We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark Ages” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Hotel Le Claravallis

Golf Hotel Le Claravallis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golf Hotel Le Claravallis to your Saves list
Golf Hotel Le Claravallis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue de la Gare, Clervaux L-9707 , Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Clervaux
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dark Ages”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Never Go there again, The most rudest of rudest places I have every stayed ! we made a mistake of staying in for dinner which I will regret. The Manager is either hard of hearing or brutally rude to his guests. My wife who has a few allergies was treteed like rubbish and let me tell you we only stayed the night as we knew we would be leaving the next morning. Stufed our happy times in Ardennes. We were the only guests in the hotel and , loooked like we intruded on the old couples time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent half-board stay.....4 course evening meals which were tasty and comprised generous portions with more than sufficient breakfasts. Most helpful proprietor providing various advice and suggestions for excursions. Good sized clean accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited for dinner on an off chance ... given that the dinner opportunities along the same road looked even less appealing.

A surreal experience ... Actually all of the town of Clerveaux kind of seemed dead on a Monday evening (the owner assured us that during the weekend they were fully booked) but still, there seemed to be no one at the hotel, the atmosphere and smell were from before the no-smoking laws and I am afraid the whole setting is pretty much outdated.

The elderly owner was very charming, he did what he could but my guess is that he or his wife even cooked our dinner. Throughout the experience we did not see anyone else but us two as the customers and the owner in what is in fact a pretty large building. No one else passing, no one walking around, no one in the dining room, no one in the lobby, no lift moving, no ... nothing. As said ... surreal.

The dinner table was perfectly clean, we had good wine and ordered the menu with shrimps, ray fish and dessert.
It is not haute cuisine. For an "along the road" touristic menu the taste was ok and the quantity was surely enough but neither the food nor the dining experience warrants any stars.
As for price quality maybe a bit on the wrong side of good. We paid 100 euro.

We walked away not completely feeling cheated out of our money but also not really thinking we would visit again.

Maybe a sad thing to see these probably once grant hotels decline ... times have changed.
For my grandparents a trip to Clervaux was probably the highlight of the year. As tastes, expectation levels and travel distances have changed these type of places are struggling to compete.

Since we didn't stay, there are no comments to give on rooms, breakfast etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
756 helpful votes 756 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Superficially pleasant on the outside, we called in one sunny afternoon when passing by wanting nothing more than two ice-creams on the terrace. Service, such as it was, was slow and lackadaisical and two ice-creams ended up costing € 13.00. We were not to be trusted to pay after we has eaten the ice creams and this outrageous sum was not enough, apparently, to warrant their accepting payment by credit card. Seldom have I felt so thoroughly dissatisfied.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

I always enjoy my stays in this superb hotel. Good location not far from the station.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrücken
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

I have stayed in this Hotel several times. The rooms are clean and airy. The hotel is well located at the border of the forest, close to the walking tracks, the town center, the 18 hole golf course and the train station.
I always enjoy the trips to Clervaux.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Hotel Le Claravallis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel Le Claravallis

Address: 3, Rue de la Gare, Clervaux L-9707 , Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Clervaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Clervaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Hotel Le Claravallis 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel islocated at the border of the forest, close to the walking tracks, the town center and about 3 minutes from the new 18 hole Golf course. Convention and banqueting facilities, photocopying and fax services, elevator, sauna, solarium, baby-sitting, large terrace and private parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Golf Hotel Le Claravallis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Hotel Le Claravallis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.