We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added British Hotel to your Saves list
British Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Rambouillet, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Plus : ideally located in the old city of Valetta, a stunning view on the three cities, some rooms can accommodate up to 4 people.
Minus : a renovation is overdue, the breakfast.
The Wi Fi is available in the hotel, but not in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the harbor (East).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    110
    63
    42
    29
See reviews for
32
106
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem in Valletta, with a fabulous view over the harbour. It is not posh, but simply a nice place to stay full of genuine Maltese charm, with a touch of British eccentricity and reflects the hospitality which was first recorded by St Luke two thousand years ago.
The staff were so helpful and genuinely wanted us to have a nice holiday.
The food is good, generous portions and home cooked.
The breakfast is a little ordinary, but the situation of the hotel makes up for any shortcomings in that department. The local Maltese wine is most acceptable and reasonably priced.
The beds are most comfy and spotlessly clean, book a room with a view and just relax into the charm of the place.
There are lots of steps, but I have a knee replacement and I managed very well. There was a lift as well, so don't let the steps put you off.
We will stay again as soon as we can, this is Malta at it's best. Nothing was to much trouble for us and George is an absolutely perfect perfect person to deal with.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent 6 days and found the hotel and Valletta (first visit) really great.
Views from the terrace and balconies over the harbour are unbeatable and the rooms, though basic, are fine.
Helpful and friendly owners/ staff and made a change to stay in a place with character.
There's more in Valletta than the guide books say..lots of eating places open in the evening for example. The bus station is nearby which takes you all over the island very cheaply. Swimming is possible next to the pool by the Sliema ferry stop.
Breakfast is basic, as you'd expect for the price. Only quibble was the evening restaurant. Fantastic to watch the day fade over the harbour but wouldn't really recommend the food. Worth a trial..maybe we were unlucky.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed staying with us

regards

David Montebello
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The British Hotel is the most charming family run hotel. Do not expect room service or haute cuisine, but we were taken by the pure casual charm of the delightful family run hotel.
Very greatful for a lovely balcony view, but if you don't get a bedroom view go early to breakfast to get a wonderful seat to look over the Grand Harbour.
This is a quirky old hotel,lots of character, can be confusing in directions. We stayed there for three days and loved it! No pool but we went onto Gozo for that!
We loved the British Hotel and hope to return again.
Thank you,
Dominic
Dominic Dobson -Nottingham and Highlands UK.

Room Tip: We were so lucky to get one of the four rooms over looking the Grand Harbour with the Bacony. Book w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The rooms are basic and the decor is wearing a little thin. The location is great with stunning views across the waterfront. No wifi in the rooms is disappointing these days and I don't believe is typical of Malta hotels. I found it clean and very friendly. The food in the restraunt is just ok. I think it is a little overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
thanks for your comments . I just want to make something clear as we do provide Wifi in the rooms at a small charge and its Ozone which is similar to BTwifi where one pays a small fee. WE do however offer free Wifi in public areas to our guests. We have a 3 course dinner for 15.00 euros inc a glass of wine which is about £12.50 sterliing so I do not think that is pricy but then again its one s opinion. I thank you for you comments regards David Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The best thing about the British Hotel in Valletta is its remarkable location overlooking the commercial harbor. It is also a short interesting walk from the city gates and new Parliament building. The hotel itself is a little thread warn, but for me that is part of its attractiveness. If you are looking for new and shiny with lots of glitz look somewhere else. Our large, actually generous room had a wonderful water view and a small enclosed deck. Our friends had a smaller rather awkward room which opened onto a semi private large roof deck. The bar /dining room and the upper lounge both had balconies with chairs and tables. WiFi was available and free in all public spaces. I believe the signal was available in bedrooms for a fee. The building circulation was odd and took some time to understand. Generally best to avoid the tiny elevator, learn the circulation paths and use the stairs. Staff was very helpful. A nice coat I forgot in a closet was forwarded to me without a problem. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Our rooms had wonderful harbor views and this is what made them so spectacular. I don't know if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I'm a frequent visitor to Malta and tried for ages to book into the British Hotel. I finally made it and it was certainly worth the wait.

OK, so it's not the poshest place in town, but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a clean, functional, very friendly family-run place in a great location - especially if you like steps ;-)

I only ever ate breakfast there and it may not be inspiring but it's wholesome and plentiful and there's any amount of cafes and pastizzerija a few minutes walk away if you really want something more authentic or filling.

I've rated it 5/5, not because it's the best place I've ever been but because I think it's the best in its class. It's more like staying with friends than staying in an hotel and it's high on my list of places to stay when I next visit.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.