We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable without surprises, good or bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg to your Saves list
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Brussels
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Comfortable without surprises, good or bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located very close to the retail and historic center, on a rather large road. The rooms are well equipped, but are very common, without any particular charm. Feels like in an Hilton room in the 80s, anywhere in the world (with nevertheless free wifi, something unusual in 5 stars hotel where it is usually overpriced). The staff at front desk is very helpful, quick, nice and efficient. The hotel has a good and varied buffet breakfast. It also has a small in door swimming pool. To sum up: do not expect to be thrilled by the charm of the room, but you will sleep well, eat well and be able to work comfortably.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    160
    66
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
145
38
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent a lovely weekend there with my girlfriend. The hotel is very close to the (very small) city centre. I think the hotel was built in the 70s and hasn't received a thorough update since. The rooms look old, the restaurant looks old, the lobby looks old. Only thing that looks new is the pool/spa area! Service was really good, food as well. Drinks in the bar are really overpriced, but come with a nice atmosphere thanks to the piano.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The Piano Bar has a nice atmosphere if you are into 70s hotels and is a big comfortable relaxing place, But the cappuccino is just a 6 euro small white coffee, the tea is obnoxious and the hot chocolate was old...plus service was amateurish. We expected much more of a 5 star hotel, probably best to go there for a whisky and a cigar.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best thing about Le Royal is the service.
Put simply, service at the Le Royal is what you hope all five star hotels could achieve. Every interaction with the staff was professional, kind and surprisingly thoughtful. This was true from arrival in the taxi to the check-out experience. Room service, breakfast all nice; in particular the concierge was a pro. They seem to really have found "the right people" in every area. Any special request was handled with aplomb. As a frequent traveller, I was pleasantly surprised to find this kind of consistent service exists in a European hotel. So comfortable I could have moved in.
Location is good.
It is a short walk across a main boulevard to the city center and most of Luxembourg City's sights. A few minutes further are the elevators which take you down the cliff to the "Grund" - the lower old town, and scenic river walk where one can see the old medieval fortifications. The Ducal Palace, city museum, shops, restaurants and cafes are nearby. Behind the hotel is a park.
Convenient shuttle service an be arranged to the airport - and they will figure out a way to get you there if the shuttle is pre-booked.
Breakfast buffet and room service quality were good.
The service is so consistent that I'm giving Le Royal a pass on the decor - it does look a bit dated. But it is still comfortable, impeccably clean and well-appointed. And quite honestly, I've stayed in many hotels with chic surroundings but lousy service, and ultimately it is how one is treated that counts. Le Royal earns its 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Hotel Le Royal, we were greeted by smiling, helpful people. My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here, and when we entered our room for the first time, there was a surprise bottle of champagne waiting for us with compliments from the hotel! This was not expected at all!

We at at one of the hotel restaurants, and it was excellent as well. The concierge helped us plan our long weekend by recommending sites to see around the area, and even offering to make reservations for us.

The location was right in the center, easily a 10 minute walk to anywhere in the city we wanted to be.

Parking was easy. The staff just made everything easy!

Room Tip: We wanted a regular full-size or queen-size bed, and made this request when we reserved, and they to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A customer oriented hotel with attention to quality. Classic decor, comfortable beds, rich breakfast, great location. Superior rooms on the 5th floor do not differ from the standard rooms in matter of decor. Yet, you can experience the difference in service - a maid knocked on the door early night and very unnoticably, she tied the entire room and bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

was in Luxembourg for urgent trip, had no time to choose a hotel, get advice at the airport , the tip was appropriate, large suite did cost me a very reasonable price, I must say there used to be an emotional meeting, really beautiful bedroom, a large living room will all you need, on a high floor with a great view and large terrace

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg

Address: 12 Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg City 2449, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#9 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with traditional furnishings, tasteful decor, fine dining in two restaurants; located in commercial center bordering parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Luxembourg City
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.