We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place and staff. easy to find. good view of harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klaksvik Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klaksvik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Klaksvik Hotel
Save
You added Klaksvik Hotel to your Saves list
Vikavegur 38, Klaksvik, Bordhoy 700, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Klaksvik
traveling cat
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“very nice place and staff. easy to find. good view of harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice stay except for possibly the seagulls who seemed to be outside our window screaming at first light this morning. the bathroom had the one unit fits all but with a shower curtain so it was possible to shower without getting everything wet. The beds were fine as well. Internet was free so always good. Breakfast had a good choice of rolls and cereals and such and some canned fruit to go with the yoghurt. They do serve dinner but not every night and Sunday night was not their night to serve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The north eastern part of the Faroe Islands is very, very pretty!!
I am talking about Vidareidi, Kunoy, Kalsoy and the two tiny islands of Fugloy and Svinoy!
It is too far and too tiring to travel all the way from Tórshavn to the east, discover all the beauties and turn back to Tórshavn the same evening! I really would not recommend that at all! So Hotel Klaksvik is an ideal solution to discover this lovely part of the archipelago.
But: do not expect anything beautiful from this hotel. It is very basic. Rooms are ok, newly furnished. Bathrooms quite nice. Beds really uncomfy, much too soft... The restaurant is not inviting, food didn't inspire me at all. The staff is acceptable but not more. Not very friendly. They just do their job but nothing more. There is a bad smell all around the public areas, really bad...
Klaksvik as a little city is nothing beautiful. Never as charming as Tórshavn. But it makes sense to spend 1 night here in order to discover Vidareidi and Kunoy and Kalsoy in day 1, and on day 2 take the boat from Hvannasund to Fugloy and Svinoy - it is very, very pretty so that you forget about the delusion of Hotel Klaksvik...
Why the hell are there no CUTE, TYPICAL hotels as the Gjáargardur in Gjogv? That is a superb option of Faroese hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Klaksvik hotels

Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is originaly "the seamens home" - a christian driven hotel. Hotel has been renovated. Nice scandinavian style (simple) rooms. Very good bathrooms and a perfect view over the bay/habour.
Standard Scandinavian breakfast: freshly baked bread, cheese, cold cuts, jam, boiled eggs. (included).

Restaurant serves a single type of dinners for a fixed price: can be wonderful buffet with several roasts, cold cuts, smoked salmon..... or a simple "daily food at home" serving + dessert. There are few other choises in Klaksvik.

The Christian background means no alcohol served.

Of course there is free WifFi internet. Lots of parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel is clean, spartan, but central to the wharf. On the other hand nothing is far in Klaksvik. The lady at the front desk was more than nice and the lady who perpared the room also appeared eager to make us feel good. Parking is limited (as far as we could tell) to the area in front of the hotel but we did OK. I would recommend this hotel. In you are going to the Faroe Islands you are not going for high end travel in the first place and this hotel will meet your needs. The rooms are clean, a little drab, but perform all the functions a hotel room should. Ask for a room with a view of the harbor. It is worth the wait. There is a sign on the front door waying "Tourists welcome". I think they meant it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in early August. The hotel was very easy to find, even though it is in the 2nd largest city in the Faroe Islands. Easy parking at the front of the building and a level walk into the hotel to be greeted by friendly staff at reception.
Check-in was efficient and our room was very clean with a big bathroom and a lovely view of the harbour from both rooms. Plenty of towels and a bathmat. Dinner was very nice, but our biggest surprise was to see a toaster at the breakfast buffet, so we had our first pieces of toast in 4 days!! The rest of the buffet was very good as well, with the usual things like juices, cold meats, cheese, eggs, cereals, bread and tea or coffee. Staff were attentive on check-out, even making sure we headed off in the right direction to our next destination.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and the big bathroom.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I actually ended up in Hotel Klaksvik because I had to escape from the place I had booked before, which was the Hostel "Soli deo Gloria". That one is cheap but instead of being below average it is beyond imagination - a terrible place! But coming to Hotel Klaksvik... already the reception area gives a very good impression. The communal areas appear to be newly refurbished and nicely decorated with candles and flowers. The staff was incredibly friendly and caring. I booked a room with shared facilities (the shower was downstairs, which was a bit weird BUT I have hardly ever seen such a tidy and clean shower room but in much more expensive places). I found the breakfast decent and absolutely delicious. The hotel offers a great view on the bay of Klaksvik and is quite close to shops and one of the very few cafes and restaurants in this city. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — shower was three floors down - but again: very very clean and nice
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
325 hotel reviews
Reviews in 296 cities Reviews in 296 cities
917 helpful votes 917 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

This is the best hotel in Klaksvik, the second largest city in the Faroes.

I stayed here because it was close to the dive outfit I was diving with. Otherwise, there's little to do in Klaksvik.

The hotel is old but some floors have been re-done with fresh carpets in the corridors and in the rooms. The rooms are large, light and airy and have a vaguely institutional feel. But there are excellent views if you get a room facing the sea. Some rooms don't have toilets or showers and these are found in the corridor and kept as clean as the guests that use them keep them. I didn't get maid service during the two nights I stayed here. The bathroom is large and has a small sink, toilet and shower with no separate stall-just a shower curtain you wrap around it to prevent water from flying around the bathroom.

Breakfast is included in the price. They do a decent lunch buffet on Saturdays and a set lunch the other days. In the evening you can get cold cuts until 8 PM. The food is not that good and vegetarians will not have much to eat. The staff are friendly though and will try and rustle up some bread and cheese you can eat.

There is no Internet access and no phones in the rooms. Alcohol is not allowed.

It's a 2.5 hour bus ride from the airport. The bus station is a ten minute walk from the hotel. Look for the big blue building on a hill.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klaksvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaksvik Hotel

Address: Vikavegur 38, Klaksvik, Bordhoy 700, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Bordhoy > Klaksvik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Klaksvik
Number of rooms: 272

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klaksvik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.