We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hafnia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hafnia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel last week. I found the staff were particularly friendly (and people on the Faroe Islands are generally friendly). The food in the restaurant was excellent, with a menu that concentrated on quality rather than a wide choice of dishes. The room was ok but not exceptional. Most of the TV channels were in Danish, CNN being the only English choice. The location is right in the centre of Torshavn, which is very convenient, even though this is not a large city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hotel Hafnia. Our staff work hard to create a friendly and "home from home" atmosphere and it is nice to know that this is appreciated. We are pleased that you were able to sample our excellent food in Restaurant Hafnia and again rewarding to note that our emphasis on quality came through loud and clear. I trust that you were able to take full advantage of our location right in the heart of Tórshavn and we very much look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hafnia during your next visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
12
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The best the thing about Hafnia is the central location in Torshavn right between the harbour and the main street. Rooms are OK, but do not expect a lot of space nor any luxury (you would probably not have gone to Torshavn in the first place if you did...). You'll get a fairly modern room with bed, a desk, two chairs and a tv, nothing more. Bathroom is on the small side. The breakfast is nice and typical Scandinavian - eggs, rolls, bread and cereals. WiFi is fast and reliable throughout the hotel. It's not a bad experience and the Faroes are gorgeous, just don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west and you'll get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. I am pleased that you were able to appreciate our location in the heart of the capital and our free Wi-Fi in every room. It is also pleasing to note that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet in the restaurant for early leavers before 07:00h. Our later leavers obviously benefit from our full breakfast service including bacon, scrambled eggs and a wide variety of fruit, yoghurt, bread, cereals, fruit juices, coffee, tea and assorted pastries. As well as the items mentioned in the rooms, every room has a fully stocked mini-bar located in the desk cupboard and wardrobe for clothes, which also contains a beverage tray with kettle and tea/coffee making equipment. Your final tip is excellent and adds to the Faroes experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next visit to our gorgeous islands...Takk Fyri :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

At first sight - the four star rating - looked to be a bit deceiving as the rooms were quite small and bathroom rather old. But pleasantly surprised, the beds were really comfortable, staff extremely friendly and breakfast options were great. Hotel is located in the heart of the town yet veyr quiet. Would recommend staying here if ever one makes to this corner of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are pleased that you discovered the comfort and friendly atmosphere that truly defines our Hotel, On top of that, our location right in the heart of the capital makes Hafnia the most convenient place to stay in order to truly appreciate all that te capital has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hafnia during your next stay in the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in good location in town ctr,close to Tourist office/shops/restaurants.wifi is free & works well.lobby has chairs Internet/printer(free) & cold water fountain.also available are postcards & stamps which can be posted in Reception.Free Buffet Breakfast is good with hot items.ground floor has Kafe Kaspar(lunch/drinks),1st floor is Restaurant Hafnia.excellent dinners & wine list,with attentive staff.also there is a left luggage facility.Rooms are small but well furnished with minibar,flat screen TV & luggage rack,tea/coffee make facilities.bed & pillows are too soft(got extra pillows)Bathroom is awful tiny(needs upgrade)However the truly excellent Reception staff (Tumas,Hildigunn,Fya), friendly & helpful & any problem can be solved & always ready to greet guest & made to feel a Faroese Welcome.Recommended as I spent 4 nights here.also the Airport Shuttle can be booked here conviently.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and extensive review of Hotel Hafnia. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of all of the facilities that we have to offer. Our staff work hard to ensure that you feel at home whilst staying with us so it is always heartwarming to see that they are personally recognised as being attentive to you needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next stay in the Faroe Islands..Tak Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Best part of the hotel is its ideal location...walking distance to anywhere within the town. Rooms are small - typical as anywhere in Europe, but clean. Shops and eating places are close by. Reception staff are friendly.

It will be more ideal if they offer spa services...

Will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are pleased that you were fully able to appreciate the benefit of our central location in the heart of Tórshavn and our friendly staff. We go out of our way to ensure that you enjoy a "home from home" experience. We have noted your comments about spa facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next stay in the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the hotel Hafnia. To begin, the room was very clean. The bed was large and comfortable and there was plenty of pillows. The TV was very large with plenty of good channels. In the bathroom was a lovely walk in shower and lots of towels. There was also plenty of Toiletries in the bathroom cupboard. There was also tea/coffee facilities in the room and a stocked up mini bar. The view from the room was beautiful. I would stay here if I ever went back to the Fareo Islands.
Thanks to all of the staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also very rewarding to hear that you would stay with us again if you come back to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri and Diolch yn fawr! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hafnia is ideally located, comfortable and the service provided from the reception staff could'nt be faulted.

The roof terrace gave a fantasic view over Torshavn.

The Tuesday night seafood buffet was truly superb.

A very happy stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. It is always very rewarding to hear that our efforts to create a welcoming and "home from home" atmosphere are appreciated. I am so pleased that you were able to experience our "legendary" fish buffet and take advantage of our unique position in the heart of Tórshavn to experience the vista from our roof terrace. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hafnia on your next visit to the Faroe Islands....Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hafnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnia

Address: 4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the world’s smallest capital, within walking distance of the harbour and the historical part of town, Surrounded by shops, restaurants and night life. Hotel Hafnia is the perfect setting for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hafnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafnia Hotel tórshavn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.