We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hafnia to your Saves list
Hotel Hafnia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Although under renovation the stay was enjoyable. There is old charm in this hotel. Very friendly staff. The bathroom was a bit dated. Good sized room. Excellent breakfast. The wifi was very reliable.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
13
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The staff at this hotel are friendly and hospitable. The hotel is in a great location... no, make that *the best location in Torshavn*. The hotel restaurant serves great authentic Faroese food. There's a certain appealing, quaint atmosphere in the place.

Unfortunately the experience was let down by a few negatives.

The bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. The small size is not really the problem. The issue is that there's no ventilation in there and so after a shower the humid air lingers for hours. It's not a surprise that the grout feels a bit... well let's just say that some parts of it are stained dark. I am also not a fan of perpetually wet floors that come from a bathroom where the shower is simply one corner of the room with a wand for a shower head.

I spotted a few silverfish in the bathroom. These are vermin which survive in humid places (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silverfish). Considering the age of the building and the humidity in the bathroom (see above) I suppose this also isn't a surprise.

The room had a faint unpleasant odor (of sweat or dirty socks). At first some kind of scent or cleaning product covered it up, but as my stay wore on it became more apparent. One time I returned to the room to find that the window had been left open, which helped a lot (the air in the Faroe Islands is amazingly fresh and clean) but when I closed the window, the scent soon returned.

The bed was saggy. Clearly it's been common over the years for guests to sit on the edge of the mattress near the door, which has weakened that side of the mattress and caused the sag. The bed was otherwise comfortable.

The toilet ran all the time, loudly enough to be heard through the closed bathroom door. I reported it but was eventually told that nothing could be done since it was a weekend. I appreciate that Torshavn is a laid-back place but having no maintenance staff capable of dealing with that kind of routine issue seems problematic. To be fair, the staff were apologetic and offered to move me -- but I had already moved once due to a different issue, and didn't want to move down 2 floors into yet another room with who knows what other problems might come with it.

The room keys are old-school, attached to a heavy brass ornament. That's fine, but the front desk is sometimes unmanned for brief periods, with a placard saying "be back soon". On several occasions I had to wait to get my key so I could get into my room. Again I totally appreciate the more laid-back cultural context, but having to sit in the lobby waiting for an indeterminate period of time to get a room key to get into my room is less than ideal.

I wish I could rate this hotel higher due to the friendly and very helpful front-desk staff and great location, but an honest assessment means I would probably look elsewhere were I to return to Torshavn.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. First of all, we would like to thank you for the positive feedback about our staff and the prime location in the heart of Tórshavn. We Also delighted that you took a brief moment to highlight the delicious local food that we serve in our in house restaurant. It was also pleasing to see that you appreciated the appealing atmosphere of our hotel.

I should like to address some of the "few drawbacks" that however dominated your review.

The bathrooms are tiled wet rooms, designed so that any shower water drains away rapidly. The grout between the tiles will appear dark when wet. As one of the windiest locations in the world, the hotel benefits from natural ventilation with some of the freshest air that one could ever breath.

I have checked our guest comment book in reception and I have no record of any comment or complaint having been made to our staff about unpleasant odours. Please be assured that, if any such problem had been made aware to us, we would have remedied it immediately, or offered to relocate you to another room, as is our policy, wherever possible. In fact, our staff did offer to relocate you to a better room following a problem with the toilet cistern, which was continually running, however, it is noted that you declined this offer.

You have mentioned that the bed was comfortable, therefore I have disregarded the other comments as the items you pointed out would be normal wear for hotel beds.

Our hotel keys are indeed "old school" and in keeping with the appealing atmosphere of the hotel, they are real keys with large, decorative brass key fobs, designed to be inconvenient to carry with you, so that guests leave them with the reception, thus reducing the risk of loss as they cost at least 1000kr to replace.

You also mentioned that the reception may be unmanned "sometimes" and for "brief periods", however you have then stated that you had to wait for undeterminate periods in the lobby.

