We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut above the Rest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Pig

Black Pig
95-96 Old Bakery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 169 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Malta Europe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Cut above the Rest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you take the time to leave the bustling centre of Valletta behind, you will encounter the Black Pig....a little restaurant where the menu is changed depending upon the season's produce and the chef's creativity simply leaves you wanting more. We have dined here a few times however this last visit was truly exceptional...The amuse bouche was an explosion of flavour, the complimentary leek and potato veloute was a heart warming culinary hug, the goats cheese starter was divine served with a pumpkin veloute...the mains of pork belly with local snails and loin of lamb were tender and juicy ... then a pre-dessert of cream and rice that was light and fluffy followed by miso and orange dessert. The cooking and imaginative use of uncharacteristic ingredients goes way beyond the norm and is definitely worth the premium one might pay. In previous posts hereunder there are references to 'the waiter'... I would also like to highlight the fact that Jesmond is not a waiter, but a gracious host who will welcome you each time with buckets of knowledge on both the ingredients and the wines and will go out of his way to ensure you and your guests have a special evening...highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real fine dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great food great service great restaurant! Worth every cent! I was just trying to find a place to swim when I have found this small little restaurant on the back streets of valetta! When I have looked at the menu I knew this place was something special! Real luxury, real fine dining! Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a gem of taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

International/European cuisine with a personal touch. This is our second time we dine at Black Pig and we are definitely coming back. It isn't for everyday dining though, since the price is higher than most other restaurants (at least in Valletta). But definitely worth every euro when you want to treat yourself or your close ones to something different.

The waiter is very helpful and knowledgeable about what is being served. Gives excellent help with wine-choice to amateurs like me.

If your palate wants something out of the ordinary - come here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Tucked away in the backstreets of Valletta this was not the cheapest meal I have had here but is certainly the best so far and one of the best I have had for some time.
Real fine dining with a superb menu.
Not the busiest when we went but worth booking ahead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taste buds awake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I learned about Black Pig restaurant when I was walking back for my car in the lower part of Valletta. I was intrigued by the humour on the menu board (black pig & mini-homo sapiens...) and keen to try out samples of dishes on the menu.

I ended up going there with a client and I must say it was the best decision I could make. I've never tasted anything that was so delicate and rich at the same time. The pork and snails combo was genius while the home made ice cream was a great ending to our lunch.

I know I'll definitely go back to Black Pig not only for my business meetings but also for a romantic dinner with my husband since it is the right place for a quiet and concentrated lunch or dinner time where you can know and appreciate what you're eating.

Great service with attention to detail, excellent food and a touch of humour have made Black Pig my favourite of them all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pig also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Black Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.