We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Written in stone !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Written in stone !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a nice break in Wintertime to spend along weekend in La Valetta and the Grand Hotel Excelsior
Very friendly reception and people. Well,trained .even at "rush hour" because of European Film Award Ceremony, .
Rooms fine. Little problem is the humanity because of the moister and the air condition.
the Stone/Rocks from the fortress are after rain wet and have a little smell.
Breakfast is included. Great variety and even handmade omelette .Again very friendly personnel. At the guest counter good and perfect service. Even flight seat reservation online done. The transportation counter was a little bit under to much pressure from guest asking for transportation. It is a shame to see how in-polite some guests are. But they managed all requests.

Room Tip: Prefer room up to 10 th floor, or at the 5 th floor. Look out to the harbor and Oceanside.Sun from m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIANBARTOLO, Head of Marketing at Excelsior Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Puffinman

Many thanks for dedicating some of your time to share your wonderful experience at the Grand Hotel Excelsior. Your stay coincided at a time when the hotel was at its full occupancy due to the European Film Awards being held in Valletta. It is a great pleasure to note that notwithstanding a full occupancy our team members were able to offer a personalised service during your well deserved break in Malta. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

May we take this opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.

Kind regards
Brian Bartolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    638
    248
    89
    40
See reviews for
313
960
104
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Excelsior Grand Hotel for a week in August 2012. The hotel is in a really good location for accessing everything in Valletta and isn't too far from the airport either. It's also facing the harbour which makes for a good view when by the pool and depending on which way your room is facing.

Because of the proximity to the hotel, taking a pre-booked shuttle bus is probably the most cost effective and convenient way of getting between the hotel and the airport. However, if you use the hotel's transport service (we didn't) it will cost a lot more.

Our room was a deluxe room which was a good size and well furnished with a good sized bathroom too. Unfortunately, it didn't come with a harbour view but that didn't bother us and we'd booked the room knowing that. Our only complaint with the room was that some of the pillows had a very slight damp smell to them, even after having them changed! We put it down to how they might have been dried.

Breakfast in the hotel was good and fairly typical of what you'd expect from from breakfast at a hotel of its class.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked an excursion to Gozo and Comino with the hotel and staff were happy to give us advice on where to go locally. We also had very good massages in the hotel spa and they were reasonably priced for what you'd expect to pay in a similar hotel.

The pool area is clean and as mentioned above, facing the harbour. The pool service was very good but the food and drinks available from the hotel bar could have been better.

If we returned to Valletta, we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Located just outside the city walls, only 5 min walk from the main gate and the Tritons fountain, you will love this hotel. Spacious and calm rooms with all necessary equipment. Indoor and outdoor pool. View on the Valletta Marina (if you are lucky!). Breakfast if great with first quality products and , again, view on the Marina. Staff is friendly, smiley, helpful. We had a problem with our reservation (two single beds instead of double bed) that was diligently fixed with great manners. We had a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant: food was excellent and staff was perfect. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Excelsior Grand is ideally situated for both exploring Valletta and for accessing public transport to the rest of the island of Malta. There is also a seasonal ferry for crossing the harbour a short walk away.

This was not our first stay at the Excelsior and it will not be our last!

We had a very well appointed room which included a king sized extremely comfortable bed, walk in shower as well as a separate bath, towels were changed twice a day,fantastic sea views and a large balcony which was lovely to sit on and watch the sunset. It is definitely worth ensuring a sea view.
The food was amazing. The evening buffets are excellent; quality, variety and presentation are all there. In fact one night I never got beyond the starters.
The staff are lovely and could not be more helpful.

To make your trip special I recommend that you go to the bar and ask for the Bar Manager . His name is Paul and he makes the best cocktails in the world. Just tell him your favourite tipple/s and he will make you a cocktail to die for, yummy.
For those of you with a hire car the hotel has a spacious car park , a real bonus in Valletta.

Thank you Mr Grixti and staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Warm and efficient service at check-in, breakfast and concierge but the rooms vary from dark and smelly (my first, standard, room) to light and comfortable (my second, deluxe, room). Lots of steps to navigate to the town of Valletta. An element of faded grandeur.

Room Tip: Aim for rooms on or above floor 6.Many rooms on floor 4 have no view and suffer from kitchen smells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have a full harbour view room for five nights, room and breakfast. The room was excellent and the balcony large enough for table and chairs plus a couple of recliners. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and the staff pleasant and helpful.

Now for the downside. There are 85 steps leading up from reception and a busy main road to cross before the brief climb into Valletta – fine if you are fit but no good for wonky knees. That’s not the hotel’s fault but some warning would have been helpful.

Our main complaint was that on arrival I had to “pre-authorise” 250 Euros on my credit card, a sum that will only be released several days after leaving the hotel. Leaving aside the fact that they tried to get me to pay again for the pre-paid accommodation (soon corrected), it is off-putting to be put in the category of people who might incur charges and then run off. The tariff in the room for things that we might, presumably, steal included E4 for an inner pillow case, E4 for a shoe horn and E8 for a bath mat. I was assured that it was nothing personal but then who wants to stay in a place that has guests stealing inner pillow cases! The result was that we ate out for most meals – there are some very good places in town – and the hotel lost more than a shoe horn.

I am still awaiting confirmation from the hotel that I haven’t stolen anything.

A pity really, because it is a very nice hotel but I would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed in The Excelsior for 3 nights in May 2012. Everything about this hotel screams luxury and sophistication. It's setting is wonderful with superb facilities including the beautiful pool area overlooking the waterway. Sitting by the pool watching the yachts drift home on a Sunday evening was glorious.
Very attentive staff in The Excelsior, opening doors, greeting you with a smile each time. Check in was effortless. Our room was beautifully appointed, very clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed and great bathroom. Downside perhaps was the shower being over the bath and as I stepped in to the bath a whacked my forehead on the towel rail fixed to the wall - could have been my eye but luckily not.
we had a beautiful mixed continental breakfast each morning witha wonderful selection of fresh fruit and traditional hot food.
We ate in the restaurant and had drinks in the bar each evening. Again the staff were attentive but not overly so.
The hotel itself is within easy walking distance of Valletta town centre - 10 minutes easily. A bit of a clinm up the hill but once you have that out of the way it's a gentle stroll to the shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Great Siege Road, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN1810, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior Malta is a deluxe, 5-star resort situated within the sixteenth century fortifications of Malta’s capital city, Valletta - a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Excelsior commands the island’s premier waterfront location offering breathtaking sea views of Marsamxett Harbour and Manoel Island. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, the hotel exceeds expectations on the basis of its 5-star service excellence. All deluxe rooms and suites enjoy a harmonious blend of classic and contemporary design mixed with modern 5-star convenience including multi-channel flat screen TV. Spread over ten levels, three of which are executive floors, most of the rooms and suites overlook stunning harbour views. The Excelsior’s facilities include a private 30-berth marina, large outdoor and indoor swimming pools, health & beauty centre and 3 food and beverage outlets. The Excelsior offers versatile conference & banqueting facilities, fourteen flexible venues, a number of which have natural daylight - an ideal environment for business meetings, conferences and other events. Near to the Excelsior is the Mediterranean Conference Centre. This historical building enhances the Excelsior’s conference potential with an auditorium capacity for up to one thousand four hundred delegates. The Grand Hotel Excelsior opened its doors to its first guests on the 10th September 2007. Right from the start it was very clear that the product and service offerings were to be of a superior nature. The hotel prides itself in attracting and retaining a faithful following of leisure and business guests as well as prominent international personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Valletta
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Excelsior Grand Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.