We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Simoncini

Save Saved
You added Hotel Simoncini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Simoncini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, rue Notre-Dame, Luxembourg City 2240, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 hotels in Luxembourg City
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Hotel is very nice, descent and spacious rooms, clean and good located a few steps only from the main square. Nicely decorated rooms, lots of paintings in the common areas due to the fact that part of the hotel is a gallery! The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was well arranged. Simple but tasty with fresh croissants! Recommended for those that they are travelling alone and want to feel like home!!!!

Room Tip: my room on 6th floor was huge! like studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
30
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have stayed in many different hotels in Luxembourg on my various business trips there, but had not been able to find a room at Hotel Simoncini before. I had seen it from the outside (including from my room during a stay at Hotel Cravat across the street) and liked the decor. So this time I planned early and booked, two months in advance, what I thought was a reasonably priced single room (110 euros per night). The room (room #304) is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in! It is the size of a walk-in closet; in fact, it is hard to believe that it was not designed to be a closet (and the fact that there is no closet in the room supports this assumption!). There is a single bed, a very small desk that is mounted on the wall (and which barely fits a small laptop on it), a small useless cabinet with two shelves, and absolutely no floor space to even open my small-sized *carry-on* luggage (I actually had to open it on the floor in front of the bathroom door, take what I needed out of it and then close it and put it back upright so I can fit to pass/move). The bathroom is normal in size, but with a shower not a bathtub (which is ok for me).
When I asked the receptionist if all of the hotel's single rooms are this small, she said that, normally, single rooms have a double bed and cost 135 euros, thus the room I got was a bit smaller because of its very low price. Still I don't consider the price low for what there is on offer, given that there are a few hotels (in all of which I have stayed at) just around the corner that offer for the same price (and even lower) much much larger rooms (with double beds), all of the amenities you would expect, and free wifi (Hotel Simoncini has free wifi only in the lobby). The only thing that sets Hotel Simoncini apart is its contemporary sleek design, which, however, is basically "cancelled" because of the tiny claustrophobic room.
If you are looking for the comfort of a normal (not high-end, not luxurious) hotel room then this is a very bad value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Hotel is very nice and good located, right opposite the main square. Nicely decorated rooms, lots of paintings in the common areas. Breakfast was welll arranged and tasty.
Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Hotel is situated near Place d'Armes, so it is very well situated. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very helpful. Luxair had lost my luggage and the staff was helpful and symphatetic in the situation. Breakfast was good, but nothing surprising. The style of the hotel is modern, and it suits me. In case I travel to Luxembourg another time, I will book a room from hotel Simoncini again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parabita
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Very nice hotel, fully equipped with good quality and very clean.
Modern and efficient design within the rooms and the hall as well.
The bigger advantage to stay here is the position, in the middle of the down town just 1min
walking distance far from Place d'Harmes.
The only remark is about the blanket and bed-linen quite poor quality in my opinion.
Suggested!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is half hotel and half art gallery. Very modern and trendy, superior cleanliness, great decor. We had large room on upper floor with windows/door onto side alley, very large room. The bathroom was big enough to host a party! Not sure but possible link to adjacent room. Very good breakfast. Parking in underground garage just a short walk up the street, but must walk bags along the sidewalk and into the front door, a minor inconvenience. WiFi available only in lobby, a bit odd for such a great hotel. Overall, surprised that price wasn't double, a very nice place. Short walk up back alley to town square and dozens of restaurants, short walk the other way to edge of the gorge and a great walk down into the green pathways. Right in the heart of old city center.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Excellent location, very clean modern decor. Rooms are small but functional. Unfortunately the a/c wasn't working properly and it was a very warm night so it was a bit uncomfortable. Also more money seems to have been spent on the art work than on the bedding, thin matress and pillows with nothing in them! However the quality of the service at the front desk was pretty good and I'm sure if we'd made a fuss they would have dealt with any issues. But the main draw of the hotel is location - couldn't be better. So for a short city break it's good value

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Simoncini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simoncini

Address: 6, rue Notre-Dame, Luxembourg City 2240, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Simoncini 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Simoncini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simoncini Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Simoncini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.