We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malata Bar and Restaurant

Malata Bar and Restaurant
St Georges Palace Square, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT1190, Malta
21233967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 162 Restaurants in Valletta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We loved the lunch. We had seafood pasta and seafood risotto. We sat outside although it was a bit chilly, but since we are Swedes we love the sun in the winter. The food was absolutely great. Fresh and tasty! Nice place to spot other people. Great staff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    99
    27
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta
2 reviews
“Excellent as always!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Been visiting this restaurant for a while usually for lunches and have left satisfied every time.. Attentive staff and very fresh and well prepared food, unique location.. Linguini shellfish are a dream. Thanks, Keep it up!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Many spices and long wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food is very spicy.
The restaurant is very small. I went to the bathroom and saw the waiters with dirty hands preparing desserts.Also the manager seems is always stressed. I did not like the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Malata's setting is lovely year round - walk down some steep steps into a very cosy, intimate restaurant in winter and in summer (which is long in Malta!) you sit outdoors in the most magnificent and very grand square. The service is friendly and attentive and the food (French theme) is wonderful. Wonderful carpaccio of swordfish and tuna with a lemon olive oil dressing, Tournedos with foie gras sauce, fish with delicious lemon ad parsley sauce are some dishes I would recommend. There are also daily specials. It's rare in Malta that a restaurant manages to consistently deliver on atmosphere, food and especially service. Malata so far has delivered every time I've visited.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

An exelent place in the heart of Valletta. Superb food, good prices and the service was friendly and fast! We highly recommend this place!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malata Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Malata Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malata Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.