We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but good size portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Guillaume

Brasserie Guillaume
12 Place Guillaume II, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
+352 26.20.20.20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 510 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A little pricey but good size portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is rated as the best fish restaurant in town so we thought we'd give it a try and it was very nice.

We ate on Saturday evening and despite other reviews our service was quite slow.

The mains pretty much start at 30 EUR each (although my guide book suggested this was a lot cheaper) but you do get very large portions for your money so quite good value.

The fish we ate was really fresh so can not complain. Atmosphere was also good, very busy and lots of locals eating here. A lot of people enjoying very extravagant seafood platters.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    78
    31
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Super Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were walking around the centre and spotted the obvious fresh sea food in the window - my wife loves oysters so we went in for a meal and drink.

However, we hadn't booked so there were no free tables available but we stayed at the bar for a few drinks and booked a table for the evening. At the bar one of the locals told us that this restaurant was the best place in Luxembourg to eat which seemed to prove correct following our return that evening.

There was was a choice Oysters and the best according to my wife who tried a few of them was Gillardeau no.5 fat and tender. The food quality and clientèle was five star standard and of course priced accordingly.

A must visit if you visit Luxembourg

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“not to much of a rip off for a tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

restaurant is in the middle of the main square so it is prime tourist spot. That said it is expensive but the quality and freshness of the produce makes it worth the premium. Menu is in french with no english translation but the waiters can translate effecientlyl. It is known for its carpacccio and fresh fish and both were excellent. Don't miss the rum baba which was saturated in the local spirits

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice service and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Been walking past this restaurant for 2 days. And every day a lot people in the restaurant. So we had to give it a try. And it should have been higer on trip advisor,s list. Yes the price is a little higer. But its better to pay some more and have value for money. Very friendly staff.give it a Try it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good carpaccio and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went to the restaurant while on business in Luxembourg. The restaurant was filled with locals, a good sign, but that meant that we were seated on the second floor. That area is not as good as the downstairs, but comfortable nonetheless.
The menu offered a wide range of selections but the emphasis was clearly on the specialties of the house - seafood and carpaccio. We happened to be there during a "carpaccio festival" so I decided for the "all you can eat" carpaccio, which allows one to select different carpaccio dishes from the menu, including a salmon carpaccio that served perfectly as an appetizer. It was great fun to try different dishes - the accompaniments really define carpaccio, making for a good variety and a leisurely meal. The waiter, who was very good, suggested an excellent and very reasonable wine to go with the meal and he had a good sense of timing in terms of when to come and ask what we would like next. Good food and an attentive, helpful waiter made for a nice dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Guillaume also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Brasserie Guillaume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Guillaume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.