We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Romantic 3 Night Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Short Romantic 3 Night Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We chose the Grand Hotel Excelsior because of its location to Valetta the capital and also because of its position overlooking the natural harbour. And we were not disappointed!!

The hotel staff were very welcoming and everyone appeared happy in their job which is really important for first impressions.

Our room was ready mid afternoon, but we left our luggage with the concierge, changed into swimwear and headed for the pool area. There was absolutely no problem getting a sunbed and this is peak season, neither was their an issue getting drinks.

We did book a sea view room which was lovely, but is by no means essential. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need (you do have to ask for an iron though).

In the evening we normally eat out, but the outdoor restaurant by the pool / harbour was recommended and we were not disappointed. The staff knew their wines and especially the local fish which is freshly caught that day. Each day can be different depending on the catch. It is not very priced at all and is one of the better hotel meals we have experienced. I would recommend having an evening meal here, especially if the wind is not strong.

The prices of drinks in the hotel for beer and wine is very reasonable, a little higher for spirits but this is a five star hotel.

If there was anything that could be improved, it would be the sunbeds. Padded sunbeds in a 5 star hotel are the finishing touch, but this was the only fault we could find, if you can call it a fault.

If you like to try the local delicacies which happen to be rabbit in Malta, then go to the village of Mgarr (20 minutes in a cab and approx 30€ each way) but for €35 a couple for a meal with wine and starter is a bargain and the food is amazing. But travel their after 7.30pm and get your cab to pick you up around 10.30pm.

A warm welcome will await you at the Excelsior for a night cap.

Pa. The on,y hotel I have been to where the pool staff wipe the tops of the bins with disinfectant wipes...!!

Great hotel in a great position for a romantic break.

Room Tip: sea view rooms at higher number are closer to the sea further from the main hotel. No need to get up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    637
    248
    89
    40
See reviews for
312
958
104
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay after staying in Gozo for 2 weeks. We wanted to stay nearer to the airport & Valetta. This hotel is perfect if you want to be able to walk into Valetta. The service was very good apart from when we checked out for an early morning flight. We had been told that there would be a light breakfast available at reception as we had to leave at 6.30 am and breakfast started then. Word of warning don't pay for breakfast if you have an early morning flight as we were greeted by a rude receptionist and the breakfast available was cold tea, orange
juice and 4 tiny croissants for the 4 of us! The concierge were very helpful and the beauty salon manager who fitted me in for a manicure the day we arrived which was a real treat! The rooms were very clean and the pool area is lovely with stunning views across the harbour. We would definitely go back for a short stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've never stayed at this hotel but I've dined there about five times. The food at all the restaurants is wonderful, but what amazes me most every time is the service. Last Thursday I dined at Tiki and I cannot praise the staff enough - knowledgeable about the food, courteous, helpful and efficient. They are truly a gem to be envied by all other hotel and restaurant owners. Well done!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have a very young family and stayed here for over a week.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, with beautiful views.
There were a couple of things that we needed to either have 'fixed' or requested and the service staff helped immediately with such pleasure to do so.
They resolved an internet issue that we had with brilliant resolution.
They even provided some baby related items when we needed them.

The pro's:
We loved the water provided every day.
The hotel is very clean.

The only negative is that the main pool hours are between 9am-6pm.
We found this too restrictive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at the start of my holiday then went to Gozo for a few days and then came back to the Excelsior before flying out.

Rooms are spacious. Breakfast has good variety but the coffee and tea are terrible. The pool area is nice and the waiting staff are quite attentive.

The problem during both times was the manners of the staff at reception and concierge. This was particularly a problem during check-in. It was a hot day coming back from Gozo and we were eager to get into our room and rest but our room was not ready at check-in time. We were asked to wait. We kept going back to the desk only to be told with a very bad attitude that there was nothing they could do and we should sit down and wait and that they would come and get us. How is it that there's nothing they could do? What they CAN do is make sure the room is ready at the check-in time and if it is not ready then at least offer us a cold drink while we wait.

Unfortunately it only takes for a few of these small things to ruin your opinion of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Nikolinak5

Dear Nikolinak5

Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with Trip Advisor users. Whilst noting with satisfaction your comments in relation to the lavish breakast and our Deluxe Rooms we are disappointed to note that our staff at the reception at the time of your arrival were not helpful. The hotel invests a lot in customer experience training and such a situation is not acceptable. We are fully committed to exceed our guests' expectations during their entire stay. I will be sending you a private message with my email address and would really appreciate if you could give more details on the matter. I can assure you that this matter will be investigated and corrective action will be taken.

In the meantime we look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the near future.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I returned back to the hotel after five years to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We came to the hotel excelsior for our honeymoon and wanted to come back as we enjoyed it so much. I am pleased to say that we were definitely not disappointed. We decided to contact the hotel directly to inform them of us celebrating our anniversary whilst we were out there and had quick response from Priscilla who informed us that they would up grade our room from to a side sea view room from a standard room and put flowers, chocolates and sparkling wine ready for our arrival. The room itself was lovely (carpet could need a little freshen up) but all in all fantastic. We then went out onto the balcony and was so pleased with the view as it was fantastic seeing the harbour and pool area.

The hotel since 2008 when we last visited had not changed massively, however it had the Tiki bar as a new addition. We spent most evenings sitting having relaxing drinks looking out onto the harbour after an evening of strolling round beautiful Valletta. On our last evening there was a superb young man playing a guitar which was lovely and just wished that entertainment like that had been more, but neither the less we still enjoyed the relaxing surroundings. We did eat in the Tikki bar one evening and found this excellent value and the food and service was fantastic.

As a avid sunbathers we found the pool just as fantastic as we remembered and enjoyed watching the boats going by. There was more families at the hotel then last time but was not over crowded nor annoying (quite enjoyed watching the kids have fun). The pool staff were amazing and was always on hand to get loungers, umbrellas or tables. The girls who delivered the drinks were so polite and friendly nothing was ever any trouble (Donna was great).

The hotel was extremely cleaned and tidy and in excellent condition for the amount of holiday makers it has through its doors.

We absolutely love this hotel and are already looking forward to coming back again next year.

Well done to all staff and thank you for making our anniversary like our second honeymoon!!

Room Tip: Choose a side sea view room instead of a standard. And if possible ask for a pool view room as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lovely hotel in great location. Staff very pleasant and we were upgraded on arrival. Rooms very clean (carpet had slight stains but nothing major) Food very good and pool area clean and tidy.No issues with sunbeds either! Very quiet hotel-no chavvy people/noisy teenagers ! Housekeeping very good (our daughter was ill in the night and sick) Maid came after midnight, changed the bedding and nothing was too much trouble. We had no complaints at all -Judge on your own experiences. People have differing opinions of things.Overheard one guy complaining to a waiter at breakfast that he had only been offered one type of tea and that it was discusting. Get a life!! A really great stay and everything you would expect from a higher end hotel. Would definitely stay again (hoping to next year infact!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.