We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed for a week to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday, and what a stay it was. The staff were overfriendly, the suite was beyond excellent, and so was the breakfast buffet which served a full English breakfast as well as continental.

Visiting Malta proved to be great and it was inexpensive. But surprising me and my other half was the generosity of the hotel management who left a free bottle of wine, two glasses in our room, and a birthday signed by most of the staff.

Regardless of the negative reviews we loved it and would come back.

A truly ten out of ten.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    639
    248
    90
    40
See reviews for
313
960
105
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just come back from a week at this hotel. I booked this trip back in June last year and was a bit concerned by the very mix reviews for this hotel. Thankfully I was proved wrong. I booked a deluxe room facing the entrance of the hotel. The room was very spacious, and quiet. The breakfast buffet was big and superb. There was a chef there who would cook ommlettes if you want one, which they did for my boyfriend. Was quicky shown to the table. One tip is to leave your room card on the table. Found the staff courteous and efficient during our stay at the hotel. I see reviews about taxis, evern though the hotel has it own taxi service. There are local taxis you can get outside the Phoenica Hotel just up the road.

We did tend eat out for the evenings in central Valletta and there a couple of eateries there. Then we have drink in the hotel bar, some nights you either have singer, a guitarist, or pianoist

We also used the local buses to visit temples/museums and other towns by paying for a day ticket 1euro 50. Which you can use on any bus during the day. Great value and get see more of Malta.

One of the highlights of this trip was surprise bithday card signed by the staff of the hotel and a bottle of wine. I never told the hotel about my birthday, I think it was my passport. I thought this was a really lovely touch to our stay.

Yes there may some cracked bathroom tiles, and yes it is a tad dated but does not distract the enjoyable time spent here.

On our last day, the loo was blocked and the maintenace man was round within 30mins and the staff helped us when our airport shuttle- which was a service run by the airport and not the hotel- was running late, the hotel spoke to the shuttle service to chase them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just spent an interesting and enjoyable week at 'The Excelsior'. It is ideally situated to explore Malta being only a ten minute ( or two minute complimenary hotel coach ride ) walk from the central bus station; and the same distance from the sights of Valetta. The buses at the bargain basement weekly season ticket price of 6.50 Euros enable you to visit any part of the island easily in the day. Our super double room,with partial sea view was spacious and comfortable and commanded a pleasant view of the harbour and the town beyond. The breakfast and evening buffets were both extensive and tasty. THe evening buffet.is reasonably priced at 30.0 euros per head. Maltese wines which we found to be very drinkable are also fairly priced from about 12 Euros.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Perfect location for exploring this island, we went for New Year and it was lovely way to start 2014!! A beautiful kept hotel, with a great pool and sun terrace. We were lucky with some lovely warm weather.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this hotel while visiting Malta. The hotel puts up a pretty good front: The outside looks grand, the lobby is huge with a bar, there is a concierge and transportation assistant, etc. But when it comes down to the nitty gritty, this hotel falls short. The breakfast buffet offered a large variety of items which were very good, but the servers could not handle the amount of people who came to eat breakfast (there was a convention while we stayed there). The host, a gentleman in his 50 or 60s, looked very harried and was not very pleasant. One morning, returning to our table after getting our food, we noticed that someone was sitting at the table we had been given. The host looked frustrated, did not apologize and led us to a different table without saying a word. We heard him "yelling" at the servers at times. The coffee service was poor--it was hard to get someone to come to the table to fill our cups. The drinks and appetizers at the bar were very overpriced compared to the local restaurants. We used the car service once, but found it was almost double the price of the local taxis. We had a couples massage--it you could call it that--it was really just someone rubbing oil on us. Our room was advertised as having a "private balcony." There was nothing private about it. In fact, one time we went out on the balcony and noticed our ash tray was missing. We saw it two balconies down, which means the people in that room walked over the balcony railings and took our ashtray. The rooms also need to be updated. There was no outlet in the bathroom, so I had to blow dry my hair in the main room. At the end, when we checked out, we had a discrepancy on our bill regarding the telephone. The manager was not helpful. I emailed the general manager and never got a reply. I would recommend staying in St Julian, not here--we were very disappointed. Don't be fooled by the pictures!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Have stayed at the Excelsior several times and for weeks at a time. The hotel is very comfortable. The personnel are an asset displaying all that is good about Malta. The serving staff in the morning are experienced, energetic and greet you with a genuine welcome. The staff in the lobby are well trained and sensitive. The cleaning team gets the job done. It must be recognized that this is a hotel in a mostly holiday resort - it is not New York, London or Hong Kong where the standard of expectation is that of full pay business traveler. The environment is relaxed, spacious and still exceedingly good. The hotel has a great vista over the Marsamxett Harbour, overlooking marinas and a good bit of history. The outside pool is large and even in prime season not overwhelmingly crowded. Swimming in the sea is possible and a delight. Other times in the year, there is a beautiful indoor pool. The rooms are spacious and up to date. All rooms have an interesting view. As another comment has said, the carpet cleaning could be better managed. Food is very good. The chefs at breakfast are friendly and accommodating. Snack service is good and dinner during the week is delightful. The hotel's Sunday buffet has a very good reputation on the Island. Consequently, it is very well attended and represents a venue for local family celebrations. There may be quieter alternatives on the Island. The hotel's location is almost uniquely great: it offers great walking access to Valletta with an increasingly diverse restaurant population of very good and value cuisine. Floriana enables easy transport to anywhere in the Island. The hotel area is always quiet. Like children, Sliema, St Julian's and Paceville can be seen but not heard. All in all, an excellent base for a visit to Malta.

Room Tip: Do not be deterred by lower floor rooms. Cooler in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent 5 nights here in two Executive rooms on a high floor with different harbour views. Albeit that the first views of the outside are unprepossessing, the rooms were fine- decently spacious, comfortable and everything worked. Decent WiFi in rooms. Buffet breakfast was extensive but the quality wasn't top notch in our opinion- certainly not good enough to tempt us to eat evening meals at the hotel. We tend to expect this in hotels and generally prefer to eat out. Service was generally pretty decent too- for example our car was almost always at the door by the time we got downstairs; the delightful lady at reception who helped us with our online check-in since their business room was closed, and the charming turn -down lady who when complimented on the bedside chocolates, left a few extras for my wife. Against that, the concierge was unhelpful , preoccupied and miserable, which we thought a strange combination on attributes for his position!

Should say also, as others have, that the walk up to the old city involves almost 100 steps and a bit of uphill thereafter. We did this walk several times and sometimes wished it were level. There is another way to walk there, along the harbour edge and then up steps into town. We tended to prefer that because of the better views- the climb's no less. A word of warning -they play Perry Como music at breakfast! Possibly it hurries people along a bit and frees up tables.

So, in our view this is a decent hotel where most things and most people do their jobs pretty well. Its not 5* in the sense of extraordinary luxury. But it is worthwhile and (fortunately) looks nicer on the inside that it looks at first glance from the outside.

Room Tip: High floors cost more, but get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear DavidHBerkshire

May I take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. All comments have been noted and shared with other team members. Such feedback is important as it helps us to continuously improve our levels of service and enhance the guest experience.

With regards the walkup to the City please note that we do offer a complimentary transfer to and from Valletta at 10am and 6pm.

We do look forward to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.