We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal and service for the price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hafnia to your Saves list
Hotel Hafnia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
2 reviews
“Worst meal and service for the price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My and a couple of my friends went out for lunch. We decided on Hafnia, since we've all had good meals there before. This was not the case this time. They have just replaced all the staff, this has not had a positive effect. The waiter never gave us a wine/drink card and she had to come back to check the order twice. The steak was soggy, the sauce tasted bad, the fries were soft at the vegetables boring.

All in all: Overpriced, bad food and bad service

I hope they can do better in the future

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
17
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 night here, at this 4 star hotel, that desperately needed renovation. The room was very old and had a small, very bad bathroom for this standard. The water from the shower did leak out on the floor and carpet in the bedroom, because of a rotten door. It was no ventilation and it smelled old in the bathroom after using it. It is absolutely not sound proof between the rooms. They have started to renovate the hotel. The positive with the stay was that the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was varied and good and the location in the city was convenient.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed three nights at the Hotel Hafnia which is located in the old part of Tørshavn, an excellent place to be! The harbor with various ferries is two blocks away, two banks are only three blocks away, an excellent library is just two blocks away, and the Tourist Information office is also very close by.

I checked into my room on the 2nd floor at precisely 2:00 pm because that is the earliest guests can check in and the management is very strict about that rule. Parking is free in front of the hotel on Sundays. Because of extensive hotel renovation, there is no free parking on the hotel premises; rather, guests must park (for free) about five blocks away.

My room was small but quite adequate for my simple needs. It had everything I wish for in a hotel room: a single bed, a writing desk with chair, a small closet for an abundance of hangars, a flatscreen TV with access to CNN and BBC World (both telecasting in English), tea/coffee making facilities including all the necessities, and an ensuite bathroom with a shower (no tub) and shower curtain, sink, commode, clean towels, tiny soap cake, and hot/cold water. Internet (Wi-Fi) was free and worked very well in my room.

Breakfast, which was included in my room price, was the very best one I had in the entire Faroe Islands. It consisted of a wonderful souffle of potatoes, cheese and cauliflower; poached eggs, muesli, corn flakes, orange and apple juice, a special current juice, sausage, hash browns, English-style beans in their sauce, bread, butter, jam, coffee, tea and milk. I was in food heaven!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the street: noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your comprehensive review of Hotel Hafnia. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure that our restaurant staff will be delighted to hear that they are serving the best breakfast in Tórshavn! We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your nex visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Torshavn was our second place to stay on the Faeroe Islands. We arrived in front of the hotel and were a bit surprised about the scaffold around the building. The reception was very friendly and we got a room in the new extension.
This room was really nice and well equipped with everything you need with a large, modern bath room and enough space for everything and a big window with a nice view towards the old part of the city.
But the way to this room was due to the ongoing construction work a bit difficult to manage with many deviations. Due to the construction work, the noise started at around 8 AM and lasted until around 5 PM for the carpenters, others worked longer most likely using the most of the long day time.
The breakfast menu was really great and well done. The breakfast room was sometimes a bit overloaded due to the fact one or two travel groups had chosen the hotel for their stay. But we could always get around these groups.
In summary: The hotel will be really great when the renovation is finished with a great reception area and wonderful new rooms and will achieve then a "very good" judgement.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms in the other building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Hafnia. It is heartwarming to note that you enjoyed our brand new rooms. We agree that when the ongoing renovation and modernisation is complete, our guest will reap the benefits of this major investment in comfort and convenience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Great location but 'small' does not describe the dimensions of the room. The clue comes when you find the external door opens OUT into the corridor. Currently undergoing renovation which meant drilling at 0800. Dinner at the restaurant was reasonable (but expensive); the choice at brekfast on our second morning was very limited. Reception staff very helpful

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. I did try to touch the walls from the middle of the room, but try as I might, I could not, even on one leg. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our unique location right in the heart of the capital and it is heartwarming to hear that you were taken good care of by our reception staff. We provide a full buffet breakfast every morning, so I am puzzled as to why there would have been a limited choice on your second day. The hotel has been undergoing much needed renovation and, unfortunately, there is never a good time to do this and we do apologise for any inconvenience caused to you by the drilling at 08:00h. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next visit to the Faroe Islands..Takk Fyri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

The location is excellent, right in the middle of Tórshavn and just moments from the harbour. The room, although very small, was stylish and comfortable with a great bathroom. The free WiFi was reliable. The breakfast was by far the best we had anywhere in the Faroe Islands. The staff were unfailingly helpful and efficient.

The hotel is currently (summer 2015) undergoing extensive rebuilding and renovation and is covered in scaffolding. The noise from the construction work starts at 8am and continues until 9 or 10 in the evening, presumably taking advantage of the constant daylight at this time of year. Also due to the construction work, the guest car park is unavailable; we had to park some distance away from the hotel and move the car at least once each day. The hotel did not advise us in advance of this disruption.

Overall, and despite the noise, a very nice hotel in a great location but, as with almost all accommodation in the Faroe Islands, rather poor value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street probaby suffer less from construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are glad that you enjoyed our new rooms which have been designed very much with style in mind and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our new bathrooms with cosy underfloor heating. Again it is delightful to hear that you rate our full buffet breakfast so highly and that you were able to take full advantage of our central location in the heart of the capital. Obviously, being in the heart of even the worlds smallest capital can mean that close parking is always an issue. We do normally have a very small car park available for a few cars, but at the moment, due to our modernation programme, it is unavailable. Parking is however available for free by our picturesque harbour which is a pleasant 5 minute stroll from the hotel. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by renovation work, especially as they were indeed trying to take advantage of the almost never ending daylight in the Faroe Islands at the moment. I do hope that it did not impact too much on your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia on your next visit to our Islands...Takk Fyri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Close to amenities such as harbour,restaurants etc. Somewhat dated but undergoing renovations. We had a large room, good bed, heated bathroom floor etc. Frienfdly staff. Wonderful breakfast. No parking, but could park on the street without much difficulty.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Hafnia. Once again, it is great to see that our location in the centre of Tórshavn is a real plus for our guests. It is always nice to see that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and our new bathroom and were well looked after by our staff. We work hard to try and create a home from home atmosphere all the time you are with us, especially starting your day with a "wonderful breakfast". We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia on your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
1.0 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
62 N Airport Hotel
62 N Airport Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnia

Address: 4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnia 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the world’s smallest capital, within walking distance of the harbour and the historical part of town, Surrounded by shops, restaurants and night life. Hotel Hafnia is the perfect setting for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hafnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafnia Hotel tórshavn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.