We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Pippo Trattoria

Da Pippo Trattoria
136, Melita Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2124 8029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 162 Restaurants in Valletta
Price range: $0 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

certainly a place for the locals, hardly any tourists great pasta dishes, small noisy trattoria style restaurant where everyone seems to know everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    17
    3
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Double check your bill before paying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

It may have been my foreign accent that offered the temptation to overcharge and deliver us a bill that was not itemized. Upon my inquiry, the owner provided a lame excuse and could not account for the extra charges (something about the food being especially fresh?!?). It is too bad because the food was actually delightful. Also, when attempting to pay by credit card, I was told that they preferred if I paid in cash. Something's fishy and I don't think it's the calamari....

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

the restaurant is way too expensive compared to even much better restaurants in malta. we paid for seebass 22.50 each and the fish was not that good. as sidedish we had burned patatoes. i had the feeling that foreigners got a "special price" marked through a white table cloth. I dont recommend this restaurant..go to jubilee which is located on the parallel street, much cheaper, better and very good service..

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Malta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

What an amazing hidden spot. No menu, just trust the waiter. The complementary appetizers were outstanding, as were the main course, dessert and wine recommendations. No wonder locals keep it to themselves.

We paid 50 EUR in total,

Make sure to book a table in advance so you don't miss out on this fantastic experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not what we look for in a restaurant - we love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

It's noisy, it's cramped, it's hectic, there are no menus, the waiters run around at high speed, they plonk wee dishes of starters you didn't expect on your table, and it's a bit pricey, but we love it.
To us it's genuine Malta - all a bit hectic and random, but somehow seems to work.
So leave your British expectations at the door and get stuck in.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Pippo Trattoria also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Da Pippo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Pippo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.