We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lounge

Lava Lounge
Waterfront, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 162 Restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We were a group of 18 holidaying in Malta and decided to go to the Valletta Waterfront for dinner. Seating 18 people without a booking is not easy but the Lava Lounge were happy to accommodate us. The orders were taken and we relaxed over drinks whilst waiting for our food. Everyone's food arrived at the same time and the staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The food was delicious and well presented and everyone was very impressed with both the food and the service we received, considering the number in the group and we had not even booked a table.
I would highly recommend this restaurant with a view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Last month on a Saturday evening my friends and myself visited Lava Lounge and their service was horrible. After waiting 1.5 hours for our food to arrive my sister in law ordered fushion rice and said rice was hard like a rock. Obviously since rice was too hard we called the restaurant manager. The manager persisted that rice is cooked well. After a spending at least 15 minutes arguing with the manager he offered us another plate of rice. Funnily enough the rice was yet again hard and was not eaten. The saying, CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT seems not to be in the managers dictionary. Since she didn't eat her food we expected that when we call out for our bill the rice will be deducted automatically but never the less they cared.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner with a special person”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The concept is interesting as you are actually cooking your own food. The setup is nice with very nice views of the harbour... but that's about it.

The service is too harsh. Requires some serious smoothening.

The food was nothing special.

I had really high expectations but unfortunately it was a let-down.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birzebbuga, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our friendly waitress recommended we share a paella and tapas. The chicken meatballs were to die for and the paella was amazing! The portions were huge and thus the waitress' advice was greatly appreciated. The bread provided was fresh and warm.The waitress was very friendly and helpful and she made our dining experience a very pleasant one. Attention to empty and dirty plates was spot on even though the restaurant was full of people. Outdoors, soft pleasant music accompanied our meal which made it thus a very nice experience. Good value for money. Definitely will return and recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants we've been to !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went today and found very helpful staff, the food was also great. Good value for money and highly revommend !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Swieqi, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lava Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.