We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Foroyar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Foroyar to your Saves list
Hotel Foroyar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oyggjarvegur 45, Torshavn, Streymoy 100, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Certificate of Excellence
Ardnamurchan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Wonderful Faroes hospitality, brilliant surroundings, excellent views, exquisite food - the very best I have ever had anywhere - such care and devotion to style and presentation for the benefit of the customer - Hey! isn't that what a hotel is for?
Price is on the grande side but well worth it and most hotels here are similarly priced.
Staff are so helpful.
Rooms are spacious and eventhough the Irish and Faroese national Footall Teams were stayiong at same time there was peace and quiet throughout the 3 days I was there, I want to go back soon

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    65
    17
    2
    9
See reviews for
14
45
11
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

This hotel has excellently equiped rooms but during our stay, the TV was only showing the three local channels. However, the TV in the Bar (expensive drinks) was working OK especially when the Wolrd Cup football was being shown - coincidence or a money making opportunity!

Be warned, there is only one lift in this four star hotel, between the reception area and the restaurant. If you room is not on the same level as the reception, you will have to use the many steps to get to your room. What makes it even worse is that there is no porter service at this hotel. Not very good for a so called four star hotel. If you have any mobility problems, please make sure that you get a room on the same floor as the reception desk.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

First off, I don't doubt previous reviewers experiences, I can only comment on my own.

But what I will say is that I have learned not to take too much negative comments about hotels too seriously as they can be a bit hit or miss, unless they seem to be comments which have been given a few times by different reviewers. Given some of the previous reviews of this hotel below, it did seem to suggest that a good quality hotel, had taken a turn for the worse.

On arrival my fears were instantly cleared with a very courteous and polite receptionist. There was no deposit taken off me on arrival, maybe this is something that is done when you book through a tour operator and not directly with the hotel. They just took my details and did not deduct me anything. After a short chat, in which she helped me out with whatever queries I had, I was pointed in the direction of my room.

Only a few doors down from the Presidential Suite, where Bill Clinton stayed a few years ago, I opened the door to find a more than pleasant room. You do have to understand that yes this is a four star hotel but maybe the rooms won't be as plush as say a four star in Paris or Milan! But that is in no way to suggest that it is basic. The bed is perhaps one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! There was a shower and bath, both clean and working perfectly. The sink was large and with ample supplies. Even though it was June, the bathroom floor was heated slightly, which was a novel and good touch.

This hotels main selling point is its panoramic view on the moors and hills above Torshavn, of the town and harbour and all around, and it does not disappoint. It really was a most beautiful view and listening to the seabirds and seeing the sheep around the outside of the hotel was a charming touch, which you won't find in most other hotels around the world!

The breakfast buffet, which has come in for some criticism, I found more than ample and what was required for my needs. There was enough there, such as breads, rolls, cheese, tomatoes, yoghurt, pancakes, bacon, etc. The orange and apple juices may not be the premium products you would buy yourself in the supermarket but they are more than satisfactory and it would be nitpicking to say otherwise. A previous reviewer also commented that they found it unsatisfactory that they weren't brought tea or coffee to their table. For me, this is something I would never expect anyway and there was enough hot water, tea and coffee provided to get yourself. As for replenishing of foodstuffs and clearing of tables, you do have to realise that this hotel gets a large amount of tour groups, who come down at once for breakfast and devour more than they would normally at home. This can naturally cause a backlog in staff clearing tables when at the same time they have to prepare food and replenish supplies.

As for the location, I find it hard to believe how it takes anyone 60-70 minutes to walk back up here from town, unless the person is not that young or healthy. For me, it was about a 15 minute walk downhill to the town, maybe a bit longer back, due to going steeply uphill, but the longest it took me back was 25-30 minutes, once I even made it back in 15! There are shorter ways to get to the town! Myself, I walked everytime, but yes, for those who are less mobile or whatever, it may take a taxi or bus trip to get to and from town. Once you are aware of its position on the hill, that is the main thing.

In summation, I had a great time at this hotel. The staff were more than helpful, polite and gracious and I was made to feel at home. The room was very good, the kettle with tea and coffee supplies being replenished everyday was very good also. Waking up every morning to the sound of nature was a change from normal and why I visited these islands. The hotel was modern yet you felt close to nature due to the surroundings, it was a perfect combination.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Great hotel, which has everything one could ask for as regards services - great breakfast provided. Travel agent - Green Gate Incoming - offered hotel as 'in town'. Hotel staff offered that the bus station was 15-20 minutes walk. It takes a walker at least 35 minutes (mostly 40 minutes) to go down the hill to the downtown and station. Return is up the steep hill and takes 60-70 minutes. Hotel has no transportation to offer - except a taxi. Don't get stuck here without transportation. Great view of town and harbor.
They take a HUGE deposit immediately on registering.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel is resting on it's previously acquired laurels.

