We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for night stop be aware car park issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Esch sur Alzette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Esch sur Alzette to your Saves list
Mercure Esch sur Alzette
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 place Boltgen, Esch-sur-Alzette 4044, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“OK for night stop be aware car park issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was an overnight en route to Switzerland and I was glad we were early as finding the hotel and then the car park should be clearer. They could direct guests vis website directly to the car park FIRST instead of one getting round the roadworks and ending up in pedestrian zone though it is badly lit and hard to find the hotel door. Room very basic though clean and not like some UK Mercures at all. Public area has been done up and room needs it too. We did not have the expensive breakfast payiing 18 euro for the car park was enough 'extras'. A it is in middle we did not expect it to be quiet but got a decent nights sleep. Might stay again now we know what to do as often go this route.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2017-GM, Gérant at Mercure Esch sur Alzette, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,
First of all, we thank you for taking time to tell us your feelings after your stay in Mercure Esch sur Alzette. Guest satisfation is our priority, that's why your mind is very important.
About the parking, the price is quite the same than in a public one, but you have some extra facilities as a direct access with the lift from the underground to your room,

Otherwise, we thank you to notice the cleanliness of the rooms, we will share this comment with our staff. Moreover, we are pleased to inform you that we are actually working on a renovating plan, in order to do the hotel up. It should start in 2012. We will also work on reducing the noise for our guests, improving the sound insulation.

We hope we'll welcome you during your next stay in Luxembourg and we wish continue to rank you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    24
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
24
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stay here as was conveniently located for the purpose of my trip, also selected as I have stayed at other Mercures and hoped to expect the same experience.

Accor website lists rooms as having air conditioning but both rooms did not!

The Hotel is located in front of a courtyard with several bars, because of this there was a lot of noise and given that it was a hot day we had to either have the window open and put up with the loud noise (including shouting kids) or sweat in a hot room. The noise went on late into the night.

Bar service was extremely slow, in fact the 3 members of staff were all sat at a table dining at 18:30 when we were waiting for a drink, there were further delays when the beer draught machine was producing too much foam, and the waiter kept wandering off leaving us to watch the foam die down on the 1/2 glass of beer poured.

Breakfast is expensive, buffet at €15 per person which we didnt try. WiFi is free however parking is expensive at €18

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Esch-sur-Alzette hotels

bowral
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have always found this hotel to be extremely comfortable, well situated and the staff very helpful.
The rooms are basic but very roomy with every amenity, breakfasts are good and it is right on a main square with many restaurants surrounding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and I had actually booked it by mistake because I thought Esch Sur Alzette was some part of the Luxembourg City but I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is about 20 minutes by train from Luxembourg and its actually a good ride through the countryside. Its a bit difficult to find even though just about 5 minutes walk from the Esch Alzette train station. The rooms are spacious and clean with free high speed internet. The lift is quite small but that wasn't a problem for us.

The staff are not very friendly and after asking about internet, iron and invoice, the guy was looking like I was asking for too much ! We tried the 'Fruit salad with ice cream' in the restaurant because we had already eaten before arriving and that was disgusting. It was at least a few days old and we only tasted it and left it on the table. The restaurant and breakfast are very expensive ( and not sure about the quality either after eating their fruit salad ) so don't both eating in the hotel. You have tens of cafes and pubs all around the hotel where you can eat much cheaper and better.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Room furniture are a bit on the cheap side and there is no character to it. Rooms overlooking the main place can be extremely noisy in the morning with the garbage truck passing by.

As far as I know all rooms do have 2 singles beds only (can be joined together), this makes it less than optimal for maximum comfort though.

Wifi is free and working pretty well. Breakfast is overpriced (15€) it is much better to wander outside instead and find a cafe or boulangerie nearby. Parking is 15€/night (found out only when leaving the hotel, I thought it was free and website is not being clear about it).

The hotel is next door to the main shopping street of Esch (it's all relative, it's not a big city by any standard but actually 2nd biggest in Luxembourg). It's within easy access from the highway and there is a Quick and a Cactus shopping center on the way.

If you need to stay in Esch that's a fairly acceptable hotel though and you can sometimes get it for about 55€ / night (no change, no cancellation).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Town centre hotel with all the usual Mercure features - but a bit dated in places as this is clearly a hotel acquired and rebranded as a Mercure.

Underground parking was dingy and expensive (€15 a night) and given the breakfast was the same price we wandered outside and got a great deal in a local boulangerie.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Esch sur Alzette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Esch sur Alzette

Address: 2 place Boltgen, Esch-sur-Alzette 4044, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Esch-sur-Alzette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Esch-sur-Alzette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Esch sur Alzette 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Esch-Sur-Alzette only 10 min from the capital, ideally located in a pedestrian area close to the railway station. 41 rooms, restaurant with terrace, a meeting room and covered paying parking with direct access to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Mercure Esch sur Alzette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Esch-Sur-Alzette
Accor Esch Sur Alzette
Mercure Esch Sur Alzette Luxembourg/Esch-Sur-Alzette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Esch sur Alzette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.