We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hastings Gardens

Hastings Gardens
Windmill St / Pope Pius V St, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2180 3091
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 37 Attractions in Valletta
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pleasantly laid out , great at sunrise , better at sunset.
Calm place to chill and sit in the shade.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hasting Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is one of my favourite places to sit & enjoy a quiet read. There are lots of seats all in the shade, & the gardens themselves have good views of Valletta & the harbour. This is a little off the beaten track, & therefore, you don't bump into hoards of tourists!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful gardens with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Close to the city gate and Rampila restaurant we found these tranquil gardens .

We enjoyed walking along the walls, admiring the views and the fortifications. The gardens were nearly deserted when we were there in the early evening (half sevenish): I think we saw about seven other people. There are plenty of benches and trees for shade, a good spot for packed lunch.

We met a lady who comes to the gardens most days with her dog and cat. Friendly lady and friendly animals and there's a parrot at home who is also friendly with the cat and dog!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Possibly biggest garder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Possibly the biggest garden after St Anton in Attard. Gardens are quite big for such a small area like Malta. THe view from up there of Pieta and Msida are simply magnificent and if you go at dawn it even more romantic

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Peaceful gardens plus photo opportunities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are few peaceful green places in Valletta. The Hasting Gardens are tucked away in the top right hand corner of Valletta. It has a good view over the bay to Silema and is worthy of a few photographs, as are the views from the Upper Barrakka gardens on the other side of the town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hastings Gardens also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Hastings Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hastings Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.