views over the valley and again the staff are wonderful. This is my 6th business trip to Luxembourg but my first stay at this hotel and it certainly will not be my last!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal! It is a real pleasure to read comments like yours!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the amenities in your room and the professionalism of our staff. As information, tea-kettle are available on request, so you can ask for it during your next stay.

We will definitely share all your comments among our team to congratulate them for the quality of their work.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and it is our hope to offer you a memorable experience as this one!

With my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olstykke, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What an amazing hotel! Due to overbooking on our category we got a free upgrade and had the most amazing room with a view over the Petrusse Valley. Very pleasent and always smiling staff who would help us at any time. Great breakfast room with view over the valley. Not the last time that I'm going to book this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Lisbeth B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. Your compliments about the view over the Petrusse valley are highly appreciated as well as your compliment about the professionalism of our staff.

At Sofitel we strive to provide the best experience service; therefore your feedback is essential for us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again for another trip in the Grand-Duchy. It is our hope to offer you a memorable experience as the previous one.

With my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Address: 40 blvd d'Avranches, Luxembourg City L-1160 , Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.