We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place and staff. easy to find. good view of harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klaksvik Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klaksvik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Klaksvik Hotel
Save
You added Klaksvik Hotel to your Saves list
Vikavegur 38, Klaksvik, Bordhoy 700, Faroe Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Klaksvik
traveling cat
Level Contributor
292 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“very nice place and staff. easy to find. good view of harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice stay except for possibly the seagulls who seemed to be outside our window screaming at first light this morning. the bathroom had the one unit fits all but with a shower curtain so it was possible to shower without getting everything wet. The beds were fine as well. Internet was free so always good. Breakfast had a good choice of rolls and cereals and such and some canned fruit to go with the yoghurt. They do serve dinner but not every night and Sunday night was not their night to serve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carpefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The north eastern part of the Faroe Islands is very, very pretty!!
I am talking about Vidareidi, Kunoy, Kalsoy and the two tiny islands of Fugloy and Svinoy!
It is too far and too tiring to travel all the way from Tórshavn to the east, discover all the beauties and turn back to Tórshavn the same evening! I really would not recommend that at all! So Hotel Klaksvik is an ideal solution to discover this lovely part of the archipelago.
But: do not expect anything beautiful from this hotel. It is very basic. Rooms are ok, newly furnished. Bathrooms quite nice. Beds really uncomfy, much too soft... The restaurant is not inviting, food didn't inspire me at all. The staff is acceptable but not more. Not very friendly. They just do their job but nothing more. There is a bad smell all around the public areas, really bad...
Klaksvik as a little city is nothing beautiful. Never as charming as Tórshavn. But it makes sense to spend 1 night here in order to discover Vidareidi and Kunoy and Kalsoy in day 1, and on day 2 take the boat from Hvannasund to Fugloy and Svinoy - it is very, very pretty so that you forget about the delusion of Hotel Klaksvik...
Why the hell are there no CUTE, TYPICAL hotels as the Gjáargardur in Gjogv? That is a superb option of Faroese hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Klaksvik hotels

Denmark
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is originaly "the seamens home" - a christian driven hotel. Hotel has been renovated. Nice scandinavian style (simple) rooms. Very good bathrooms and a perfect view over the bay/habour.
Standard Scandinavian breakfast: freshly baked bread, cheese, cold cuts, jam, boiled eggs. (included).

Restaurant serves a single type of dinners for a fixed price: can be wonderful buffet with several roasts, cold cuts, smoked salmon..... or a simple "daily food at home" serving + dessert. There are few other choises in Klaksvik.

The Christian background means no alcohol served.

Of course there is free WifFi internet. Lots of parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel is clean, spartan, but central to the wharf. On the other hand nothing is far in Klaksvik. The lady at the front desk was more than nice and the lady who perpared the room also appeared eager to make us feel good. Parking is limited (as far as we could tell) to the area in front of the hotel but we did OK. I would recommend this hotel. In you are going to the Faroe Islands you are not going for high end travel in the first place and this hotel will meet your needs. The rooms are clean, a little drab, but perform all the functions a hotel room should. Ask for a room with a view of the harbor. It is worth the wait. There is a sign on the front door waying "Tourists welcome". I think they meant it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reed2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in early August. The hotel was very easy to find, even though it is in the 2nd largest city in the Faroe Islands. Easy parking at the front of the building and a level walk into the hotel to be greeted by friendly staff at reception.
Check-in was efficient and our room was very clean with a big bathroom and a lovely view of the harbour from both rooms. Plenty of towels and a bathmat. Dinner was very nice, but our biggest surprise was to see a toaster at the breakfast buffet, so we had our first pieces of toast in 4 days!! The rest of the buffet was very good as well, with the usual things like juices, cold meats, cheese, eggs, cereals, bread and tea or coffee. Staff were attentive on check-out, even making sure we headed off in the right direction to our next destination.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and the big bathroom.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I actually ended up in Hotel Klaksvik because I had to escape from the place I had booked before, which was the Hostel "Soli deo Gloria". That one is cheap but instead of being below average it is beyond imagination - a terrible place! But coming to Hotel Klaksvik... already the reception area gives a very good impression. The communal areas appear to be newly refurbished and nicely decorated with candles and flowers. The staff was incredibly friendly and caring. I booked a room with shared facilities (the shower was downstairs, which was a bit weird BUT I have hardly ever seen such a tidy and clean shower room but in much more expensive places). I found the breakfast decent and absolutely delicious. The hotel offers a great view on the bay of Klaksvik and is quite close to shops and one of the very few cafes and restaurants in this city. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — shower was three floors down - but again: very very clean and nice
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank a-zonemaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
745 reviews
357 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,061 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

This is the best hotel in Klaksvik, the second largest city in the Faroes.

I stayed here because it was close to the dive outfit I was diving with. Otherwise, there's little to do in Klaksvik.

The hotel is old but some floors have been re-done with fresh carpets in the corridors and in the rooms. The rooms are large, light and airy and have a vaguely institutional feel. But there are excellent views if you get a room facing the sea. Some rooms don't have toilets or showers and these are found in the corridor and kept as clean as the guests that use them keep them. I didn't get maid service during the two nights I stayed here. The bathroom is large and has a small sink, toilet and shower with no separate stall-just a shower curtain you wrap around it to prevent water from flying around the bathroom.

Breakfast is included in the price. They do a decent lunch buffet on Saturdays and a set lunch the other days. In the evening you can get cold cuts until 8 PM. The food is not that good and vegetarians will not have much to eat. The staff are friendly though and will try and rustle up some bread and cheese you can eat.

There is no Internet access and no phones in the rooms. Alcohol is not allowed.

It's a 2.5 hour bus ride from the airport. The bus station is a ten minute walk from the hotel. Look for the big blue building on a hill.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaksvik
0.0 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaksvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaksvik Hotel

Address: Vikavegur 38, Klaksvik, Bordhoy 700, Faroe Islands
Location: Faroe Islands > Bordhoy > Klaksvik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Klaksvik
Number of rooms: 272

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing