We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old Inn and great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Aal Veinen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Auberge Aal Veinen to your Saves list
Auberge Aal Veinen
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   114 Grand-rue, Vianden L-9411, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Vianden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Roscommon, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful old Inn and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

.This is a lovely old 16th century inn a beautiful small town with stunning views.Arrived on a cold evening in November to a nice greeting,very helpful finding car parking.The room was very comfortable and warm, tastefully modernised and very well appointed,but still retaining the old character of the inn.This Inn specialises in food and we were lucky they had a table available.We had the set menu(€36) and although not cheap the food was fantastic! We started with the cooked smoked ham,lovely taste and plenty of it! Now i dont usually have a steak in a restaurant because ive often been disapointed,but no problem here as this was one of the best ive ever eaten,and large,cooked exactly as i ordered it,with nice selection of vegetables and potato dauphanois,again perfectly cooked.Desert was a wonderful apple pie,all washed down with a Luxembourg Riesling(€23) and oh what a great wine it was! I was so impressed with this Inn and the Luxembourg region in general, that im already planning a longer trip to this gem of a country.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We both really enjoyed our time at this B&B. The room was very well fit out, very modern, which was deceiving as the building had old school charm about it. The breakfast was also excellent.

You don't have a lot of choice in this town, despite that, you will be very happy here.

And on a side note, Vianden is a beautiful little city, well worth a nights stay to get some great pictures of the awesome castle about town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On our last trip to Europe I think this has to be one of the greatest finds in a long time.I almost hate to let others know.The rooms were fresh and new.I only wish I could have stayed another night.Food was wounderful as were the people who worked here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute after altering the final leg of our road trip around France this September. Neither of us had been to Luxembourg before and we were blown away with how beautiful Vianden and the surrounding area was. The hotel itself was perfect, very quaint downstairs in the restaurant, with a lovely big bedroom and luxurious ensuite shower room (we stayed in room no. 2). We ate in the restaurant and had their set menu which was absolutely delicious. The staff were great and overall we'd highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This little Inn has great character and authentic old flavours. The bathrooms and rooms are tastefully and recently updated and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rates are very reasonable. Highly recommended, and a good decision if staying in Vianden!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Located on the mountain drive near the Vianden Castle, this quite small
Inn, built in 1683, will welcomes you very warmly. Rooms with traditional furnishings and modern bathroom. Comfortable full size bed done in
old-world style. Fantastic restaurant offers steaks, ribs and other meats
grilled over real wood fire. Hospitable staff completes very enjoyable stay. No private parking but public parking is a short walk up-hill.
PS. For all you beer lovers, there is a beer vending machine in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a rear facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We consider ourselves reasonably seasoned travellers, but had never heard of Vianden. Picked it as a stop over due to it's convenient position on our tour. The hotel was selected on the basis of price, previous reviews and availability of parking for the bike.

Both turned out to be great decisions.

The town is truly lovely. It has an impressive castle overlooking a bridge with a strangely pleasing mix of medieval and later properties, some of which look straight out of Wales. It's main feature is a "Shaftsbury" like hill (think Hovis advert) lined with cafe's and restaurants.

The Hotel is a similar strange mix of very rustic, with modern/upgraded rooms. Very good quality facilities, with the ensuite in particular standing out. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was fine but we didn't eat in the evening (but the size of the steaks we saw being cooked was impressive).

Certainly worth a look if you are passing

Room Tip: Ours was to the front and perfectly acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Aal Veinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aal Veinen

Address: 114 Grand-rue, Vianden L-9411, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Vianden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vianden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Aal Veinen 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge Aal Veinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Aal Veinen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.