We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Luxembourg

Taj Mahal Luxembourg
2, Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City L-2560, Luxembourg
40 59 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 559 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was visiting Luxembourg and wanted to have some Indian food. This place serves good Indian food and is at par with most Indian restaurants in Europe. What differentiates this place is the service and the staff who are very helpful and always available to attend to your needs. If you are from Asia please be careful of how much food you order as the portions are large and one portion could be sufficient for two people or even three. The food has an authentic taste and price is quite reasonable. This is a must visit place if you are keen to have some Indian Food in Luxembourg. Has good choice for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to enjoy delicious Indian food. Prices appear to be on a higher side, but actually its not, they serve bigger portions. Service is prompt and you are greeted with a big smile. Would recommend for all Indian food lovers.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxbg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“amazing quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I would rate the food absolutely top quality wise. The service is ok.... but the downturn of this place is just the horrible location in one of Luxembourgs most nasty streets and worse, the restaurant itself is actually an old converted shop or house, lacking any type of appeal, atmosphere and a very cold look. This is what makes most people go elsewere for a cozy dinner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have visited this restaurant a couple of times during business trips to Luxemburg.

It's located in rue de Strasbourg, about 200 metres away from the main train station of Luxemburg.
Parking situation in this area is quite chaotic, so don't expect to find a parking spot in the same street, better to leave your car at one of the parking garages nearby or at the train station, if you don't arrive by public transport.
The restaurant is close to the Bar-/ Night Club area of Luxemburg, so don't expect a too nice or romantic atmosphere ;-)

Staff is quite nice although service sometimes is a bit slow.

Large variety of Indian dishes, although there is only a small range of vegetarian dishes, which I found quite unusual for an Indian place.
Portions are quite large (I couldn't finish mine), the taste is good, not too spicy (although you can have it spicy if you ask for it). Only the rice wasn't that real "Indian-style" in my eyes, so I was a bit disappointed in the end.

Overall I paid around 25 Euros for a dish with 2 softdrinks and a small coffee.

Not the best Indian place I've been to but I would come back if I visit Luxemburg again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Was craving Indian. Did not disappoint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

First, Luxembourg restaurants are pricey. This place is a little cheaper than what we found downtown. It's right near the train station. The portions were huge. Too big actually. I was surprised when they said the tikka masala was spicy, but we love spicy and the taste was perfect. The saag panir was good, but a little bland. I guess its better than super salty, which most places do to their saag. The garlic naan was really garlicky. I would stick with the normal naan. If you go with three people, only order two entrees. I'm actually upset that I declined to take the leftovers to go because I would love to snack on them right now. Last, the waiters were great. Maybe the most attentive I've seen outside the US.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Luxembourg also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Taj Mahal Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.