We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added British Hotel to your Saves list
British Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Great location if you're interested in all the historical and cultural sites to be found in Valletta. View from the restaurant across the Grand Harbor is spectacular as can be seen on the hotel website. Staff was very helpful and always eager to provide advice on what to see and do in Malta. Under-pressured shower and church bells were minor inconveniences, both offset by the great location, staff, and price. Would stay there again on any subsequent trip to Malta.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    108
    62
    40
    29
See reviews for
32
104
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Family owned hotel overlooking Grand Harbour. Great views day & night from Dining room, Bar & front bedrooms. We had a large well appointed bedroom at the front,with a huge balcony.The room was efficiently serviced every day & all staff were very friendly & helpful.
The restaurant served good Maltese food especially the Lampuki Fish & Rabbit dishes.
Breakfast consisted of Maltese Breads, with meat & cheese, jams etc. Tea, Coffee & fruit juice. A cooked breakfast was available on request if desired. I stayed at this Hotel in the late 60's early 70's & this is why we returned.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Despite the hotel being quite basic - very "old Malta" - the view was magnificent...straight out onto the Grand Harbour. Valletta itself is very quiet at night and strangely British - the telephone boxes and post boxes are British, they drive on the left, everyone speaks English, even the electrical plugs in the hotel were the three-point British, and there were even yellow and orange belisha beacons by the zebras. However, the city and the surroundings are exotic, so it has a wonderful mix of familiar and unfamiliar. There is so much to see on the island that whatever you want from a holiday, you can find it in Malta. Wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

My room was clean, always clean. The bed linen and the towels were constantly changed. The room was always impeccable - beds made, etc. The view form my window was marvellous: the three cities - Ricasoli Fort, Victoriosa, Senglea - just accross the harbour, with an arm of sea between Valletta and the three cities. Every city has its own architecture and particularities. I loved the valletta - an antic city/fort/castle surrounded by huge thick ramparts. The thee cities also had similar aspects from without but each of them was built in a different style. I think Senglea was built by Mao Tse Tung. The Maltese prsesident had went to shake his hand at a time when everyone was snobbing him. To thank the maltese, he had his workers built an entire cuity with their own knowhow and engeneering.
Medina . the Silent City - is my favorite spot. So calm and serene. Streetzs so narrow you can touch the oposite walls of the street with your hands, arms wide open. And then there are the other islands - Gozo and Comino which with malta form an archipelago. For more information, I recommend Thomas Cook's Travellers - Malta and Gozo.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

A real gem. Having read the unfavourable reviews on this website, I feel impelled to come to the defence of this excellent hotel. It isn't often that a hotel lives up to expectations or satisfies preconceptions completely. I got exactly what I expected - a large, clean, comfortable, airy room with a fantastic view of Grand Harbour. Although travelling alone, I had a double room at reduced (Christmas period) single room rates.

If you want luxury, a drinks cabinet, a television and all the other accroutrements of our corporate age, then don't come here. if, however, you want a place with humanity, friendliness, character and just the right atmosphere for its location, then come to the British Hotel.

Officially graded two-star, the British Hotel gets five stars in my book.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

When i visit the British Hotel in Valletta Malta i can only describe my experience as wonderful. The location of the Hotel is situated overlooking the Grand Harbour. I enjoy the view of the Grand Harbour when enjoying my meal in the Hotel Restaraunt. The staff are friendly and always wanting you to enjoy your stay at the British. The longer i stay at the hotel the more i love it and appreciate its atmosphere warmth and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, London UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Not the finest hotel we've stayed in - a clean but hardly opulent room, no toiletries, no fridge, AC is extra, breakfast is pretty rubbish and at 70 euros a double it ain't cheap. And Valletta is dead by night, except down at the Waterfront complex. But the view of the Grand Harbour from our balcony was fantastic, by day or night. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. If the owners spend a bit of money on this place they could no doubt push the prices up considerably. So get on with it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.