We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for a week in July and was very happy with the hotel. We had a standard room with no balcony, as the sea view rooms were a little too expensive for us. The room itself was large and luxurious, we had a view of some plants and little trees which was fine out of the big window. There were fresh flowers in the room upon arrival and towel sculptures with rose petals on the king size bed. You get complimentary bottles of water every day along with a complimentary newspaper.

There is free wifi which is accessible in the reception area and restaurants, and even by the pool. Some rooms will have wifi access but the rooms towards the ends of the building won't.

Maids came daily to change towels and bedding and tidy up, you can opt out of having your bed sheets and towels changed daily (which we did) as it is a bit unnessasary.

The breakfast was a buffet with wide range of items; I am a fussy eater and I enjoyed the breakfasts every morning. Juice, tea and coffee are free, however latte's, cappuchino's etc I noticed they charged for.

The pool area was fantastic, large pool with waiters walking around ready to bring you drinks. There is a little man made beach for you to use, and swimming in the sea was lovely. Best of both worlds, beach and pool area. Plenty of sunbeds and umberellas and the best view out over the harbour. Pool area was the best thing for us about the hotel, it was beautiful.

There were 2 weddings whilst we were there and the pool area closes at 7pm, so they start to bring out tables for the weddings (around the pool area) around 6pm. They don't tell anyone to move or get in your way, It really was not a problem. We had a room around the back of the hotel so I don't know if it would be noisy at night with a wedding if you were in a pool view/sea view room.

Staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for you. Prices are a bit expensive in the bar so we only had a couple of drinks there. The restaurants are also pricey so we ate in Valletta every night.

Valletta's centre is 5 minutes walk, however as the hotel is on a sloping hill there are approx. 80 steps from reception to the road. They are gradual and not all in one big block and there is a road that you can walk up to the side that cars use to access the hotel. We didn't find it a problem.

One critism would be that you can't order a taxi from the reception, you have to use one of their cars which are expensive.

Will definately return to Malta and will definately be staying in this hotel again.

Please message me if you need to know anything else.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Cheryl2105,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your experiences at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. It is great to read the personal service offered by our team. Our objective is to make our esteemed guests experience the hospitality of the Maltese people and get to know our guests as much as possible. This explains why a very good number of our guests come back to the Excelsior.

With regards your comments on the frontal steps leading to the hotel, kindly note that we do offer shuttle service to Valletta at 10am and 6pm.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    639
    248
    90
    40
See reviews for
313
960
105
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

For a five star property this hotel is a disappointment, the hotel overlooks a huge pool area, which has regular functions and weddings, although one can always move rooms to the back of the hotel with no view, after listening to a noisy wedding for several hours, that is not a five star operation. Whilst the hotel management tried to address a series of problems over two days, I think overall this was a very average example of a five star operation. I left my stay early, due to numerous issues. It maybe insignificant, but to arrive in a hotel and be given a fruit basket complimentary is welcome, however to have the basket removed next day, and replaced by an identical basket as an apology ( management gesture) , for a poor & noisy night is just poor service... This was only one of many examples of falling short of five stars...

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Markqn1

It is very disappointing to read a review which shows that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. I can understand your frustration vis-a-vis the fact that the fruit basket was removed from your room without your consent. This was done in order to avoid any unpleasant smells in your room, as the hot Mediterranean weather can spoil non refrigerated food very quickly.

With regards the outdoor weddings kindly note that the hotel has a very strict policy so as to ensure that our hotel guests are not disturbed. The music level has to be reduced by 1130pm and completely switched off by midnight.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to host you at the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our third visit and we were not disappointed. The hotel gets better and better, we enjoyed the pool and beach facilities, used the marina as the start of a day out and ate in the Admirals Landing, the Asian themed buffet certainly come up to expectations. Although this is a very big hotel there are sufficient staff to ensure that there is a good level of service and we found the food teams particularly impressive.

Room Tip: Upper Floors have better views if you are in the executive rooms as some rooms on the lower floors f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Marple Traveller,

We sincerely thank you for the review and it is always great to welcome back a repeat guest. Perhaps it is the best motivator to our team, as it shows trust and appreciation towards the hotel. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Well worth paying extra for the fantastic harbour views. Room very spacious, air con fantastic. Pool great, lovely setting. Loads of choice for breakfast. Had a good meal at the Tiki Bar. Try the Long Island Iced Tea....

Room Tip: Sea view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely room on the 9th floor for my one night stay. Great views across the harbour, definitely worth paying extra for if you are a staying for a few nights. Room was very spacious and bed comfortable. I checked in at 3am and left at 9am so didn't get chance to experience the whole hotel but I did have breakfast which was very good, lots of choice of hot and cold food. Also great views over the harbour from the breakfast room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammarö
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel and we had high expectations, unfortuntely they where not fulfilled. The location is good since we wanted to explore Valetta and the pool area with its beach was good, but 5 star hotel? It takes much more than that, compared to other 5 star hotel we have stayed at we would rather say 4.

When it comes to Tiki bar, this was a great disapointment. Wonderful sorroundings but unexperienced, and in some cases not service minded, personnel made it to a bad experience. Our feeling was that the personnel where students just doing it to get some extra salary or something.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Kent N,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your review. It is very disappointing to note that we did not exceed your expectations and appreciate if you could email me more details so that our Operations team can investigate in more detail and implement any corrective actions. My email address is brian.bartolo@excelsior.com.mt.

With regards your comment on our team members, kindly note that we have a mix of established professionals and young people who have just commenced their career in the hospitality industry. All new recruits undergo extensive induction training so as to ensure that they meet our high standards of service. During our low and shoulder months, refresh training courses are conducted by our Human Resources department. In the meantime we conduct ongoing customer surveys are conducted in order to identify any particular issues. Trip Advisor feedback is also an essential feedback tool which we take very seriously.

I look forward for your comments and hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior to make up for any shortfalls you experienced.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent hotel, very good service, but avoid dinner at the pool restaurant "Tiki", ok for drinks. Hotel car drivers are excellent. Wee rented a hotel taxi for apr. 6-7 hours to see different locations, he was very polite and gave us interesting information.

Room Tip: de lux or better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.