We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City L-2561, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 hotels in Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is well situated, close to restaurants, the main railway station and the bus connections are very good.
Even though the hotel is clean, it will always smell of smoke, since the receptionists are smoking and it's going through the whole building.
Staff is super friendly and will always help, unless you get the grumpy blonde guy. He needs some time to warm up.
Furniture in the rooms is old-ish, but the bed is comfortable. Make sure you bring ear plugs along, you will need them!
Bathrooms are clean, but note that there are no small towels and they are changed every two days only (for ecological reasons). The shower turns cold every minute or so, which is really annoying. I guess it's because the heater is shared.
TIPP: move the water to the wall so you can flee once you feel the water is getting less (less also means COLD in another 10th of a second). Wait for the water to get warm again without playing with the tab, it makes it only worse (especially if the person who is showering at the same time is doing exactly the same)
There is a wifi connection, but it doesn't really reach the top floors. So if you are situated on the top floors, then you will probably have to go to the breakfast room for a connection or look out for an unsecured wifi in the area (if available).
Breakfast is simple but good.
Finally, please do not forget to add 13Euro parking fees into your budget. Parking in Luxembourg is difficult, so if you come with a car, these are costs you want to consider.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    52
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
41
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

So stayed here when on a Tartan Army trip with Scotland U21's were playing Luxembourg. It was in a great location. Hotel room was basic but clean and a nice bathroom. We needed somewhere to crash and this did the job. Great bar next door which was very accommodating and fun. Located right next to the bus station. Good price for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was located very close to the railway and shops. However, the room I got was very small, with a very small bed. It was also very noisy as you could hear your neighbors and people on the street. There was wifi in the reception,but no computer facilities. The breakfast was good, breads, ham, cheese, and jams. There was a bar next door, and they did give you a free drink on your arrival.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I've been staying here in the past few years. The employees are always very helpful and polite. I even get some discount as a regular. :) It has an excellent location, very close to everything, shops, buses, train, etc. Clean, simple and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only as part of a European rail tour which we had organised ourselves.
This hotel is very close to the railway station, was clean and staff helpful despite the language barrier which was evident.
We were unable to meet the early breakfast time of 7am as we had to leave to catch our train at 6:15. The hotel prepared the full buffet breakfast for 6am especially for us so we could help ourselves to a packed breakfast to take with us on the train. This was much appreciated.
There was a lot of noise outside our room late at night (sex clubs and bars close by) but we simply closed the window and peace was restored!
Price was good and this met all our expectations of a budget hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in returning for one or two nights.
City was lovely

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I booked a twin room for one night. When I arrived, there was only one double bad room available. The guy at the reception did not offer another room but after we asked he agreed without any problem to give us something, however he offered a old tiny room for my friend with an 80's 14' TV. Looked like a luggage storage room. As "big" as the hotel only elevator which by the way handles something like one person with maximum 100kg.
The Hotel seemed to be well located for business purpose, not bad for tourism as the public transportation is quite good in Luxembourg. I would recommend look for something closer to Vale-de-la-Petrusse if you are going for tourism.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 11, rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City L-2561, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bristol 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.