We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View...view...view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added British Hotel to your Saves list
British Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Orange, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“View...view...view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great view of the harbor from our room, restaurant, and bar/sitting are! Very tranquil and beautiful! Hotel was furnished from the 50's thru 70's. but clean! Our room with a sharing huge balcony viewing the Valletta harbor was newer furnishing. Walking distance to old town shopping strip. But who cares if you want to stay in Valletta a street over side of the walled city and pay budget price!!! Staff are family oriented and very very friendly!!

Room Tip: Book rooms with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    108
    62
    40
    29
See reviews for
32
104
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself looking for an affordable hotel with quirkiness in old Valletta - then check in here! It's very 1960's. Has the most incredible views over the Grand Harbour for rooms that face that way.

We got room 115. It's a large room with twin beds (fiancé soon nailed those together though!) There were 2 sofa beds in there too (for anyone with 4 kids maybe?). There's also air con (€7 per day, but well worth it for the heatwave that we experienced). Also a ceiling fan and a standing fan also in the room. En suite shower and loo, no bath. Dressing table and hair dryer are also provided. TV attached to the wall t one end of the room. It's got a satellite box, so you can find something in most languages to watch.

You have an enclosed balcony with opening windows (so your 4 kids won't fall out perhaps?). A small table and a couple of chairs there too. We found it particularly excellent to dry off our diving kit before picking it away for the return journey.

Breakfast is in the 1st floor restaurant. There are fairly fixed opening times. So check these when booking. A small lift will get you and your luggage to most rooms. But it is a very old traditional Maltese house built on a steep hill. So the floors don't always match up. There are nearly always a few steps to get in or out of the place.

Top tip: not suited at all for wheelchairs. The lift is too narrow to get in or out of in a wheelchair.

I/we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked 4 nights and got a smashing "suite" consisting of two adjoining rooms sharing a bathroom. Both rooms had views onto the Grand Harbour from their balconies! Priceless, really. Delightful quirky clean hotel with excellent friendly staff with paneling and mozaic floor probably done c. 1960. I came to Malta for the history and by cracky, I want it in my hotel, too. I also think it's a good location, far better than the Phoenician (which is next to the bus station). Valletta is tremendous, and I will use this hotel again (me, wife and two teenage sons). Postscript on breakfast: The best way to describe the breakfast is that it resembles food and the coffee and tea resemble coffee and tea, but they do not taste of anything at all. This was the only thing I can think of that wasn't great, but I wouldn't mind paying another £5 a night for a couple of fried eggs and and some espressos. There are some great places up the road where you can get full English breakfast with tea and coffee for five Euros or less. But I'd still come back...

Room Tip: Get one with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a great place to see the Grand Harbour and all its activity. The view has got to be the best and because we had the room on floor 6, it all seemed to be ours! There are 2 roof terraces, 1 with sunbeds, tables and parasol (wind permitting), 1 with basic seats. Booked here on recommendation fropm daughter and this was great for our visit to Valetta.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a hotel which really offers stunning views of the sea. and its proximity to the upper Barraca park is great! Yet the room itself is not much to write home about. The staff was very helpful and changed room for us immediately when informed of leaking ceiling. But for the price, they really could benefit much for more updates.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Enjoyed the helpful staff, good views and location. Spartan room with clean sheets, cable TV, desk, clothes cabinet and hot water. If checking in late, watch your step and Room 117 is on the 3rd floor. Self-service breakfast with bread, cereal, and lunch meat.

Room Tip: Book directly with the local hotel. Don't use Booking.com since pricing is more expensive. Ever...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is basic as stated elsewhere but this compensated by the price, location and cleanliness. We paid slightly extra for a view and got a room with a balcony aswell looking over the Grand Harbour. Probably the best view I have had from a hotel. THe biggest negative was the bathroom which was small and had damp patches on the ceiling however it was clean. The hotel does need modernising. Overall an OK hotel which was comfortable and had great views and in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — British Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.