We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torshavn Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hafnia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hafnia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hafnia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Torshavn
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Torshavn Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in good location in town ctr,close to Tourist office/shops/restaurants.wifi is free & works well.lobby has chairs Internet/printer(free) & cold water fountain.also available are postcards & stamps which can be posted in Reception.Free Buffet Breakfast is good with hot items.ground floor has Kafe Kaspar(lunch/drinks),1st floor is Restaurant Hafnia.excellent dinners & wine list,with attentive staff.also there is a left luggage facility.Rooms are small but well furnished with minibar,flat screen TV & luggage rack,tea/coffee make facilities.bed & pillows are too soft(got extra pillows)Bathroom is awful tiny(needs upgrade)However the truly excellent Reception staff (Tumas,Hildigunn,Fya), friendly & helpful & any problem can be solved & always ready to greet guest & made to feel a Faroese Welcome.Recommended as I spent 4 nights here.also the Airport Shuttle can be booked here conviently.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and extensive review of Hotel Hafnia. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of all of the facilities that we have to offer. Our staff work hard to ensure that you feel at home whilst staying with us so it is always heartwarming to see that they are personally recognised as being attentive to you needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next stay in the Faroe Islands..Tak Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Best part of the hotel is its ideal location...walking distance to anywhere within the town. Rooms are small - typical as anywhere in Europe, but clean. Shops and eating places are close by. Reception staff are friendly.

It will be more ideal if they offer spa services...

Will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are pleased that you were fully able to appreciate the benefit of our central location in the heart of Tórshavn and our friendly staff. We go out of our way to ensure that you enjoy a "home from home" experience. We have noted your comments about spa facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next stay in the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the hotel Hafnia. To begin, the room was very clean. The bed was large and comfortable and there was plenty of pillows. The TV was very large with plenty of good channels. In the bathroom was a lovely walk in shower and lots of towels. There was also plenty of Toiletries in the bathroom cupboard. There was also tea/coffee facilities in the room and a stocked up mini bar. The view from the room was beautiful. I would stay here if I ever went back to the Fareo Islands.
Thanks to all of the staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also very rewarding to hear that you would stay with us again if you come back to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri and Diolch yn fawr! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hafnia is ideally located, comfortable and the service provided from the reception staff could'nt be faulted.

The roof terrace gave a fantasic view over Torshavn.

The Tuesday night seafood buffet was truly superb.

A very happy stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. It is always very rewarding to hear that our efforts to create a welcoming and "home from home" atmosphere are appreciated. I am so pleased that you were able to experience our "legendary" fish buffet and take advantage of our unique position in the heart of Tórshavn to experience the vista from our roof terrace. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hafnia on your next visit to the Faroe Islands....Takk Fyri! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great, comfortable hotel in the centre of the town, not that the town is that big anyhow. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and tidy, though a little on the small side, but hey you don't go to the Faroe's to sit in your hotel room. Breakfast was standard Scandanavian fare but good. I would certainly stay there again.

Overall, excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Hafnia and for your kind words about our staff. It is pleasing to note that our efforts to make Hafnia a "home from home" during your stay are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hafnia when you next visit the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

i was stay there in march 2011 .rooms are so small and beds are small and not comfortable.shower and toilet just separate with a small curtain.they book you double room but you can be surprise when you check in and after if somebody ask them for your room ,they can change your room without any notice. even your clothes and stuff was there they move without your permission .so when you come back to hotel you ask for key with room number but they will say no we change your room.your new room is this this number.i never stay in that hostel!!! again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia, we always welcome your feedback so that we can bathe in the warmness of happy guests, but also so that we can listen to any negative feedback so that we can address any issues and learn from any mistakes. We are sorry that your stay was not up to our usual high standards, however we have noted that none of the above issues were logged either in our reception log during your stay or in our room questionnaire. We also note that the review was written 7 months after your stay. We would like to assure you that any issue addressed to us by our guests is dealt with immediately and to the guests complete satisfaction as part of our internal quality standard. However, please be advised that we would be happy to welcome you back to Hotel Hafnia during your next stay in the Faroe Islands and will endeavour to ensure that your stay is a comfortable and pleasant stay...Takk Fyri :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorshavn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel Hafina is a nice hotel in the middle af Thorshavn. The staff is nice, smiling and helpfull.
I really enjoyed eating in the restaurant, the food was excellent and so were the service provided by he waitress. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hafnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnia

Address: 4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the world’s smallest capital, within walking distance of the harbour and the historical part of town, Surrounded by shops, restaurants and night life. Hotel Hafnia is the perfect setting for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hafnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafnia Hotel tórshavn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hafnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.