We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big window with red around..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Strait Street

Strait Street
Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 59 things to do in Valletta
Attraction details
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Big window with red around..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Former red light district in Valetta. Found only one place on the street that reminded me of red light district in Amsterdam. A big window with red around probably was used for displaying the goods for sale.There is no red light activity today on the long strait narrow cozy street.
Best:big window with red around
Worst:no signs with information about the former red light district on strait street.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    25
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Seamen Memories!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

An old Royal Navy pal of mine insisted that I visited 'The Gut' if I went to Valletta. It had quite a raunchy history, as did most seaport towns and cities in years gone by. It's a long, very narrow street for the most part, and seeing government buildings, chic shops and a Marks & Spencer branch, it's hard to visualise what it was like 40 years ago. There seems to be very little left of its past history and reputation. I guess more than a few old sea dogs would like to revisit, to recall pleasant memories, as my mate did when I gave him a few pics of The Gut!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,058 reviews 1,058 reviews
633 attraction reviews
Reviews in 352 cities Reviews in 352 cities
1,100 helpful votes 1,100 helpful votes
“"The Gut"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

In the old days, when thousands of British airmen were based on the island and Royal Navy ships used regularly to call in, Strait Street, known as "The Gut", was Valletta's red-light district, where rouged and be-henna'd ladies of the night used to lounge in doorways enticing drunken sailors and airman. When I went though, one December morning last year, it seemed to have gone depressingly respectable. I wonder if it livens up at night.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“.... And get to meet the locals!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you are walking down the block that runs between Archbishop and St Christophers Street and a little woman aged about 70 appears from a doorway on the left, telling you she will show you a good time for 30 Euros,tell her you're having one already and RUN!!.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
1,329 reviews 1,329 reviews
1,120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
789 helpful votes 789 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This little street carries some history with it, and it provides a very nice walking experience in Valletta.
See if you can plan your trip to start your walk from the top of the hill, going downward, otherwise you're in for quite a steep climb.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strait Street also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Strait Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strait Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.