We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Siege of Malta and the Knights of St. John

Great Siege of Malta and the Knights of St. John
Republic St, Cafe Premier Complex, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 10, Malta
+356 2124 7300
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$69*
and up
Ranked #22 of 36 Attractions in Valletta
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went to this thinking that it would be very good given that we as a family are interested in history and the knights. We were disappointed that exhibits were of poor quality and quite shabby. The commentary was also not in sync and display lights turned off and left us in the dark whilst we were still listening to commentary. Very disappointing given that there are so many other interesting historical places of interest in Malta. A let down. Would not recommend this. We ended up having a bit of a laugh about our visit as it was so bad.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Great Siege of Malta" closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

As I'm much interested in European history, "The Great Siege of Malta" exhibition was on my list. I came there several times just to find the doors closed. I tried to find out anything about this attraction from the locals, and on the third try (from some nice people from the National Library) I learned that it had been finally closed some months ago. They could have at least removed the sign so that not to mislead tourists!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“essential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I would completely recommend, even insist that all visitors go here to fully get the flavour of Maltas immense past. Yes it can be a bit 'flimsy' in some things but when visited with the War Museum and Malta experience the whole experience is deeply moving,
Try and organise a morning / evening of the mail history trips to get a full flavour of the history

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great way to learn some of Malta's history and very exciting for the children. It is located under the ground so it is also good for taking a break from the hot sun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“WWII Siege Bell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A tribute to the bravery of Malta during the Second World War. Atmospheric and interesting - worth a visit as part of a walk around the harbour paths surrounding the capital.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Siege of Malta and the Knights of St. John also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Great Siege of Malta and the Knights of St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Siege of Malta and the Knights of St. John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.