Our hotel desk is manned 24/7, however, on occasions our receptionist may be called away to deal with a guest request. Initially, they will try to find someone else to attend to this, but on the few occasions where this is not possible, they will place a notice on the desk, together with a hotel telephone with a number that will connect you to their mobile telephone immediately. You have very kindly attached a photo of the sign explaining exactly that. On receipt of your call they will return to the reception immediately, as this is their priority. However, it would appear in this instance, you decided to sit and wait instead.

We are sorry that you feel that the few negatives, some of which could have been avoided, would cause you to stay elsewhere, however we still appreciate your choosing Hotel Hafnia and our friendly staff would love to welcome you back to the best placed Hotel in Tórshavn during your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk. Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

An oldy worldy hotel with decor, atmosphere and service reminiscent of times gone by. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Location is excellent. I stayed three days but wasn't in the hotel very much due to work so can't comment on much else I'm afraid.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for kind words about Hotel Hafnia, we are heartened that you enjoyed the atmosphere, surroundings and service in the hotel and that the location in the heart of the capital enabled you go about your business with ease. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I didn't expect the Faroese hotels to be more than adequate, so this was a very pleasant surprise! Excellent location close to the harbour and restaurants, it had comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and, above all, very high quality food(breakfasts were as good as I've eaten anywhere

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia , we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the convenience of our unique location in the very heart of the capital. We work hard to achieve a "home from home" atmosphere and we are so pleased that you found our staff to be helpful. We are proud of our in house restaurant and it is most rewarding to hear your glowing report of our food and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hafnia during your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is located not too far from the bus station, where we have to drag our luggages uphill (yes it is, but nearby to catch an early bus to the airport).

The room is ok, spacious, clean but the bathroom could be improved since the size is small and having a shower could be a challenge.
Other than that, we enjoy staying in this hotel, the people are nice.
The bed is big and cozy, we sleep well for a few nights here.
Breakfast is ok nothing much.

We have a room just oppositve Etika sushi place and it is recommended to try it!

The location is great for Torshavn since it is downtown and very near to major locations.
All in all, this is the best hotel to stay after we look around town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our prime location in the heart of Tórshavn. Our comprehensive breakfast buffet caters for every morning taste, from fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and muesli to a selection of cheese and cold meats, freshly baked bread, home made, jams, pancakes and syrup, bacon and scrambled or boiled eggs, coffee and a selection of teas for all tastes, however we will always listen if there are special requirements outside of the above. We look forward to being your Hotel of choice during your next visit to the Faroe Islands,,,Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western colorado
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Do eat here if you have a chance. The food was wonderful, though my husband was not impressed by all the flavored foams. I thought it was well presented, creative and delicious. Recommended. The local friends we shared a meal with here were sort of lukewarm about eating here. Aarstova was their first choice, but we could not get a reservation there.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here. This review is for the restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of Restaurant Hafnia. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the quality and presentation of our food. I do hope that your friends were impressed also and that possibly they have moved from luke warm to heart warming and will make Restaurant Hafnia their first choice in future. We look forward to welcoming you back to eat during your next visit to the Faroe Islands,,,Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights from the end of April through early May. Honestly - I was wondering which to choose for Torshavn accommodation: a great view from Hotel Foroyar or the convenience of city central location and I decided to choose the convenience. Which worked very nice for me. From Hotel Hafnia you can access a lot of services by short walk - bus/ferry terminal, tourist information, nearest city bus stop, and Etika the sushi restaurant located right in front of the hotel!
Hotel staff are kind and helpful. Breakfast is in a typical Scandinavian style and I enjoyed it very much as always. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are delighted that you decided to take full advantage of our location right in the heart of Tórshavn. We are also pleased to note that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that our staff were helpful. We work hard to try and recreate a "home from home" experience. We sincerely hope that you will choose Hotel Hafnia as your base during your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hafnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnia

Address: 4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnia 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the world’s smallest capital, within walking distance of the harbour and the historical part of town, Surrounded by shops, restaurants and night life. Hotel Hafnia is the perfect setting for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hafnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafnia Hotel tórshavn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.