We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue Jean Engling, Luxembourg City 1466, Luxembourg (Formerly Hilton Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Montserrat
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was impressed by the location (out of town) and the very quiet surroundings. Brilliant staff who went out of thier way to make your stay as comfortable possible. The bus service to the hotel is cheap and regular. The rooms are big and have all the amenities you would find in a 4 star hotel. I would have loved to get free wifi in the room as part of the package. Nevertheless, the service is available for 5 euros for 24hrs. This is much cheaper than most hotels in other parts of europe. In summary,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to share your experience with us. Please let me also thank you for the positive comments you gave about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, which I shared with our team. Your feedback will encourage our team members to maintain their efforts and to try to improve our quality of service each day. Thank you once more for having taken the time to share your experience with us and I hope you visit us again during your next visit in Luxemburg.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    279
    95
    20
    8
See reviews for
125
259
14
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff. The only disappointment we had was the breakfast buffet which we had expected to be great from Hilton. The scrambled eggs were runny!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to share your experience with us. Please let me also thank you for the positive comments you gave about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, which I shared with our team.With our Headchef we are in the progress to review your comment to avoid any reoccurance.Your feedback will encourage our team members to maintain their efforts and to try to improve our quality of service each day.Thank you once more for having taken the time to share your experience with us and I hope you visit us again during your next visit in Luxemburg.

Yours sincerely,
Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with attentive and helpful staff. Only booked this hotel because at the time it was cheaper than IBIS. Upgraded on arrival and the 2 rooms we had booked were directly opposite. Rooms well appointed and very comfortable. Could have provided a few more complimentary teas, coffees and milks although I'm sure if we had asked they would have been happy to provide them. Didn't eat at the hotel but breakfast and dinner looked expensive in comparison to the cost of the room, although we did get bargain rates for the room.s

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mike,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to share your experience with us. Please let me also thank you for the positive comments you gave about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, which I shared with our team.

Your feedback will encourage our team members to maintain their efforts and to try to improve our quality of service each day.During the summer we have attractive rates, we also have a great get away promotion during this period, which you can find on the hilton website as well, with great deals.

Thank you once more for having taken the time to share your experience with us and I hope you visit us again during your next visit in Luxemburg.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAM
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This was always going to be a positive review given that they present you with warm double chocolate cookies when you check in, in my view ALL hotels should take note and do this! The room was large and top quality;lovely materials, beautiful decor and a very comfy (if relatively small) bed. Bathroom was small but good and the toiletries were nice. Had room service which was very expensive but the pizza was good. Location was pretty and relatively easy to find with sat nav. Service was quite clinical but good. Overall, a good hotel I'd definitely stay in again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to share your experience with us. Please let me also thank you for the positive comments you gave about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, which I shared with our team. Your feedback will encourage our team members to maintain their efforts and to try to improve our quality of service each day. Thank you once more for having taken the time to share your experience with us and I hope you visit us again during your next visit in Luxemburg.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Doubletree Luxembourg is a good, luxury hotel. It is located East of the city on the Echternach route. From here you can easily reach the city by bus, that stops almost in front of the hotel. As parking is free at the hotel, this is mostly cheaper than parking in town.
The hotel is big and has19 floors. Rooms from the high floors have a good view, partially on the surrounding forests.
Rooms are pleasant and functionally designed.
Staff is highly efficient. Breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Have a room on a high floor to enjoy the view. Junior suites and suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to share your experience with us. Please let me also thank you for the positive comments you gave about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, which I shared with our team. Your feedback will encourage our team members to maintain their efforts and to try to improve our quality of service each day. Thank you once more for having taken the time to share your experience with us and I hope you visit us again during your next visit in Luxemburg.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had emailed the hotel before my arrival to arrange a pick up by the hotel's shuttle service. Although the driver was late in arriving the service was good once it got going.

Arrived at the hotel early but was still able to check in upon arrival. As a Gold Hhonors member the upgraded room they earmarked for me wasn't ready but I was still able to receive an upgrade to a lesser category. The room itself was nicely furnished and very spacious.

Its very easy to get into the city centre. The first time we walked which wasn't too bad, took about 40 minutes and a nice way to see the city. The remainder of the time we used the bus which is very easy and cheap, only EUR2.00 each way and about 10 minutes or so from the hotel to the city centre, therefore the location of the hotel didn't pose too much of a problem.

The breakfast service on the first day was chaotic, the serving area was a complete mess with food everywhere, which I know is the customers doing and not the hotel staff, but no attempt was made to clean it up. The food was one of the worst hotel breakfasts I have had, very bland and tasteless. Breakfast on the second day was just the same, except the serving dishes were allowed to run out completely. To the credit of the restaurant manager, he did rectify this when he noticed and made teh chef refill them as soon as possible. Free breakfast is a benefit of Gold status. Had I been paying for it I would have been very disappointed.

We ate lunch once and dinner once in the restaurant which was very good. Great tasting food and very good service which can't be faulted.

The hotel pool and gym were good. The gym is very small but adequate as long as its not busy. There is a sauna in the male changing room which, although small is very good.

Check out was a shambles as my bill was wrong. I was being charged almost double the room rate I had booked. When the copy of my bill was put under my door on the morning of my departure I noticed the discrepancy and mentioned this to the front desk who assured me it would be rectified before I left. When I checked out, there was a credit on the bill however the bill was still wrong. I had to provide proof of the price I had reserved the room at and then an adjustment was made. To the credit of the check out clerk he was very good and couldn't apologise enough for the mistake.

I requested a late check out which was accommodated with no problem. I reserved two places on the shuttle bus to the airport which was very efficient with no problems at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor with us.

Please let me also thank you for the overall positive comments you gave about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, which I shared with our team. Your feedback will encourage our team members to maintain their efforts and to try to improve our quality of service every day.

I would like to apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay because of the breakfast and the lateness of the shuttle bus upon your arrival. Your comments about your experience of the DoubleTree by Hilton breakfast particularly retained our attention. Please be assured that I have already met our Food and Beverage team and forwarded your comments to reinforce training activities to avoid the reoccurrence of such events in the future.


Thank you once more for your constructive feedback and for having taken the time to share your experience with us.


I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you personally very soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and remain,


Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is my preferred hotel in Luxembourg whenever I am here. Also this time overall very satisfied. Always pleasure to stay here. Minor point this time. The receptionist asked me to speak either French or English and not German. A bit surprising for a hotel that desk-staff cannot speak one of the official languages in Luxembourg

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hilton-Luxembourg, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg and for having taken the time to share your experience with us. Please let me also thank you for the positive comments you gave about your repeated stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, which I shared with our team. Your feedback will encourage our team members to maintain their efforts and to try to improve our quality of service each day.

Thank you once more for having taken the time to share your experience with us and I hope you visit us again during your next visit in Luxemburg.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Busch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg

Address: 12 Rue Jean Engling, Luxembourg City 1466, Luxembourg (Formerly Hilton Luxembourg)
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Luxembourg hotel, above the forest, 10 minutes from the city center, Kirchberg financial area and airport by free shuttle at fixed times. Work in the 24-hour business center and 15 meeting rooms for 2-400 people, and enjoy wireless internet access throughout. Dine from the buffet or à la carte in Restaurant Indigo at the Hilton Luxembourg hotel. Enjoy a glass of wine in Bar Mezzo or in the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Luxembourg Hotel Luxembourg City
Hilton International Luxembourg City
Hilton Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.