We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pike & Eel Hotel

The Pike & Eel Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Needingworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pike & Eel Hotel
Save
You added The Pike & Eel Hotel to your Saves list
Overcote Lane, Needingworth PE27 4TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Needingworth B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great little pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I only popped in for a drink with a friend as I had heard what lovely surroundings there was and I was not disappointed. The setting is one of the most beautiful I've seen for a pub, right next to the river with a mown lawn stretching down to the water with several boats moored. The owner was accommodating, chatty and knowledgeable about the local area and when I enquired about renting a boat for a few hours couldn't have been more helpful. Had a scan of the bar and restaurant menu and could tell just by looking at it that the food would be of typical English pub grub standard and looking at other reviews on here i'd be right. Not for fine diners but if you would like a quiet drink next to a beautiful river or a good hearty family dinner it gets 5*s.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Visited this hotel for a weekday lunch. Extensive menu plus specials board. Picturesque and peaceful setting beside the river and marina. Food was excellent, the portions very generous, and reasonably priced. Staff friendly, welcoming and efficient. We shall certainly return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having lived in st ives fo 12 years and have gone to this very well located pub ,right on the river , many many times,and have never eaten there we decided to have a slap up meal. we was not dissapointed the whole 3 coarse meal was spot on and there was plenty to chose from ,with plenty of daily specials.a great night with good wine that did not break the budget expect to pay £70 for two with drinks,well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have been to the Pike & Eel a number of times , not stayed in the Hotel but eaten in the bar and restaurant. The staff are very friendly an efficient. On this occasion we had lunch , which is although not the cheapest bar food you can find is well cooked and generous portions. The Pub is on the banks of the river Great Ouse in Cambridgeshire , so a super location , with outside seating and loads of space. We chose to eat in the conservatory area which is very relaxing , but you can also eat in a posh restaurant area, in the bar or outside. Very clean and very well run.
If you are in the area and hungry give it a go, you wont be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stopped off here for some food. Pleasant enough surroundings friendly natives and staff. We ate in the bar / conservatory and the food was to a good standard with a wide range of menu choices also has a specials board from which we ordered off. Plentiful portion sizes to satisfy the healthiest of appetites. They also have an a la carte restaurant which required booking. Only average because that was all we wanted there are better but then again there are a lot worse.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We hadn't been here for years but stopped for an impromptu lunch. The setting is beautiful which you cannot fault. We ordered chicken Caesar salad, really disappointing, lettuce limp, half a cherry tomato, anchovies which totally spoilt the whole dish and a lump of chicken that had just been 'dumped' on the lettuce. We won't be returning in a hurry.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here with work colleague. Read the mixed reviews & wasn't sure wot 2 expect. Lovely location & really nice on a warm sunny day.
Warm welcome on arrival & no fuss check-in.
Was in room 2, which had a double & single bed, Small TV, well stocked tea tray. Full sized bathroom with shower (old style from taps). Room was clean & decor was ok. Please remember this is an old building. & not a newly built big chain hotel with air con.
Had bar meal & there was a good choice. Meal was pretty good & plenty of it. Also good select of drinks & bonus was crabbie's ginger beers. That went down a treat on a hot day.
Really good nite sleep in a pretty comfortable bed. Location is really quiet.
Only down side was it took I'm a bit of time trying 2 sort the temp on shower. Got there in the end but temp did go up & down a few time.
Breakfast isn't til 7.30 & as I had 2 b somewhere early I missed out.
All in all very good stay 4 the price.
As for comments about spiders I didn't see 1, which was great as they frighten the life out of me.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pike & Eel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pike & Eel Hotel

Address: Overcote Lane, Needingworth PE27 4TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Needingworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Needingworth
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Pike & Eel Hotel Needingworth, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pike & Eel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.