We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg to your Saves list
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Room and bathroom were Ok but the aircondition did not work and this was a big problem with an air temperature of 32 degrees. The diner quality was poor and my steak had to be done twice to get it right. The staff is friendly but the facilities and the total experience are far from 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pignier, Deputy manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear customer,

First of all we would like to thank you for having stayed in Le Royal in Luxembourg and to give us your feelings about your recent experience.

We are very sorry that the air condtionning was not as expected.

Do not hesitate to contact me personally the next time you will be travelling to Luxembourg.

Best Regards.

Jean Luc Pignier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    160
    66
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
145
38
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The averageness of the hotel - (horrible irons, small rooms, gaudy decoration) is more than made up by the staff - polite and extremely helpful - making this overall a good place to stay for a quick trip. bring your swimsuit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for one night during the tip this summer. Solid service, which is very friendly and mannered, overall feeling like you are in Switzerland, as the style of the hotel and stuff training is very close to high end swiss hotels. Style of the building leaves a lot more to be desired, but location is perfect, views from the rooms are very nice and rooms are big by European standards. Dinner at the hotel restaurant is ok, with nothing to be raving about, with very good service. I had a steak tartar, with is often a good measuring for the food, as it is not easy to make a good one, it was solid, but not spectacular. Obviously the restaurant is not on a cheap side of the cost curve. Breakfast is excellent, from milk products to sausages which are excellent, it was the best part of the hotel visit by far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have traveled widely and stayed at many four and five star hotels. This hotel is nice - but provincial and not a high end hotel. They have NO AIR CONDITIONING - and it is extremely hot outside. It is simply ridiculous that they do not have it - impossible to sleep in heat.

Room Tip: For the price - look elsewhere.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pignier, Deputy manager at Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reporting us your comment regarding the air conditioning in relation with your recent visit in Le Royal Luxembourg.
We are very sorry that it did not meet your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personnaly the next time you will be travelling to Luxembourg.

Best Regards.

Jean Luc Pignier
Deputy manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Simply...WOW! We went to Luxembourg for the annual Jazz and Blues festival, so our focus wasn't on the hotel, but did they ever make the focus change!
The Le Royal was amzing, from the hotel to the room to the staff, absoultely wonderful. From the moment we arrived we felt like 'friends' were there to welcome us into their home. The reception was as helpful as I have ever had and focused on the finest details as well as our satisfaction and comfort. The room, well the three things I look for in a hotet (in order cleanliness, bed and water pressure/temperature) were to the highest standard.
The reception staff apologized up front for the 'condition' of the floor we were on, stating that renocaiton of the hotel was beginning in a few days, but I couldn't tell there was even a need, let alone that work was about to begin.
We didn't get to go to the spa area, but if the rooms, reception and restaurants/bars were any indicaiton, it would have been fantastic.
We will definately be returning for the festival again next year, for sure, but next year, we will be making plans to stay an extra day or two, just to enjoy this hotel.
The hotel and ammenities are a big on the expensive side, but not extremely so, even on a budget, you will certainly enjoy your stay!
To the staff, my wife and I say thank you for an outstanding stay...well done!

Room Tip: While the rooms all have good windows and keep out the city noise, if you want air circulation ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Royal has an excellent location, wide and comfortable rooms, a nice wellness center with pool, a reknowned restaurant, a reliable and free wifi, an efficient and smiling staff, a remarkable value for price, highly reccomendable for a stay in Luxembourg, whether for business or leisure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It's a very nice hotel. The service is outstanding. The outdoor patio is an ideal place to have breakfast or an (expensive) after-dinner drink.
The breakfast buffet has almost anything you could think of.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#9 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with traditional furnishings, tasteful decor, fine dining in two restaurants; located in commercial center bordering parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.