Upon arrival to the hotel, I found it gloomy and musty smelling. Very dark decor inside. Air-conditioning had taken a holiday somewhere, our non-smoking room reeked of smoke, and piles of cigarette buts outside the window on the ledge. Very very overpriced food and lodging. There was simply no value at all in it. We were server sour applejuice for breakfast, which indicates to me that they lack basic food hygiene standards, and this was also reflected in how dirty the carpets throughout the hotel were. I noted these comments on the departure card, but since nobody from the hotel contacted me to discuss, it's clear that they don't give a toss about any form of service.

It's got stunning views, but this is the only good thing about the place... does not help to look at the view when you're choking on stench and poisoning yourself at breakfast.

I took this personally and will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinakj, PR at Hotel Foroyar, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
My deepest apologies for the breakfast you were served. What you have experienced is not the usual standard of the restaurant. The kitchen does indeed have very high standards both in quality of food and hygiene.

Overpriced food might be quite a common thought amongst visitors in the Faroe Islands. Buying quality food is expensive in the Faroe Islands, since a lot of it comes from abroad. For example are all vegetables imported.

At the time you have visited the hotel, we have been renovating - there might have been somewhat dusty. Of course we should have informed you of this upon check in at the hotel.

If you filled out the "Guest Satisfaction Survey" you can see the results on our website.

We hope you will accept our apologies and visit us again.

Best Regards,
Tina K. Jakobsen
Hotel Føroyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

On Arrival to this hotel it looks quite cute, covered in grass but nothing special. The lobby and rooms are quite nicely decorated and are a decent size but nothing can prepare you for the service (or lack of should i say) that you are about to recieve.. My main problems were with the restaurant. This is a four star hotel, classed on the same level as many major brands Hilton,Marriott ect.. Their restaurant looks like a primary school canteen. ..

It is incredibly DIRTY. So dirty the chairs are so covered in dust that one of our party decided to wipe crumbs off the chair from the previous diner and a cloud of dust rose into the air. This is no dramatisation either. The walls are filthy, the floors are filthy, the tables are filthy, The chairs are covered in old dried up food (only at dinner service do they put tableclothes on and cover up the school tables) This place needs a deep clean for starters.. Il start with breakfast.. Probably one of the worst breakfast buffets i have seen, no choice, items running out and the waiters admitting they didnt order their food properly, No fruit except one orange. hot buffet consists of Boiled eggs still raw inside, scrambled eggs and Hotdog sausage.... No waiter service whatso ever, No milk on tables.. when they say help yourself they really mean help yourself in this place.. They wont even serve you coffee or tea to your table, Orange juice is like orange squash, Waiters are either too lazy to clear your plates away (even not clearing plates away from the last guest) or so quick that i had everything removed from the table including the plate i was eating from before i had finished , left with me still holding the fork in the air.. everything gone.. this guy was so quick me and my partner couldnt help but start laughing as we went to the none exsistent buffet to get another plate and start again.

Dinner... well for everyone who is on Euro and Pound beware this place is so so so expensive we had to miss a few meals so we didnt blow all the money we had. They work in DKK Danish Kroner which works out 8DKK to the£.. Starters are 95DKK -115 DKK Working out about £11 upwards and this is just for a very very small bowl of soup. All main courses are priced at around 255 DKK about £32. You would expect for £32 a very good meal like a top class restaurant in London but its just so average its unbelievable and really puts you off. The hotel thinks it can charge these prices because they have a view over the town buts its really unpleasant, No music on either so its deathly quiet. Wine dont even bother as its 255DKK for a bottle of £3 wine you get in the supermarket in England.. Not much better in town neither extremely over priced but a little bit lighter on the pocket than the Hotel.
Oh and dont ask for a cosmopolitan (its on their drinks menu) no one knew how to make it and even told me they didnt know and left me for 20 mins to find out so at which point i gave up and had tap water instead.

This hotel claims it has a gym,sauna pool etc on the website but as of 11th Aug it is still under construction so dont choose this hotel for these reasons, infact try not to stay here for any reason.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I spent a week on this hotel with a friend. The location is second to none. Competent staff, very helpfull. Nice breakfast and good a la carte restaurant. A quite place with "designed interior". Spacious rooms and bathrooms too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
62 N Airport Hotel
62 N Airport Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foroyar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foroyar

Address: Oyggjarvegur 45, Torshavn, Streymoy 100, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Streymoy > Torshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Foroyar 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a pleasure to welcome you to Hotel Foroyar. No matter whether the purpose of your visit is business or pleasure, having a dinner, spending the night, attending a seminar or a party for 400 guests, we can provide the proper settings. We look forward to making your stay at Hotel Foroyar a pleasant experience worth remembering. We bring back good memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Foroyar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Torshavn
Foroyar Hotel tórshavn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Foroyar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.