We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel and very well positioned.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg to your Saves list
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel and very well positioned.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We don't often stay at expensive hotels but on this occasion followed our daughter's recommendation. It was not cheap! However, it was worth the extra investment. From the moment we arrived (a short cab ride from the station) we felt important and special. To me, that should be the separating factor for 5 star.
Every little request from two teacups for our room to others were fulfilled promptly and with great aplomb.
The room was classic hotel but well appointed and the mini bar was there if you want. We moved things out to make way for our own supplies. A refreshing change from some American hotels where if you touch it you own it mini bars!
I loved the nightly bed turn down and chocolate - another of the higher level hotel treats.
The breakfast was great with "to order" bacon & eggs. Plenty of choice and good food. Attentive service from professional staff. Similar experience in all other areas - front desk, concierge and house keeping.
Value for money ? Probably not but it was a great little splurge. We will save up and come back!
It is very placed in the city for access to the sight sect.

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel to get a rate as good or better than third party offerings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    163
    69
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
151
38
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

stayed for 1 night - got special clubroom. nice room but furniture pretty worn - drain in shower overflowed. Mini bar with maxiprices. Fittnescenter in the basement is a joke - 2 machines didnt work and its insufficient quality & more then 25 years old !! Tried getting dinner at late arrival - restaurant was eager to close so had to go to brasserie instead. dinner in brasserie was ok & one of the waiters even gave good service. next morning breakfast; couldnt sit outside in the sunshine as waiter said "its raining in bruxelles" !!!!!!! thought it was a joke - sun was shining, but nope - no seating outside in the morningsun ( and not a drop of rain all day )... Waited for 15 minutes to get our car and thus got late for meeting 5 mins drive away !! And the a blasting 400 euro bill !!! OVERLY EXPENSIVE FOR MEDIOCRE SERVICE AND FACILITIES.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The room was spacious enough to allow my husband and myself enough room to feel comfortable. The bathroom was actually a very good size for Europe and the facilities were updated and modern. The room itself wasn't spectacular but it was clean and tidy.

The service at this hotel was unparalleled. The clerks at the front desk were very polite and very helpful and the concierge was as well.

The hot breakfast included with the room was delicious and provided a great deal of variety for your morning meal.

The only negative point was the smoky lobby/bar , but this is not uncommon in European countries. Coming from Canada, I am not used to smoking indoors. We did enjoy the live piano music however.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotels in Luxembourg are expensive and not always at par with their price. This hotel is not cheap at all, but at least its quality justifies its price. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, the choice of food at breakfast is very wide; the position is good, very close to the old town and not too far from the European Institutions district (5-10 minutes by taxi, 10-15 minutes by bus). The wifi is free: in occasion of my first stay at this hotel it was horribly slow, but during my second stay the speed was quite good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have stayed at many of the leading hotels of the world and have mostly been very impressed from the moment the car door opened.

The only part of this hotel that felt remotely five star was the piano bar, service was excellent and ambiance created by the chap playing the piano was lovely.

On entering the lobby I was under whelmed, the receptionist was not particularly friendly and the decor was not great. The 'rickety' lift up to the the floor was an unpleasant experience as it smelt of stale smoke.

My first impression of the bedroom was, glad I've only booked one night. Other people have described the bedrooms as dated. However dated can still be elegant. In my opinion the rooms have as much finesse as a cheap and cheerful 3 star!! (I'm imagine anyway)

Swimming pool / spa area looked like a council gym and was unclean and hazardous. My husband burnt his leg in the steam room.

Breakfast was ok, staff nice and welcoming.

The fine dinning restaurant at the hotel is closed at the weekend and the concierge were not helpful in finding an alternative, we did however find a great little restaurant via TA.

Overall not a great experience and would definitely choose another hotel if I was to come back to luxembourg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for just 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend, arriving from London city airport. We took advantage of the complimentary shuttle minibus service for the 10-15 minute journey to the hotel, which is very central. We were very pleased with our spacious standard room, and our request for a quiet room park side facing was duly granted. The bed was very comfortable, as the mattresses were apparently replaced about 5 months ago, and bedding was top quality. Also of note, we enjoyed the best television picture quality on the large wall mounted TV. We also had a complimentary Tea/coffee tray in the room, which is available on request.

Our room rate was inclusive of buffet breakfast, and although some reviewers have not recommended it, due to the high cost (29 euros if purchased seperately) we found it excellent. If you can get a good breakfast inclusive rate you will be in for a real treat. On Sunday's you have until 11.00 (weekdays 10.30) to enjoy a banquet of hot and cold items which would be too numerous to list! Of special note is that you can order unlimited espresso, cappuccino, latte etc. Decaf espresso also available. There is no dreaded self service push button machine coffee here! Also of note, fresh strawberries and champagne gave things an upmarket edge, along with a selection of quality Tiptree jams in mini jars.

The restaurant Le Jardin is light and airy, and the service is excellent. We enjoyed two evening meals there and staff were very helpful especially when we needed to make changes
to certain dishes. Main courses were around 25 euros.

There is a piano bar with live cocktail style piano music from 6pm. Our one regret however was that due to the smoking laws in Luxembourg and the hotels smoking policy, we were unable to enjoy this. As non smokers we could not tolerate the smoke in the bar area for more that a few minutes but the pianist sounded very good. We are told that in January 2014 the government will try to bring in the necessary legislation to ban smoking in public areas. Sadly, for this reason, I have had to rate this hotel 4 instead of 5!

The location is very central, only a few minutes walk and you are in the Place D'Armes. The Hamilus bus terminal is 5 minutes walk (turn right out of the hotel, follow the road round, and the terminus will be on the left side of the road. There are electronic signs, and a bus to the central station (Gare Centrale) will probably appear on at least one of the signs and arrive in 1-2 minutes!
Cost of single ticket 2 euros. We went to Remich on the very comfy coach number 175 from Quai 14 outside the central station. A 40 minute journey through nice scenery to the Moselle River where you can do a one hour boat round trip. We also went to Trier, by train which is well worth a visit.

Overall, a very enjoyable weekend, despite some rather unseasonal weather.

Room Tip: Request park side for a quiet room as front faces busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

500€ for one unforgettable night!! It worth every penny! The room was so quite, clean, furniture was classy and the stuff was really helpful... The hotel location is perfect! The only thing that I might have a negative comment about is the pool.. It's indoor and barely can fit 8 swimmers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#10 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with traditional furnishings, tasteful decor, fine dining in two restaurants; located in commercial center bordering parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.