We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum, the perfect introduction to Maltese history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Archaeology

National Museum of Archaeology
Republic Street | Auberge de Provcence, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 04, Malta
+356 2122 1623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 59 things to do in Valletta
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Museum, the perfect introduction to Maltese history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited this museum first on arriving in Valletta. It's not a very large museum (parts of it were being renovated while we were there) but there was enough to cover early Maltese history thoroughly. It doesn't talk about much after the Romans and is currently quite small, but there is a lot of information very well laid out, with lots of interesting artefacts recovered from sites all over the island. I would reccommend getting the Malta Heritage Pass, which is 35 euros, is valid for two weeks and then gives you entry to a whole range of sites on both Malta and Gozo. Most museums and sites are 5-9 euros for adult tickets, so if you visit the 4/5 in Valletta covered by the scheme and a few outside it, you've got your money's worth. Whether you get the pass or not, this museum is definitely worth seeing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    151
    82
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australian in rural Victoria
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This museum has interesting displays of the early history of Malta and Gozo. The prehistoric section relating to the hypogeum and the temples was especially good. Go here to see the fat ladies found in the prehistoric temples, as well as some of the carvings from the archaeological digs. Also interesting was the Phoenician section which is only quite new. We really enjoyed the hour we spent here, as it helped explain the background to the early history of Malta.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“viewable history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

a bit of research before visiting pays dividends - my wife did it all(lol) - but there are special features in Malta - we enjoyed viewing 5,000 year old artefacts and then visited Gozo to see the site of the oldest remains - add it to your 'to-do' list

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This museum is highly recommended to people who are interested in the history of Malta Archaeology.

There is a large collection of archaeological artefacts which are fascinating both from Malta and Gozo.

On our visit a few items were in America, but each missing piece had a replacement photograph with all the necessary information.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Seen better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very small museum, not many exhibits. When we visited some were overseas on loan. Also no airconditio ing, so on a hot day not too comfortable. There were a few interesting pieces from the Neolithic temples, but I wouldn't really recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Archaeology also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to National Museum of Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Archaeology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.