We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torshavn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torshavn to your Saves list
Hotel Torshavn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy FO-110, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“City hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel has a good location very close to Torshavn harbour. We had a reasonable sized, comfortable, clean room which was well equipped. We had a view towards the harbour which was very pleasant. There is off street parking a short walk away. We ate in the hotel Bistro/restaurant and had very good soup and pizza and some local island beer. The service was fairly good and the staff were friendly, but pretty busy. There was a good Scandinavian style breakfast in the morning. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the historic area of Torshavn. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
1
28
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

In center of town, very easy walk to bus terminal, ferry to Nolsoy, tourist office, shops and restaurants. I was upgraded from medium sea view to large room. Comfortable bed, view of harbor. Wifi was a bit spotty on first night unless I opened the door and walked down the hall. Then it got better for the next two days. Restaurant was good, hotel has laundry service and will arrange airport shuttle.

Bathroom was small and had one of those wet room set ups where the shower just flows onto the floor and into a drain in a corner of the bathroom surrounded by curtain. Overall the place is good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have been in faroe islands a couple of times and always stayed at this hotel. location is the best as it is close to all restaurants. Even the restaurant in the hotel is one of the most popular ones for the locals. You have walking distance to everything you need. rooms are a bit dusty even though they clean it every day. I always stay in room 303 or 302 as they have the best view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our stay was part of a group of photographers' trip to the Faroes, and this hotel was our home base for about 9 days.

We found our room to be very comfortable. WIFI was good, TV reception was good. The room was clean and well-organized, beds were comfortable. Location is excellent. The bathroom was a challenge - if the shower was not directed perfectly, it soaked the entire floor of the room. Breakfast was very nice - quality and quantity. Dinner was as well, with a somewhat limited menu. We often enjoyed a glass of wine or beer in the lower level lounge, which was very nice. On one weekend evening, late at night, it got loud and rowdy in the lounge area - mostly local people, I think. Management responded to that issue.

In a town of limited hotel experiences, this was certainly more than acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable, though very basic. Their 2nd floor restaurant seemed popular with locals. The first floor bar had live music at night. It was an easy walk from the bus terminal, where the bus 300 will bring you from the airport. At first, it seemed that the hotel did not receive out reservation from booking.com, but fortunately they had rooms, and they matched the price we booked online, also gave us free cofee while we were waiting in the lobby. I would stay in this hotel if i visit Torshavn again.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very well located and with a friendly staff, we made from this hotel our base to explore the Faroes. Our room had a nice view over the harbour and was very nice at all, although the shower room was quite small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Simple rooms, but nice. Awkward bathroom, small and the water goes everywhere. Didnt get to try breakfast as it doesnt open until 7 and our tour started at 7,the next day we had to leave at 6 to the airport. Nothing great about the place but not bad either. If walking from the bus station its hard to find as the sign is around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
62 N Airport Hotel
62 N Airport Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kerjalon Hostel
Kerjalon Hostel
#2 of 4 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torshavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torshavn

Address: Torsgota 4, Torshavn, Streymoy FO-110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torshavn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tórshavn has a fantastic location with a stunning view of the harbour in the front and the Town Hall Square in the back. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the city centre There are 43 rooms on the hotel The restaurant "hvonn brasserie" is on the first floor On the ground floor is a café & bar An outdoor café is on the ground floor The hotel has 6 meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torshavn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torshavn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.