We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down...such a shame!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Commerce

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Commerce to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Commerce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Route de Marnach, Clervaux L - 9709 , Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Clervaux
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a let down...such a shame!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were due to stay here on the Saturday evening last weekend, and were really looking forward to this as the facilities sounded very good. We were a party of six adults, and had three rooms booked on a mini tour of European countries in a long driving weekend.

Unfortunately - an error on my part meant that I had booked this hotel for Friday evening - rather than the intended Saturday evening. My wife in the UK had a rather alarming call at 10pm saying we had not arrived, and they were closing soon.

I telephoned from the hotel we were actually at in Netherlands - and explained that it was for Saturday -not Friday. (I hadn't realised my error at this stage). The man I spoke to was incredibly abrupt - and very rude. I was trying to ask him if we can find a solution, and he just kept barking at me in a very argumentative and non productive manner. Then he hung up on me.

I was aware the error was mine, and was simply trying to find a solution - which most people can at least understand, and would try to help too. It's an unusual situation, and they handled it very badly. I telephoned back, and explained the error was on my part - and would they be able to accommodate us the next day instead? Most hotels would be civil and polite - even if no vacancies. The man was again incredibly rude - and very abrupt. He said he didn't know if he had any rooms vacant the next day. I asked him if he could possibly let me know - to which he replied "No - you call me if you want to know" - which was great.

In the end, I decided to find another 3x rooms in another local hotel - which was better. I didn't want to be exposed to such a rude, arrogant and unhelpful man - and I certainly didn't want to be at his mercy in terms of what he would charge us knowing we had no other option.

We were charged the full amount for a 'no show' which was a substantial amount of money for the 3x rooms. I know it was our fault - but he showed no willing in helping us find an alternative - and was simply one of the rudest hoteliers I have ever encountered. For this reason alone - I wouldn't want to stay here. And will never do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jangli, Inhaber at Hotel du Commerce, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It's a shame that you did not take us up on the offer to call us on the saturday morning to check again if rooms had become available.
When you called us you told us that you were certain to have a booking for the Saturday, yet it was for the Friday.
As we were fully booked we were then left with three empty rooms.
We certainly did not mean to be rude on the phone - it must be a language barrier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here on an MG car meeting & found it very nice & clean & the service was excellent it would be better if the proprietors could rustle up a smile though!!!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the front its slightly noisey during the night with cars coming & going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed one night on 12 September 2011, en route to Germany, traveling on a motorcycle from France (Burgundy region). My room was of a comfortable size, facing south/east (above the car park). It also had a small balcony but because of a constant drizzle, this was not the ideal place to relax over a drink.

The service, in my view was only average. I had the distinct impression the proprietor almost deliberately detached himself from the guests. Checking in was swift but checking out should be managed better. I had planned an early start at 07.30 the next morning and found reception unattended. Even more surprising, the entire establishment seemed deserted.
I had to wait until shortly after 08.00 before the reception was attended again. I should have raised this issue with the proprietor but did not.

As for the food, again no 'wow' factor to report here (vegetarian lasagne and salmon. This also applies for the breakfast (included in the room charge). I paid, including dinner and drinks, 130 Euros.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked a gastronomic weekend in this hotel wich means arriving on friday and have a 4 course meal and on saturday a gastronomic 6 cours meal with a house-appertif on top.
The hotel itself is not new but renewed frequently so we had a nice room and everything very clean. The owner and staff are friendly but you never get the feeling of being welcome.. it all seemed a bit 'we need to be friendly' in stead off 'we are friendly'... The breakfast was simple but ok expect for the awfull coffee. The main complaint for me was the food however. Altough we had on both evenings a good menu, it somehow let me down as not good enough, not up to date with modern cooking, all to simple and most certainly : you can not call this gastronomic... so because the food was the main purpose of our visit i feel i can only provide it with an average score. We had better for this kind of money. So not a bad feeling about our visit but all in all to simple to please us enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We found this hotel to be very pleasant, clean and comfortable.It is family run and between them and their staff they appear to speak many languages. The hotel was very clean and many areas have been refurbished,our rooms were modern and comfotable, most rooms appear to have a small balcony overlooking the river.This family clearly reinvests their profits into their business,the swimming pool if very clean, again beautifully maintained there is even a small sun terrace complete with sun loungers.The food in the restaurant is varied and delicious. The breakfast is simply, and the staff helpful.
An all round pleasant experience.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I booked a week in this hotel trough a travel agency. This hotel is popular with tourists from Netherlands and Belgium. It's in the citycentre altough Clervaux is a very small place.The hotel might be less suitable for traintravellers because the railwaystation is a bit far from the hotel. I was allocated room 108 and the minor point is that this room (and many others) faces a parking lot which means noise from cars. There is also live-music on this parking lot on some days which might be disturbing if you need rest! My room was big but also simple. But it was clean too. And there is free WiFi, altough you must ask for an acces-code at the reception. Breakfast is simple but also good. The hotel is run by a friendly couple and they also speak dutch. The hotel has also wellness and fitness facilities but I didn't use them.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Commerce

Address: 2 Route de Marnach, Clervaux L - 9709 , Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Clervaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Clervaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Commerce 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of Castle Clervaux, along the Clerve River, Hotel du Commerce offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi. Facilities include a spa center with an indoor swimming pool. Guests can make free use of the spa center.All rooms at Hotel du Commerce have a TV, a telephone, and a private bathroom. Some rooms have a bathroom with a spa bathtub.Guests can enjoy international gourmet dishes in the restaurant, L'Ecureuil, which also has an extensive wine cellar.The spa center offers a wide variety of health and beauty treatments, including hot stone massages. It also has a sauna, a spa bathtub, and a Turkish bath.Museum The Family of Man is less than a 5 minute walk away. The train station in Clervaux is just half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Commerce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.