We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Short stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg to your Saves list
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Ideal for Short stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a very nice clean hotel and all the staff were very friendly and pleasant it is just across the road from the railway station and is Ideally situated very close to shops our rooms were lovely and clean and bright and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    162
    133
    48
    20
See reviews for
56
145
50
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is located near the rail station. If you are arriving by plane, there is absolutely no point staying in this area. Other neighbourhoods are more pleasant and have more choice in terms of cafés, bars and restaurants. Taxis are rather expensive in Luxembourg. The hotel however offers a free shuttle service to and from the airport.
All staff that we've dealt with were really friendly and professional, from the shuttle driver, to reception, bar, and housekeeping. You really feel they are there to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The rooms are very tired and need an urgent update. The carpets especially are in need of major overhaul. Rooms are what you would expect from a low 3* hotel and the bathroom extremely basic. Our 'view' was towards the back of the building where you could see other rooms! The pillow covers are big enough just to cover the pillow so if you move a little bit during the night you make wake up with your face touching the pillow which hundreds of other people have touched/slept on. I found this the worse thing about my stay in Metropole Alfa.

Wifi was supposed to be available in the room but once I got in the room my phone couldn't connect with wifi. In the common areas however, wifi is available free of charge.

Overall, considerably good service, ran down hotel in not the best area of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to Switzerland. The hotel is directly opposite the station so could not be better for us. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and the staff courteous. The restaurant was really good, both food and service were excellent and it is beautifully designed in a traditional fashion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. If you are coming to Luxembourg by train, it's perfectly located. If you are leaving by plane, they will give you a free shuttle to the airport (arrivals too, apparently) - well worth it when you encounter Luxembourg's exorbitant taxi rates. The staff? Aside from one incident, very friendly and helpful.

As previous reviewers indicate, it's TIRED - the carpets desperately need replacing and the dog that chewed my mattress should be scolded! But, slept well. The shower in the bath soaked the floor each time, no matter what I tried.

The real good point: the ALFA restaurant. Noting how full it is at lunch should tell everything - local workers know a place to get really lovely food in a wonderful old-style setting. It's a gem and the pub also very pleasant.

Room Tip: According to a colleague: if your room overlooks the main street, be prepared for an endless queue o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Although my room is quite small, I am satisfied with its facility. The most important thing to me is that this hotel is located near all the places I want to visit. I don't have to take a bus or other tranportation, I can just walk around to enjoy the city scene and the beautiful surroundings whenever I'd like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

stayed here for two night in sept 2013 As part of a globus holiday.we arrived at hotel after 4 pm and the rooms still were not ready.while our room was adequate at best( ugly bleach stains on carpet and a view of other wall of rooms and air conditoner units- ugly) many in our party had rooms with either no furniture at all or no chairs etc.While cleary the bathrooms have been upgraded the roomxs themselves have not and i would not rercommend staying here until all renovations are complete.many of us had trrpouble using our room cards- (had to pass it twice and wait to see if it worked).the only saving grace was a decent breakfast buffet although the scrambled eggs and bacon are served cold???

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel has a great location: in front of the Central Station of Luxembourg City. It is very charming and cosy, the room we were hosted was fascinating: spacious, traditional and very clean. I highly recommend this hotel for whom want to visit Luxembourg.
The only bad thing was the breakfast service, the products were not very good and the coffee machine was broken and too slow!!
But, I must say it was a great experience to visit the Hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms with the front view are the best! Take it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVOWILLEM, Sales Team Mercure Alfa at Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for the time you spent to write a review of the Mercure Alfa Luxembourg Centre Gare.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated our spacious room, the cleanliness and also our good location.
Also, I’m happy to inform that changes will be operated soon at the breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Sincerely,

Anne – Sales Team Mercure Alfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg

Address: 16 Place de la Gare, Luxembourg City 1616, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the railway station, in the heart of the business and shopping district and close to the historic town centre, with the European institutions nearby. 141 airconditioned rooms with bathtub and shower, telephone, modem, televison and minibar.The hotel also features a restaurant and meeting rooms. Pay WiFi Internet is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxembourg City
Accor Luxembourg City
Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Grand Hotel Alfa Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.