We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned, good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cravat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Cravat to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Cravat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Boulevard F.D. Roosevelt, Luxembourg City 2450, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old fashioned, good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you are looking for a stylish hotel with quality, this is the correct place. The breakfast is very good, and the attention is excellent.

The only problem I found is the charge you for internet access. As I'm on business travel, this was a constrain to me.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    65
    24
    23
See reviews for
17
77
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

this hotel is a stunning building,its still a family business as well,its history goes back to the second world war,and beyond,we chatted to the manager who was more than happy to tell us about the hotels place in history,being the headquarters for the American army,the food is excellent,the room we had was huge,the view for a city centre is unrivelled,we were looking out over the park area,,service is fabulous,the whole hotel was spotless.its located 2mins walk from the main shopping areas,we stayed .when the market was on,what a fantastic experience.having visited the city numerous times,we found that there is always something going on at the weekend

Room Tip: Luxembourg is definitely worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife, daughter and family friend spent New Years Eve at the hotel. The weekend started ruff with my wife and I not getting the room we had reserved. However, in the end the hotel and staff came through. New Years eve was our friend's birthday and we had a cake for her. the staff provided plates, forks and a knife to help us share the the cake. The bar was right out of the 1950s.Great service and care for the customers. Our rooms were large and the bathrooms were excellent. The hotel suggested a restaurant for dinner on new years and it was superior in every way.

We were told there were no official fireworks on new years eve, well they may not be official but there were fire works from about 11:15PM till about 1 AM all around the city including the parking lot across from the hotel was alive with fireworks. Because we were on the fifth floor and facing the valley we actually had to go inside because we were almost at at eye level with the explosions.

The location is great and easy to get to but parking is a challange. There is an underground parking structure near by so it does work out.

Room Tip: Ask for a Valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were given a great room, with a superb view of the monument. Everything was clean, the furnishings and equipment mostly somewhat past its best, but very well maintained and in good working order (classic lift, classic staircases, great bathroom, nice flat-screen TV...). The location could not be improved and the breakfast was much better than anticipated - lovely details with original crockery and cutlery.
We found this to be a charming window into a more genteel time. Can't think of anything to criticise - 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloCravat, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guests,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review posted on this site.

It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you for your next stay in Luxembourg.

With best wishes,

Carlo Cravat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

They are genuinely a nice bunch at Le Grand Hotel Cravat, which is great because it's a strange hotel. Sufficiently odd that I took a few friends in to have a poke around and their comments ranged from: 'wow - it looks like something out of The Shining' to 'I'm glad there are still hotels like this around'. The 'faded grandeur' is not so much faded, as 'poorly refurbished' sometime in the late eighties. This was most likely a very nice hotel once. The downstairs still is - in part. The back sitting room is pretty cool, but sadly there is a curtain drawn across that room so you can't see it from the front, which has really cheap furniture and overly bright lighting, which spoils the whole effect.

When I arrived, my 'superior' room appeared to be a room that was somewhat less than superior. It was pretty average frankly - probably about two stars? When I complained they were very apologetic gave me free wifi for the whole stay and promised me a better room the next day. True to their word the next room was huge. Very high ceilings and quite pretty, once. Now the Versailles elements were tarnished by the cheap Lino flooring, plastic loo and old fashioned shower curtain. Still the view was spectacular - straight out over the valley - and the room perfectly nice.

The downside, if I had to pick one, is that there is an adjoining door, which I reckon must lead onto the toilet of the next room, so you can hear the shower and whatever else is going on in there pretty clearly. Suffice to say you could tell if someone decided to take a dump.

That sounds bad, it really wasn't, I'd take the room again (102), the breakfast was pretty good and the staff friendly, with a little love this could actually be a great looking hotel again, and I preferred it to Le Royal where my friends were staying, so don't count it out.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

People are very serviable and nice, location great, but all the rest is mediocre.
Wifi not free but still not working even if paid for.
No toothpaste or toothbrush.

Still great view, clean room, and very, very hospitable and helpful staff.

Had good sleep and agreeable breakfast though no vegetables.
Anyway, Luxembourg as well as Gelle Fra are so wonderful that I had great time

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and found it to be a very pleasant experience. The room was spacious and clean. The location of the property was excellent and centrally located to the city center. The breakfast buffet was very good. The lobby area, the restaurant and the bar were very nice and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. I would definetly recommend staying here and we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Cravat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cravat

Address: 29 Boulevard F.D. Roosevelt, Luxembourg City 2450, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cravat 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Cravat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Luxembourg City
Grand Hotel Cravat Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Cravat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.