We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“winter experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel was really nice and room was clean (besides the carpet) and spacious. Stuff was really friendly and cleaning lady is always leaving a small chocolate on the table:) Restaurant at the hotel is closing at 4pm, which is a little bit too early, it is also quite difficult to find an open place in the city - Valletta, later than 7pm. Prices for the SPA are a little bit too high - 30 min back massage 55 euros and opening hours of the SPA are too short (until 6pm only). Swimming pool downstairs was small but nice, water in the jacuzzi was cold. Really surprising for me was the deposit of 50euros for each day of my stayed, I am not entirely sure if this kind of practice is legal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Martha

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with other Trip Advisor users. It is a great pleasure to note that our team members exceeded your expectations and made your stay a memorable one.

With regards your comment on the restaurant opening hours please note that in addition to the restaurant service we offer a 24 x 7 room service to all our guests. In addition the restaurant opens again for dinner from 1830 hours. As from June we offer 2 other dining options throughout the day.

The EUR50 pre-authorisation is requested so that the guest can purchase any in-house services without the need to carry cash or credit cards.

Whilst thanking you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    700
    271
    97
    41
See reviews for
348
1,031
114
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I can only endorse previous reviewer that the hotel is conveniently placed if using the excellent Arriva bus service from the airport etc. The staff and facilities and buffet breakfast were very good. Yes the carpet in our room was stained from use and will need a steam clean at some stage but the room was clean and on offer was an evening "bed down" service with chocolate at no additional cost! Yes there are 88 steps but one can stop and admire the view and what good exercise to start the day. At 12 euros for 7 day ticket the bus service is excellent value and gives access to all the island One pays separately for Gozo island but again still good value.Malta has our bendy buses which are a bit noisy so try for single carriage if they annoy!!We swam in the indoor heated pool but be careful as there are 3 pillars each with a base of steps that one has to watch out for otherwise could cause damage when swimming without goggles. Little info on what the protocol was in using the pool. We changed in room and used dressing gown provided and slippers and took the lift to 1st floor I think. Shower and rest rooms available
adjacent to pool area and gym section. We used coffee houses Nania in South st and Cordina in Republic street and another en route to upper barrack gardens. Lots of construction going on and well worth a return in 5 years time!! We found Malta airport very good and our holiday was so well timed given the snow in the UK!!Thank you Malta and thank you Excelsior Well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Buksang

Many thanks for your detailed review on the Grand Hotel Excelsior and also for the excellent tips to Trip Advisor users who might be thinking to visit Malta in the near future. It is certainly a rewarding experience when a guest endorses not only the hotel experience but also what the country has to offer.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future, possibly to experience Valletta as the European Capital of Culture for 2018. In the run up to this important event, the city of Valletta will be organising numerous cultural activities reflecting Malta's unique history and hospitality.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

wonderful hotel.lovely staff,but not for anyone who does not like walking,or can not climb stairs or hills.you have to go up 88 steps to get out of hotel,then walk up hill,but then you are right at bus terminal,and you can get a bus to anywhere,the beds in this hotel,are so comfortable you just want to stay in them all day

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I travel solo and I ask for a room change when I am given a room with 2 almost single beds. This I did here. The airport pick-up was excellent and very pleasant. Breakfast was wonderful with a beautiful view over one of the harbours.
I tried dinner once and the service was slack. Some 'attitude' amongst the staff. After some time, and when I prompted the receptionist in the restaurant, did she give me a survey to fill out. There was a sincere apology.
There is free WiFi in the public areas and pleasant smiling service in the bar. Location close to the Valletta bus station, however people with walking difficulty will find the many steps up to the roadside a bit much - get a taxi. Great spa and warm indoor pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear MB1506,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. Your feedback is important as it helps us to continuously improve our services and take immediate corrective action where necessary. I am aware that following your in-house feedback our F & B department took the necessary action so as to ensure that similar situations do not occur in the future.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the near future

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Thought this was a great hotel, right on the waters edge. rooms were spacious and well maintained. The staff were always friendly and willing to help. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice of cooked and continental dishes. The hotel was well equipped with a decent swimming pool, both indoor and out with Jacuzzi and spa facilities. The hotel was conveniently located as other reviewers have said, near to the bus station and the centre of town. We had a couple of meals near the poolside and it was more expensive than in some of the restaurants in town. I found that it was much better quality and well cooked so it was worth the extra price. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear tibis 123,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with TripAdvisor users. It is certainly a great satisfaction to note that your Summer break was a magnificent one. All of our team members have one goal in common - to ensure that we exceed our guest expectations and making sure that their experience is one to remember.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the near future.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a week at this hotel in December/January & I would question the 5 star rating.
When we arrived, I asked where we could get a sandwich for lunch as the website boasts -
'3 restaurants and 5 bars serve a wide selection of international cuisine, including seafood and vegetarian meals. Panoramic sea views can be admired from the poolside bar.'
I was told that they only had one restaurant open over the period of our stay and this only offered a full a la carte meal.
Our room was quiet, once we had repaired the ill-fitting patio doors. Unfortunately we had not packed a tool kit so were unable to do anything about the broken toilet seat or the 45degree sloping shelf in the shower.
We were also informed that we could not check in without a credit card guarantee of 50 euros per night (350 euros for our stay) even though our accommodation had been paid for through the holiday company.
The hotel is convenient for the bus station and the town of Valetta as long as you are able bodied and can negotiate the 88 steps up to street level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel inc New years eve and couldn't have asked for better, there were 4 couples in our party and they all feel the same, the welcome drink when checking in was a lovely touch and all the staff were courteous and friendly, our room was no 325 which was a part seaview overlooking the pool area and it was a pretty good view, our room was lovely and clean and very spacious with a very large bed, we were all on B&B basis and all thought the breakfast buffet was outstanding with plenty to choose from even for me as i am gluten intolerant, the bar area in the evenings was quite chilled apart from NY eve which of course is understandable we just enjoyed having our many lovely cocktails in the bar that evening then went outside by the pool at midnight to watch the fireworks that were brilliant, we didn't get to use the spa but we did use the indoor pool which is open 24hrs and like everywhere else is clean and tidy, we have all said that we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Crystal

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior with TripAdvisor users. It is certainly a great satisfaction to note that your New Year break was a magnificent one. All of our team members have one goal in common - to ensure that we exceed our guest expectations and making sure that their experience is one to remember.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in the near future.

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.