We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the basics, but if you want more, go elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ponte Vecchio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ponte Vecchio to your Saves list
Hotel Ponte Vecchio
271 Rue De Neudorf, Luxembourg City 2221, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Has the basics, but if you want more, go elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Check in was rather straightforward. The main atrium and staircase are decoupaged as to give the impression of a very classy upscale place. You will find HUGE rooms that are of upper end motel standards (didn't realize there was such a thing)? Basically the rooms are way outdated, but are still superbly clean. The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the city center. If you are looking for fairy tale accommodations to go with the ambience of the city, go elsewhere. Otherwise, if you are among university students looking for basics accommodations without all the visual appeal, this will be a great value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
3
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights and it was adequate. We stayed on a room only basis. The room was clean but basic, bathroom spotless, room service every day. The number 9 stops right outside, gets you into the centre in about 10-15 mins. Buses are frequent except SuNDAYS. Fare is 1.50 euros or 4 euros for an all day ticket. We did find the hotel a bit noisy there is arestaurant next door and people stand outside chatting. Also people will be talking as they wait for the bus. Perhaps ask for a room at the back of the hotel. All in all a reasonable hotel for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We've stayed here a few times when visiting Luxembourg as family live down the road. It's really convenient to get into the city centre and Clausen where you will find a variety of bars and restaurants, on the number 9 bus and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel (1.50 euro). Also, if you want to get to the cinema and leisure complex in Kirchberg, you can walk there in 15 minutes (slightly uphill) along the Rue du Kiem which is the road that the hotel is situated on. It is quite a busy road but most are in Luxembourg unless you stay outside of the city. There is a fabulous restaurant just down the road called i Trulli and you can get great pizza and anything italian.
The hotel rooms have great storage, a fabulous little kitchenette and the bathroom does what it's supposed to. The staff are friendly and helpful and if you don't fancy breakfast there are a couple of bakeries/patisseries/kiosk around that offer most things.
All in all this is a great little place that doesn't cost a fortune and provides good facilities within minutes of the city centre and all major attractions.

Room Tip: Great storage, bed a bit hard, kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The interior of the hotel was beautifully decorated and the room was spacious enough for 4. The filters for the air conditioning were blocked with thick dust that showered all over our cases when we switched it on. Loved the little kitchen and very handy to have a fridge. Main disappointment for us was being 3km from city centre and the roads were closed for a cycle race- too far to walk after a long day. The hotel exterior could do with a spuce up. Nice restaurant just down the road. We didn't have breakfast as it was very expensive, especially with picky children. Great to have a TV with DVD player and 4 UK channels. Fast internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend to visit the city with 2 adults and 2 children. The regular bed was soft, the bed-couch was rather hard to sleep on.
With one of our family members being wheelchair dependent, the receptionist arranged for us a room on ground floor. With lovely cooperation of another family who offered to change rooms, we got a room with enough space. A double bed and a bed-couch were to sleep the four of us, and it left us enough walking space. Also available was a TV with 30 channels to choose from (language in Dutch, French and English).
Spacious bathroom with a nice shower. Enough storage space and a desk. Decoration of the room was not new, but fine and decent for us.
The breakfast room is small but adequate. The breakfast was served in continental style, choice of bread, cereal, jams, several cheese, fruit, choice of warm drinks, juice and more. Fine for us. To enter the room you need to go up 3 steps, which is a bit challenging with a wheelchair.
To visit the city we used our car (10 minutes drive to the center). A busstop is in front of the hotel. This part of town is not for tourists. The staff was kind to our children, they had no special facilities for the kids. The hotel has an elevator. Pricing is okay compared to the facility.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside of the hotel are on a quiet street. Inform the staff before arrival if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed in Ponte Vecchio because I thought it would be within a walking distance to the European institutions - it is not. It is actually almost in the middle of nowhere, on a very busy and noisy road. The room where I stayed was possibly the smallest of all the hotels I have ever stayed in. The neighborhood is shoddy and run-down.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

I spent a month in Luxembourg and this was a humble, but appropriate place to stay. Breakfasts were charming and I really appreciated the kitchenette. The room was spacious, parking ample, and secure (being a female traveller). A few great places for dinner are within walking distance.

This is not the place for a romatic getaway, but it is clean, convenient and practical.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Vecchio

Address: 271 Rue De Neudorf, Luxembourg City 2221, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ponte Vecchio Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.