We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short holiday in Malta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Short holiday in Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've just returned from a 5 night stay at the hotel with my daughter and 5 year old grand daughter. Hotel seemed very smart, room spacious but ours was on level 1, convenient for pool but looked out onto a high wall. As it was at ground level we didn't feel we could leave the balcony doors open at night. As a esult it was very hot at night and the A/C a bit too noisy for comfort. Also there was strong smell of tobacco smoke in the room, despoite there never having been smoking allowed in there, according to reception! We saw cigarette end on the balcony floor, presumably tossed down from higher up. I was told that as they were 80% full we could not change rooms. They were obviously not keen to allow us to occupy a higher priced room. Unlike another review, mineral water had to be paid for apart from the initial bottles. Was this because we booked through Low Cost Holidays .com? On the positive side, breakfasts were excellent with huge choice. Location close to town and bus station also very handy. Pool very good but agree about high chlorine level. This gave my grand daughter a rash.

Room Tip: Higher level and sea view better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    699
    270
    96
    41
See reviews for
348
1,029
114
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I enjoyed one night as a tourist here before I had another working at a conference. With the rate I got personally, I thought it excellent value and I made the most of the little beach to swim in the sea and lounge by the pool. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The restaurant service was fairly slow and I had to ask specifically for a table with a view. The food was well-prepared.
It's a big help to be so close to Valetta town centre, and also near to the EUR1.50 ferry to Sliema on the other side of the harbour.
In hosting a session at the conference, I appreciated plenty of support and attention from the hotel in helping me set up just as I wanted.

Room Tip: The cheaper rate room I had on the first night was cooler, quieter and more conducive to a good nigh...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

hotel is grand, a lot of conferencies and official venues are held here, so "real" tourists in shorts might find themselves a bit strange. But otherwise everything is perfect. Location is great,bus station and Vallettta itself are some 10 minutes walk away , including climbing steps (that might be a problem for elderly). Rooms are comfortable, some refurbishing is already needed, service inpecable (room service comes before evening and makes your bed, free supply of mineral water). Wide choise for breakfast, eggs-omlettes-pancakes made to your choise, smoked salmon and swordfish, everybody can find something to suit his taste. We didn't try dinner. Pool area nicely located with superb view over the harbour, access to sea swimming. Indoor pool a bit too chlorinated and jacuzzi too cold. Wifi works very well in public areas. We had a room upgrade as Ipreffer members, got welcome wine bottle /fruit basket and farewell drinks. Overall very satisfied with our stay of 4 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Well it looks great from outside with a stunning views and great location but hotel room need more maintainace we spent 4 nights with almost hot air condition and every night we complain but still is hot .
The reception was not helpful for directions and advices regarding an interisting places in Malta with no maps available * go and buy one from a gift shop * ? !
Overall it was a good experience but may be next time I chose another place to stay .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Well if you have to have a 3 day conference in the middle of the snow in UK - then the Excelsior in Malta makes a great choice. Reasonably quiet as was just before the Easter holidays both in the hotel and in Valetta which is a comfortable 10 min walk away. Location was excellent and the room "superior sea view" was really comfortable. I found the conference room (windowless with a low ceiling) a little claustrophic - on the other hand I suspect that if it had the view from my room I would have spent a lot of time gazing out!
Well recommended - must go back when it is all a little warmer

Room Tip: Go for sea view - was on floor 4 and that was really convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 5 days at The Excelsior La valletta - Malta well it was quite good, I mean the interior decoration and the architecture of the building as such wer of our taste but it was quite comfortable, we had a spacious room with a 180° sea /pool view the AC was efficient and almost silent, the staff very professional and helpfull, the cuisine, well it was very much OK the buffet changed every day and teh waiting staff did relly take good care of the guests. I have enjoyed the 24/7 indoor swimingpool and gym. Its situation on the city's topology was perfect, one can walk everywhere and it(s also near the main bus terminal. We've used one of the hotel's chuaffeur driven estate car to tour the island, he was a local "boy", very professional and very useful as a guide?Well We had a good relaxing time in "cute" Malta.
I do not know about the other hotels But this one is perfect. I shall advise it all the way.

Room Tip: a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location, amazing breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff and a nice pool with access to the Mediterranean. We where two adults and three children staying for ten days in Sept/Oct and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.