We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch a delight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pike & Eel Hotel

The Pike & Eel Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Needingworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pike & Eel Hotel
Save
You added The Pike & Eel Hotel to your Saves list
Overcote Lane, Needingworth PE27 4TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Needingworth B&B and Inns
Peterborough, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch a delight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Four of us visited on a suuny Sunday lunchtime and were quickly shown to our table (Might have been nice to be asked if we would like a drink in the bar first as we were early.) The table was spotless. White tablecloths and napkins. Our drinks order was taken and arrived in minutes. The staff were a delight. Lots of smiles and nothing too much trouble. The starters, salmon, tomato and mozerella sald and salmon filo tart were all of good quality and fresh.
Our mains followed at a suitable interval and were lovely. Roast beef for two, lamb and salmon for the other two. The vegetables were plentiful and cooked al dente. We were all too full for dessert. Coffee (and mints) and Earl Grey were served and much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Average food. If you eat from the bar menu prepare to do all the work yourself as waitresses do nothing but bring food to the table and don't like being asked to do anything else. The new potatos came without any butter snd looked like dried up unappetising bullets. I asked the waitress for some butter on her way past. Her reply was an abrupt "when I've finished serving these people" When the butter turned up ten mins later they wee two tiny furls for a dish of potatos for 4. Not impressed over all. When it came to paying you were shunted from one place to the next. Not impressed overall it should be fantastic and it wasn't! Lazy waitresses and sloppy crackers set up!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Needingworth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having moved into the area recently we decided to visit the Pike and Eel with friends today.

It is the height of summer with a full marina. There were few customers and from our entrance to our exit we were made to feel an inconvenience by every member of the staff that we encountered.
During our meal one of our guests asked for a glass of water and was told that they needed to go to the bar for it.
The food was dreadful, dry, dull and poorly cooked/presented.
One wineglass had lipstick neatly presented on the rim.

Not a place to return to or recommend. Hospitality training urgently required!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Nice cosy pub. But aged and battered
Rooms. Shared mine with numerous spiders and cobwebs n dust. Bed well past it. No curtain on loo windows and pathetic dribble of water out a limescaled shower. Really was grim. Walls battered n paint peeling
Food. Its average pub grub. Nothing special
Breakfast. Served in the grotiest area ugh
Service. Landlady nice
Pity she didnt dust n clean
The door says 1610 and its the original decor

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went here for dinner last night, the service was bad and the way they had the ordering set up was a bit daft. The starters were ok I had the pate seemed ok not sure this morning. The mains came out I didn't think you could really mess up scampi but that tasted greasy. 2 of the party had slow roasted belly pork with mushroom and pearl barley pilaff sounds nice. I nearly had it looked like a grey horrible watery slop and apparently didn't taste much better. No crispy belly pork crackling just pork fat. It wasn't cheap the waiters didn't ask once if everything was ok he probably knew it wasnt. It was badly organised bad food and bad beer one of those has led to me feeling sick with diarhoria and I only had 3 pints. Whilst we were there someone else was in the toilet being sick too. Overall could be a great venue in a lovely setting badly let down by bad management and bad food.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had an excellant lunch here today. my very elderly parents are regulars and like the chairs! good choice of food well presented. best apple strudel in ages. good large pot of tea. beware food stops at 2 o clock.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The place is filthy all over apart from the al a carte restaurant area. We stayed in what is classed as the 'suite'. Walls and curtains were stained with dead spidders where guests had splatted them. It must be the only place in Cambridgeshire where your cannot order a starter with a bar meal unles you eat in the restaurant. The whole place needs shutting down and refitting. It was the very warm week-end in October and not enough staff on to cope in the bar, 45 minutes to get served

Room Tip: Don't bother chose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pike & Eel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pike & Eel Hotel

Address: Overcote Lane, Needingworth PE27 4TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Needingworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Needingworth
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Pike & Eel Hotel Needingworth, Cambridgeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pike & Eel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.